Photomag competition - Macro Monday: Bee on the onion flower

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I congratulate @photomag with the first day of its competition and want to share my first post for it.

During the time when the onion in our garden was actively flowering, it was visited by a lot of insects.

Thanks to this I made some interesting pictures. And today I share one of them.

In this picture, the insect is very similar to the ordinary honey bee. Although until the end, I'm certainly not sure, because the habitual bees that are bred in apiaries look a bit different.

This photo as well as many others in my blog is made using a macro filter.




Nikon D5000 + Sigma AF 17-50 + Closeup lens


I strongly recommend to open the photo in a separate tab to appreciate it.


Do you like this post? You can see more of my works in my blog @boddhisattva

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-27T09:15:06
Account Level: 6
Total XP: 5113.38/6400.00
Total Photos: 358
Total comments: 27
Total contest wins: 65
And have also received a 6.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Bees are just too cute. ❤ Splendid shot!
I've never seen a bee look more adorable...

Thanks! Yeah I too think they are are attractive until they try to sting you. 8)))

Perfect click..👌

logoAsset 5@2x copy.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail. To get involved in the future of @photomag please check the @photomag blog. Vote for @markangeltrueman witness here



Photomag is a new proposition by @markangeltrueman on the STEEM blockchain that aims to create a STEEM backed photo magazine website

Hi @boddhisattva! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your post is eligible for our upvote! Thanks for your contribution, keep up the good work, and feel free to join our Discord server!

A very nice close up on the bee. I love trying to catch bugs up close, not an easy task especially with the flying ones or fast scurrying ones.

The Sigma Lenses, do you like them? Do you think the quality is as good as the Nikon ones? I have a D7500 camera and am looking/thinking about other lenses, but they are pretty expensive.

Thank you! Sorry, I didn't see your comment before.

Yeah it's really hard to took them 8)

I'm a newbie in photo. So do not expect a professional opinion from me.

I'm happy with my Sigma lens. This lens gives good sharpness at all focal lengths. It has good aperture. In most cases, it quickly focuses.

However, over the year of its use, I can still name two shortcomings.

  • It can give a not very beautiful drawing in the blur zone. In other words, his bokeh is not very artistic.
  • It gives a nasty green highlight in the frame when taking pictures against the sun. Sometimes these glare is very difficult to eliminate during processing and it infuriates.

Sun glare in the sun also a problem for my Nikkor lens, not sure what to do about it, like you I am still pretty new to the picture taking. basically other than a smartphone camera, this is my first real camera in years and only got it in I think Feb. Thanks for the info, I still have not been able to get the bokeh very much at all, I need to use the macro lens a bit more I think instead of the 35 mm.

I think that glare will be in any lens. Although they can be removed in very expensive lenses.
The problem is that in my kit lens the glare did not spoil the picture much. And in sigma it's just an ugly green spot. Often it stands out strongly against the background of the picture.

At least you know under what circumstances it occurs. I have tried shading the lens, but with a low setting sun, it is aat that one point when it happens that you just have to wait a few minutes, or take and hope. (that's what I do anyway). Someone said a polarizing filter can help, but it affects the settings you use, and I am not that good on the remembering what manual settings to use yet. But I am getting better.

Perfect! Wonderful.Amazing. Awesome!

follow you and resteem. Upvote too.

Thank you very much! 8)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77