Words Behind Photographs #1 - The Absurd

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

This is my interpretation of this photograph. What's yours?

IMG_3420.jpg

There's a fascinating attraction to the existential abyss. Some philosophers have exploited these territories, some have avoided them. However, it is a dangerous ground especially if you're going through rough times. As I was studying Nietzsche and Camus during my Philosophy degree, I had experienced some pretty bad downfalls. The literature didn't exactly help as it was quite gloomy. But... here we go:

She's trying to see a light through this existential dullness. Life wasn't favorable; on the contrary, it has bestowed on her death and suffering. Could it be God? But how? Has religion done nothing but lied?

Might be.

However, I got myself ridden of this idea. As Nietzsche famously put it: God is dead!

Hell! I'm sure I did.

Now what? What will I build my life on? How will I bear the burdens that Life throws at me if I don't have a solid framework on which I'll function? Am I being continuously thrown around on the basis of existential inertia?

It is absurd! I am absurd... I am The Absurd Hero... ceaselessly smiling in the face of suffering. Sisyphus is a Saint and I, his follower. I'll climb that rock regardless of how many times it'll get thrown back down. It is how I choose, it is my design.


Reading Suggestions:
Albert Camus, The Absurd Hero: https://stanfordfreedomproject.com/multi-media-essays-on-freedom/the-absurd-hero/
Friedrich Nietzsche: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/nietzsche/

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Congratulations @avpfre! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

wow beautiful pic!
reminds me this kind of vibe:

800px-Paradise_Lost_1.jpg
Michael casts out rebel angels. Illustration by
Gustave Doré for John Milton's Paradise Lost.

TURNER:

images.jpg
descarga.jpg

descarga.jpgimages.jpg

I hope that this can help answer my thougs about the image by itself

@avpfre, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Looks like a lion on a wasteland. The last king standing! Great piece!!! @jakeknee

Congratulations @avpfre! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @avpfre. I see you have not been active lately here on Steem. I am just checking up on everyone who is followed by the Steem Terminal and just wanted to let you know that if you ever have any questions or need any help we at the Terminal are here for you!

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qDNWVTTkbDg7TBEtKFRGVqq9uy8RhBrPE45CnCVhb1DKv8GsLv1tMsWuCFZAr3S4zzCcps8hZZw2Z155KRq6yhEZY5CvhC.jpg

Congratulations @avpfre! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87