Summer in Greece - Another piece in puzzle 'Why I love Corfu so much' (continuing Story about one summer in Greece)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Which is the most beautiful city in the world by your opinion? To which city you can return always and always without being bored? Which one is 'The City', city above all others?

49.jpg

I know - now you think that I will say that this is some city in Greece, probably Kerkyra - capitol of Corfu... but you are wrong. Maybe my hometown - Belgrade, city which never sleeps and home of most beautiful girls in whole world... but no, not even close... Paris, London, Moscow, Barcelona, Lisbon... they are all stunningly beautiful, crazy, fun, amazing, but... non of them is at first place for me.

67.jpg

The City - place which I can visit over and over is - Venice.
First time i sow Venice, I was only 15 and on my first solo trip around Europe. I was stunned... completely. I was lost. I was in love for the rest of my life. And Venice never disappointed me. In my opinion, nothing else can compete with those beautiful canals, amazing monuments, stunning buildings and feeling of being different and special.

7.jpg

I know, now you think that I probably mistype title of this post, or simply drunk, but there is a huge connection between Venice and Corfu. They were built by same guys - Mletac Republic, or to be exact: Most Serene Republic of Venice.

62.jpg

I was aware of that strange deja vu even from a boat while I was approaching island for first time many years ago. I had that strange feeling of 'going home'. At first I connected that with my special bond with Corfu, about which you can read in one of mine previous posts. But it was architecture. Kerkyra (capitol of Corfu) shares same buildings, same narrow streets and passages with Venice. Only things that are missing are canals.

8.jpg

That's why this is so beautiful to me. Combination of Venetian architecture, Greek hospitality and Serbian heritage makes this place my 'second home'. I will always return to that city with smile on my face. I'll enjoy this city in hot summer or cold rainy winter. I will always walk streets of Corfu with full hart.

4.jpg

And that's all for this post. Enjoy pictures of Kerkyra and share with me some equally stunning locations from your voyages, and why they are in your heart forever.

17.jpg

Sort:  

I love you photos and learning about Corfu!

Great shots and story again. Not sure if I mentioned you should include steemitworld map in your posts, you'll get more visibility for travel posts that way!

Look here: https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

It's very easy to do!

That's very nice feature. I was aware that it exists, but I could not find instructions how to include my post in World Map. Thank you very much for info!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Breaking News of 3 October 2017!

Check The Daily spotlights of 3 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dejan.vuckovic to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Fantastic photography! I hope to see more from you.

Thank you so much! There will be more stories very very soon (actually I just published one)

Congratulations @dejan.vuckovic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful places, both... One day, I hope to visit them both! Thank you for sharing them...

Venice is still my favorite, but Corfu is most likely on second place :) Beautiful towns!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48