Exploring British Columbia - Campbell River Day One

in #photography6 years ago

I haven't posted in a few days because I have been extremely busy with a very exciting trip. I was able to link up with a tourism company operating out of Campbell River on Vancouver Island in British Columbia. They flew me out from Alaska and I have an entire week planned for exploring the area. On Day one my friend Luke and I explored a massive waterfall and an incredible suspension bridge.

image-text


We drove across the Canadian border and made our way to the ferry. As we were pulling in to the island, a massive ray of light shot through the clouds and illuminated the cargo ships below. The wind was brutal but we couldn't miss this unbelievable moment. After the rays retreated and the wind subsided, the light rain that had occurred just before caused a rainbow to form. We ran to the opposite side of the boat to enjoy the beautiful conditions.

image-text

image-text

image-text


After departing the ferry we had a few hours before checking in to the hotel. We came across Elk Falls when we searched for places to see in Campbell River. Elk Falls is a massive waterfall that sits below a metal suspension bridge. The views from the bridge are spectacular. Mist from the pounding water rose from the river and caught the sun's rays.

image-text

image-text


We walked through towering trees as we made our way along the trail. The bridge is only about a 15 minute walk from the parking lot. Perfect for anyone looking for a short but amazing trip. A heavy fog rolled in to the trees and I pulled out my long lens. I was able to capture the layers in the trees and the beautiful mist that moved in.

image-text

image-text


This week we have so many amazing experiences planned. We will be fishing for salmon, hiking on mountains, and flying up in a helicopter. I can't wait to experience more of what the island has to offer. I’m incredibly fortunate to be given this opportunity and I’m looking forward to sharing a lesser known part of British Columbia. It’s not the towering mountains of Banff but this place has an incredible charm and amazing community. The people here value the environment so much and demonstrate that value through immense respect for nature. Everyone has been so welcoming and excited to share their home with us.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed and are looking forward to more from this trip, definitely let me know. So far Vancouver Island has been amazing and I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere new to visit.

--Chase :)

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 02:08:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 162.40/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

A great adventure, not my friend? All the pictures are great

So jealous. I love BC. I know where you are....haven't been, but know of it.
Beautiful shot with the sun pouring from the sky....I don't know that I have ever seen that large scale ray before.

Can't wait to see more photos and hear about your travels!

Great set of shots! The place looks wonderful. I can't wait to go visit BC myself. And I can't wait to see more pictures from your trip! Have fun :)

That bridge is scary though,and the trees are too high which is pretty scary. Reminds me of some horror games lost in mountains or what so ever. Anyway beautiful photography you got there.

Man, that’s so awesome! Stoked you’re having a good time in BC. I wish you could come a little further south into Washington though!

Dang...that's going to be an amazing trip. Thanks for sharing those pics. Stay safe! Looking forward to seeing more :)

Great post as always. I really like the bridge in the first picture ;)

Every picture tells a story. I enjoyed this immensely. It's great that people their value nature. This is in contrast to where I live. Development (more like destruction) cannot be helped. It's sad that there are advocates who fight for the environment but they are just a small voice that fall on deaf ears.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75