#1 Abu Dhabi - The Arrival

in #photography8 years ago

Abu Dhabi, the City of superlatives.

Abu Dhabi is known for luxury, glamor and wealth.
In this Series, I want to show you the true Abu Dhabi. – The Abu Dhabi that I know, life and love.

__________________________________________________________________________________
It was two years ago, in January 2014, when a small german family packed their 7 things and ventured the move to Abu Dhabi. 
This is the blurred 15-year-old Chris, sitting in a rental Van, squished by several cases. It was 2 am in the morning and we were on our way to catch our flight, departing from Hamburg.
__________________________________

Abu Dhabi is one of the 7 emirates, which form the United Arab Emirates (short UAE).
Source
Source
The other 6 emirates are called Ajman, Sharjah, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah and the most famous one - Dubai.

Here you can see the Burj Khalifa, located in Dubai. "Burj" is the Arabic word for Tower. The Burj Khalifa is, with 828 meters, the highest Tower in the World.
__________________________________
My enthusiasm awoke, right after we arrived at the AD- Airport. It was stunning to see so many people from all over the world, rushing around, dining in restaurants and shopping in duty-free shops. Till that Point I was a small country boy from north- Germany - I never heard so many different languages at the same time.
Fun Fact: UAE is home to more than 190 different Nationalities, which makes the UAE the most international Place on Earth. 

The Second thing I noticed, was the heat. We were lucky, that we moved to Abu Dhabi during winter, otherwise, we wouldn´t even have made it to the taxi. 
It can get really hot, here in Abu Dhabi - I mean like crazy hot.

My personal record is 51 °C  (123 °F). But, what makes you pass out, is not the Heat - it´s the Humidity.
During the Summertime, we have to deal with Humidity Levels up to 95 per cent - which looks like this:

I was never really scared of moving away from my old hometown, in Germany. Because of that, I was able to enjoy the City from the first moment on.
And Oh boy ... I enjoyed the hell out of this City - I had to discover Streets, Buildings, Sights and the hidden Gems of Abu Dhabi.
This is a Picture taken on the so-called Corniche, showing the Etihad Towers. 

The Corniche is a beach promenade and pretty much the place to be. 
You can go swimming on the beach, having some food, in one of the several Restaurants, or take a jog along the water.

__________________________________

Here are a few more Pictures, taken on the very first day´s, in Abu Dhabi:

__________________________________________________________________________________

To me, the move to Abu Dhabi has been the most valuable experience in my life and I´ll forever express my gratitude to my parents, for making this possible. Living in this Enviroment, changed my mindset and made me hungry for more. 
Source

It´s my goal, with this series, to show you the true face of the United Arab Emirates.

If you enjoyed my Post, please Follow me!

I write about:
- my life as an Expat #AbuDhabi
-my way of becoming an Entrepreneur
- Personal Development
- Psychology
- Health & Fitness

maʿa s-salamah
Chris.Roy
Sort:  

Hello chris.roy, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Nicely done - Keep on Steeming!

The Robin Hood Whale initiave has opened a new channel robinhood-links
ONLY post other people's work (Please check if the author has already been featured in the pinned spreedsheet) - These are posts to be considered by curators of the Robin Hood Whale initiative.

Very interesting, I am curious to learn more about this city. Nice pictures!

Hey Ines,
Thank you for your feedback! - Truly means a lot :).

I´ll post regularly new Pictures and Story´s, from one of the richest and fastest growing Citys on Earth.

Keep us posted....

I will - for sure!

schöner Post :)

Hammer! Freut mich das er dir gefällt :)

Tolle Bilder!

Danke für dein Feedback :)!

I used to live in Dubai for 2 years... still contradictory feelings about the country...

Oh yes, you´re totally right! It´s not all not just sunshine and roses,
but that is exactly what my series is all about.

I want to show you the true face of the United Arab Emirates.

Thank you for your Comment Tatianka :)

will follow you )

Amazing! Thank you Tatinka.
You know - I´m not that much of a "Follow for Follow"- Guy, but I´ve seen your Posts and I had to follow you back :D.

Looking forward to your next Posts,
Chris

Great post. Always been on my list of places to visit just haven't quite got there yet:).

You definitely should! - The History, Tradition, and Development of this country are amazing.

You know what, I would recommend visiting Abu Dhabi and Dubai, the next time you´ll fly to Thailand, Australia or New Zeland.
The Abu Dhabi and Dubai Airport became major hubs for Aviation and depending on the Airline, you´ll fly over one of those Airports.

Emirates airways are based in Dubai.
Etihad airways are based in Abu Dhabi.

The next time you fly across the Globe, just book a 3 to 4 day Stay - here in the UAE.
Advantages are:
You don´t have to suffer a 20+ hour flight and you can see the UAE.
3 to 4 day are enough to get a general Impression of the UAE. :)

If you really plan to stop by, just contact me via the Steemit.Chat (Chris.Roy), or write a comment under one of my posts and I´ll give you more insights about things to do.
Of course, I´ll cover a lot of great insights in my future posts. ;)

I wish you all the best,
Chris.Roy

Thanks, man appreciate the info. Yeah I am currently in America but will be visiting my family in New Zealand in the near future, their maybe a window of opportunity there:)

There you go!
You know where you can find me ;)

wow looks hot in Dubai! I loved it there, i went once when i was 19!! it was great :)

Hi Alla!
We share the love for food and now Dubai? - That can't be a coincidence ;)
Thank you for your kind Comment :) !

Thank you sis ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51