Lesson #2 - Avoiding star trails (Astrophotography) - The 500 Rule -

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

EntropicSteemit.png

The 500 Rule:

500 Divided By the Focal Length of Your Lens = The Longest Exposure Before star trails start to appear.

For example; let’s say you’re taking a shot with a 14mm lens on a full frame camera. 500 / 14 = 35 seconds "roughly".

Here are a couple of shots taken with a Rokinnon 14mm lens on a full frame camera. At 90 seconds you can see the star trails starting to appear, at 30 seconds the stars are sharp.

steemit30902.jpg

I personally would aim for about 20sec with either a higher ISO or larger aperture and leave further brightening of the stars to post processing.

Here's a graphic to help you!

chartsteemit.jpg

As you may have assumed from my previous statement it is important to always round down rather than up. So instead of 36 seconds i would aim for 30 or even lower at 25 seconds.

Threesisterssteemit.png

This is just a basic introduction to the 500 rule. You could use 400 to reduce your star trails even further but this depends on your cameras capabilities at high ISOs and whether or not you have a fast lens that has a decently large aperture.

For example if you have a lens like the Samyang/Rokinnon 14mm f2.8.
Shooting at f2.8 with a 14mm lens would allow you to use ISO 1600 with a 25sec exposure. This would leave you with sharp stars and minimal ISO noise on even your most recent entry level DSLRs.
I was able to shoot at ISO 1600 with my old Canon 450D and create images i was happy with when i was teaching myself Astro photography.
That all said finding a good post processing technique is important. Maybe that will be my next lesson?!?

Happy Fotoging!

Please Upvote, Follow and Resteem if you like my post.

Please feel free to ask questions, i am more than happy to answer them for you.

Sort:  

Just awesome stuff ben...thanks for sharing

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 2 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 10800 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. You can get a account over our invite link: https://ico.appics.com/login?referral=1fRdrJIW

@resteem.bot

This makes me want to get a decent camera and try this myself. Very well written and fantastic photos!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Thanks for the tips I will give the 500 rule a try.

No worries @cryptosats hope it serves you as well as it does myself.

Gorgeous shots and super educational. Can't believe this post is earning so little! #bescouted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55