Just started shooting film!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I am new to photography and I just began shooting film. I have to say it has been such a thrill! There's something truly authentic about shooting film that I can't say I feel when shooting digitally. Here are some example pieces I shot of my little brother:

43770017.jpg

I had to make him laugh to get such a genuine expression. I made sure to make the aperture real wide to get the out of focus background and an overall more intimate feeling. This photo really warms my heart. I'm glad I have it now.

437700192.jpg

Here's a different angle. I like how half his face is shadowed, it's kinda painterly.

43770018(2).jpg

I made sure to capture his long fingers in this one. You can tell a lot about someone by just looking at their hands.

43770021.jpg

My favorite compositionally. I think this photo says a lot about him, from his almost sullen expression, the shadows of the branches covering him, and his relaxed pose. It'll be a good photo for him to look back on when he's older.

43770022.jpg

And finally this. I feel pretty okay about this. I tried to play with shadows here as well. My favorite thing is his flimsy hands.

Anyways, that's what I got. I shot all of these on Kodak Gold 200, a pretty contrasty film. I used a Pentax sp1000, a pretty cheap film camera. Shooting film is the most fun thing I've done in a long time. As I said before, I'm a new to photography so any critiques will be appreciated. What are your thoughts on shooting film?

Sort:  

Ahh, dude, these are great! Seeing this makes me want to get into shooting with film. Have fun in your adventures of shooting flimsy hands! 😂

Haha! thanks a lot.

Congratulations @cherrykid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21