The White Rhino - Natures Tank

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

_MG_1402.JPG

During my visit to the Kruger National Park in South Africa, I was lucky enough to cross paths with a member of the legendary big five. I managed to get these awesome shots of a family of White Rhino's but thankfully I was within the safety of my vehicle the time, not like it would have helped though because if they had decided to charge at me, I would of still been in load of trouble as these guys are like natures armored tanks.

South Africa is home to two species of rhinoceros, the black and the white rhinoceros. There is an estimated four thousand black rhino and twenty thousand white rhino's that are surviving in the wild today, however sadly these number are rapidly declining due the amount of poachers that are killing these beautiful animal for their horns.

The differences between the white and black rhinoceros and be seen by the illustration below

Rhino-Comparison.jpg

Image Source : thomsonsafaris.com

The white rhino has a much wider mouth and stands up to 1.8 meters in height, weighing in at over two tons, second only to the African elephant in size. Black rhino's on the other hand are smaller in size standing up to 1.6 meters in height and weighing up to 1400 kilograms.

_MG_1403.JPG

_MG_1405.JPG

_MG_1406.JPG



Sort:  

Rhinos are really interesting. I wish people would stop hunting endangered animals. Rhinos are living fossils. They look like they belong to an ancient land time forgot.

I totally agree with you. They are being hunted just for their horns, the poachers cut off the poor animals horns and leave their carcass lying in the bushes. They don't even care if it has a baby.

I never seen a real life rhino in my life :(
Good to know that you got a chance to visit South Africa.
Thank you for sharing :D

Thanks, I actually live in South Africa, you should visit some time, it is a beautiful country. I actually got a chance to touch an live adult Rhino before, his skin his tough and solid almost rubber like. According to the park ranger, a rhino cannot feel when you touch them because of their thick skin.

SO COOOLLL! YOU EVEN GET TO TOUCH THEM!! So envious (in a good way ) . Well I really hope I could visit South Africa one day :)

LOL, not these ones, these are wild. I would not chance it...The one I had the honor of petting was a orphan Rhino that was adopted by the park when it was a baby so it was used to interacting with humans.

Oh, still, great to know you get to be close with one! Great experience

Great post bro.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 5000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @beetroot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

this is really nice from you i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44