Vintage Family PhotossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago
Main2
So this is my second Vintage Family Photo post.
The background is:
I had been reorganizing the folders in my dropbox and stumbled upon a collection of vintage photographs of my moms. I few years back I had scanned a box of pictures that she had so that we would have a digital back up copy.
The feeling I got when I opened the folder was similar to the feeling you get when you open up the box in the corner of the basement. What treasures lie inside! We were lucky that my Grandmother (we called her Nana) was an avid amateur photographer. Growing up she was always taking pictures. We have boxes of photos from family gatherings, holidays, beach trips and every other moment that you can remember. The particular box of photos that I had scanned were mostly the old black and white ones. There are many pictures of my grandparents before my mom was born.

The image that I will be sharing today is one of my favourites. It is a picture of my grandfather Howard G. McQuiggan. The combination of his smile, his long black trench coat and the way he is sitting along the railing just strike a cord with me. I wish I knew the location of the image. I am assuming that it is somewhere in London Ontario but I could be wrong. This would be a great picture to try and recreate if I could find out the location.
I have quite a few great photos of my grandfather since my grandmother was the photographer.
I love the vintage feel of this photograph.
Howard_01

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of steemparents and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Nice this is actually one of the better post ive seen im resteeming it and upvoting.

Thanks
I love looking at the old photos. It is like looking into the past.

Darry @dadview

Very nice those vintages pictures are priceless!

Wow!These photos are great,very very special 😌

I think it would be really awesome to recreate this photo, maybe someone who sees this post will know where it was taken :)

What a smile. I bet he was a charmer!

ha ha, I didn't know him at that age but from the pictures my grandmother was also a looker so he must have been a charmer!

Darryl @dadview

I love thinking about what my grandparents' lives were like when they were young. I used to ask my nana about it. They're all gone now, but I wear my nana's engagement ring every day, and I love remembering them when I see it and think of their lives when he gave her this ring shortly before shipping off to Europe to be a medic in wwii. He was a charmer too. She was beautiful and 6 years his senior.

My grandfather was in the Canadian Military. he was adopted so he lied about his age to be drafted. I still have his uniform. It is so small. It is scary to think about how young he was when he served. I couldn't fit into it when I was 19.

Such a different world. I think my brother has my grandfathers. He was always a tiny man, though. Even fully grown he was maybe 5'5"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70