📷🛪One month in London: Part #4 - What is your style of street photography?. 🛪📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Anybody who has been to London knows how crowded the streets can get at times. Full of people of various cultures, nationalities, occupations and colors. It is a truly multicultural city which is a joy for any street photographer. You can take you camera and go for a walk and each time you will be guaranteed with candid shots of people that go around carrying millions of tasks with millions of ideas and millions of life stories to tell.

It was one of those days that i had nothing planed in particular and went out for a walk with my camera. I have to say that London Underground is so convenient to commute most of the time, and you can get to almost any part of the city in 30 minutes.
Day two_3.jpg

Architecture by itself is very impressive and if you are architecture photographer there is almost unlimited amount of historical buildings and details that can be photographed and stories to tell.
Day three_9.jpg

Day three_10.jpg

I am more of a portrait person, probably i have always been interested in other people stories. For this purpose i have to cameras. Nikon D3s coupled with Nikkor 70-200 VR II 2.8 for more isolated approach when hunting a portrait.
DSC_6856.jpg

DSC_6882.jpg

DSC_6847.jpg

DSC_6849.jpg

And a small Sony a6300 with 16-50 for a more connected, intimate look, where i use a technique i told you about in my earlier posts that gives a different and more personal feel to it.
Day three_83.jpg

Day three_105.jpg

Day three_226.jpg

Day three_235.jpg

Day three_213.jpg

I also like to snap an image or two when i find an interesting still life detail which London is abundant with.
Day three_153.jpg

Day three_133.jpg

Day three_136.jpg

If you are living in London or any other major city, you are blessed in terms of photography opportunities. Just go out, spend some time outside and you will have dozens of stories to tell when you get back. Don't be shy to talk to the people, big cities miss that warm feeling when a stranger approaches you and engages in an interesting conversation. Care about other people, ask questions and listen, you'd be surprised how eager people are to tell you their stories.

Like this guy, a photographer from Serbia, who came to London to start his photography career. He does not speak very good English but it does not stop him from pursuing his dream and is meeting different clients each day.
Day three_130.jpg

Day three_127.jpg

London is huge and colorful city indeed with millions of stories to hear each day. You just have to ask and listen. I had a great walk that day, with many images and stories to share, as well as a few new friends made.

Day three_26.jpg

group vover mobile and other.jpg

David @BeScouted

Sort:  

I love London, it is a fascinating city especially when you steer outward from the bourgeois populace and jump into the mix of things. The tube was one of the best places for me to people see, but, I have to agree with you. Just get out and walk around and the story comes to you.

You are totally a portrait guy, but, you do still life and architecture so wonderfully. You have such a unique approach that intertwines with your heritage, the open friendliness, if I may. I do not mind talking to strangers, odd as it may seem. It may come from living in a large family with no privacy, as it is nearly impossible to have a personal thought without the invasion of another in your head. :)

I love it for its extroverted personality. That is probably why London and I (and cities in particular) get along. Now, if I could only get the camera to cooperate! :)

As usual, you never disappoint in your photos, showing off your diversified talent with your street work and the ability to fold into that mix your adept writing skills. You are worth following around. ;)

Upped and Steemed

Thank you so for your kind words and flattery, i hope i won't get spoiled though i consider my current work mediocre and a bit shallow, that lacks strong backbone, compelling story, and even better execution, but i hope i will get there some day.

Considering open friendliness, i love people, even though i do not like them very much. That might sound contradicting but, in the essence i believe we should get along better, and on the other hand i can't stand dumb assholes i want to kick :) Why so many people have to bee so mean and think they are better than anyone else when they aren't. I do not know the answers, that is why i am talking to them and maybe some day, maybe (though i doubt) i will come out with a resolution to my eternal question :)

Meanwhile i am happy to share to an extent of my capabilities with the promise to improve even further.

You will never get spoiled enough to for it to make a difference. You are too hard on yourself for that to happen. No worries.I

Fabulous shots of London it's an amazing city to visit
I like the underground there as well I am suprised the family I know from there all think it is terrible

For street Photography that's an area I struggle with and talking to strangers something I totally am uncomfortable with and need to work on

I agree. That's why prefer landscapes.

That's mostly what I shoot also

It is an amazing city, and it is hard to talk to strangers at first. I think it is hard for everybody, but it is getting so much easier each next time that later on you start to like it :) I was terrified at first myself, but hey, aren;t we all people? Would you be angry if somebody approached you and asked if he could take a picture of yours because he found you interesting? :)

Hey David how's it going? Looks like you had fun out there on your photo walk. Your photos tells a lot of stories and are very gorgeous.

Thank you mate, i did indeed. What an awesome city it is. So many things to photograph and you have various photography and fashion events daily. very vibrant city.

Must be like a candy store for you out there especially with the events. Hey got my camera btw I wanted to get the a6300 but my budget got short got the lumix gx85 instead.

Yes it is, could not get enough of it :) I believe both cameras are good, since it is not the camera that makes a good picture but a photographer.

Great story! I'm definitely a more architectural/landscape type myself.. probably because I find street photography goes way outside my comfort zone. That doesn't mean to say I haven't done a bit of street photography, I've gotten some great shots, but I find it tough to approach strangers. Kudos to you for being able to do that :)

I just force myself to do thing that i am afraid, because i live that feeling when the fear is gone, and understanding that fear is just a state of mind and nothing more kicks in :) But there are so many things to shoot, that it is not necessary to take portraits. You are great architecture/landscape photographer and images that you produce take a lot of skill to an extent i would not be able to do.

thanks man :) That's true, there are indeed so many different genres, we really can take our pick :)

Fantatsic photography..!❤️🌸
always be happy

Thank you so much, Glad you like it.

Real life pictures, Very Nice and Very common, just hoe life is. I like those pics much. Good you are most of the time above the ground :-)

Thanks, what do you mean above the ground? :) I am on those streets :)

Better stay there as long as possible, much beter then the metro !

Awesome shots of street life, beautiful city!

Thank you, it is definitely a city to practice street photography!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human 😊!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I don’t write a lot of posts and do resteem a lot so maybe you missed my last announcement…

@originalworks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41