British Columbia Day Four - Jumping In Freezing Water!

in #photography7 years ago

Day four. One of the best days of the entire trip. We drove for about an hour out of town and into the mountains. We passed countless lakes that were perfectly still. The sun was shining strong as we approached mid day but the temperature was still cold. It was just barely above freezing. We were traveling to another waterfall, Myra falls.

We climbed around the rocks for a few minutes when my friend Luke mentioned jumping in. Without hesitation we started stripping down to our underwear. I walked over to the water to feel it. Huge mistake. The water was ice cold and if it hadn't been moving because of the falls, I think it would have been frozen solid. Luke and I jumped in twice, the only ones to do so. We were with four other people who were from the island. It's kind of funny thinking about it now, the two guys from Alaska were the only ones to jump in the water.

There's just something about ice cold water that makes you feel alive. The second jump was far colder than the first. After the initial shock, my body turned bright red and I began losing feeling in my fingers and toes. I had to run in place for ten minutes to keep from freezing. I've included a video of myself jumping in. You can blame my friend for filming vertically ;) On the drive back with passed through what seemed like endless forest.

I plan on jumping in every body of water I come across during the road trip this summer. It'll be nice to come back and jump in again when the temperature is just a little bit warmer!

DSC_8133.jpg

DSC_8152.jpg

DSC_8109.jpg

DSC_8161.jpg

DSC_8218.jpg

DSC_8219.jpg


Here is the video! This is an experience I'll remember for the rest of my life. I contemplated not jumping in for a split second but I thought to myself "There's a possibility I'll never come back here. Might as well make the most of it.". If you have an opportunity, take it. This is something I've pushed myself to do more and more. Don't be so afraid of what might happen and just live in the moment. Photography has definitely pushed me into situations I wouldn't have encountered otherwise. I've become more open and willing to try new things



Thank you so much for reading! Tomorrow I'll be sharing day five (The final day) and one of the greatest experiences of my entire life, a helicopter ride high above the mountains and landing on one!

Day Three!
Day Two!
Day One!

--Chase

Sort:  

ok so i see snow there, so no jumping in :D this place looks beautiful!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 03:06:40
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 221.56/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

BC looks incredible! Can't wait to head there this summer!

You guys are insane haha! But such an awesome story to tell. I'd be right there with ya. Have you seen the photo (I think it circulated social media a lot last year) of the group that jumped off of the boat in the tracy arm fjord in Juneau? Such an awesome photo but holy freezing. I don't know how they did that.

Man, I can only imagine how cold that was. I'm used to 80 degree Georgia water, haha. Gotta get used to these chilly northern lakes

Sir, your 📮post is 👍good
Sir, please see my profile

Beautiful collection Chase!

thanks for sharing, looks like a lot of fun!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChaseBurnett from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Upvoted and resteemed! Nice to see some good content here on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58