You See ~ I See. Colour Challenge. Thursday Green. Original Photography. Green Sphere on the Wing of a Dragonfly.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I fly.
Into the space.
Of the Bearer of Light.
Leaving a memory. Of a heart being.
Filled with love. For you and all beings.
~Ally.

DRAGONFLY.300.1024X720.jpg

We can lift ourselves out of ignorance.
We can find ourselves as creatures of excellence and intelligence and skill.

~Richard Bach. Jonathan Livingston Seagull.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


You See.

  • A small lime green sphere on the wing of a dragonfly.

I See.

  • Walking barefoot over the local golf course early in the morning. Before the first players arrive. A majestic 'manor estate' of hills and valleys, on an ancient sandstone escarpment. All to myself.

  • A huge 'lake' surrounded by indigenous reeds, bullrushes and grasses: Home to native ducks and frogs as well as a mating ground for many varieties of dragonflies. The 'lake' is actually a man-made dam that collects stormwater from the nearby creek, running through the course on its way to Sydney Middle Harbour.

  • A glint of gold: Flashing from the reeds on the edges of the lake, about 10 metres away.

  • Slowly walking along the pathway, beside the reeds, to where I'd seen that 'glint of gold.'

  • Standing motionless. Breathing in the beauty of the 'Golden Dragonfly.' One of the largest and most beautifully winged dragonflies I'd ever seen.

  • Initially I thought the lime green sphere was an imperfection in the image. Now it's more like a fascinating feature, which to date, no-one has been able to tell me what it is.

  • Maybe you know?


What you see vs What I see.

An image that can really make us stop in wonder, in curiosity, in surprise and in delight, is a photographer's dream com true.

An image that rekindles memories of our own experiences and implores us to understand ourselves and our world just a little more, is priceless.

'What you see vs What I see' is a new concept in sharing an image and was initiated by @marillaanne

Marilla posted her images: 'What you see vs What I see' with the tag #useeisee and now welcomes other Steemians to join her by:

  • Writing their own 'What you see vs What I see' post.
  • Using the tag #useeisee.
  • And then posting a comment on her latest #useeisee post with a link to your own post.

'You See ~ I See. Original Photography. Three Seagulls.' was my first 'What you see vs What I see' post and I found it to be such an 'expansive' way of describing a single image.

I invite you now to have a look at the other posts at #useeisee and if you resonate with the concept, maybe you'll consider sharing one of your own images there too.

Sort:  

:-) I love reading your #useeisee ! This is a breathtaking dragonfly too! I think maybe I should settle down and write a post about #useeisee. What do you think? Oh! that green orb reminds me of a bubble in a very old version of a level. For some reason all my dad's small levels had that exact color liquid in them.

Thanks so much Marilla. Isn't it wonderful just how colourful and diverse our thinking can be sometimes? A bubble in a level ~ Love it. May have triggered all sorts of feelings for you, associated with your father and how your life was at that time? 🎊✨🎊

A whole hearted resounding YES to writing many, many more #useeisee posts. It's a wonderful concept, and as it catches on with more and more 'creatives' here at Steemit, it will encourage others to look beyond their initial impression/s and responses to an image. 🎊✨🎊

Yes! It did immediately think of lots of projects my dad was always doing.

Thanks so much Daniel. I photographed this species of dragonfly for about 10 weeks, at dawn, usually 3 times a week, back in 2011 ~ With my first super inexpensive digital camera. No zoom and literally a breath away from the dragonflies. Was truly a magical time.

Any of your photographs would be perfect for @marillaanne's 'What you see vs What I see' ~ Would be wonderful if you feel like sharing one of your own #useeisee posts. 🙏💚🙏

What camera are you using now?

Yes, sharing a "What you see vs What I see" photo would be interesting :) I will do it by the end of the week.

Mainly a Sony Mark 2 Alpha 7. A friend GAVE me her Canon and I purchased a really good lense for it which I sometimes use for my assemblage work. But I like to travel light so bought the Sony ~ Bit of an 'investment' for me but I don't know what life would be like without it now.

Will really look forward to seeing your 'What you see vs What I see' photograph and story now Daniel. As long as you tag your post #useeisee, Marilla and I will see it. But you could also post the link to it in @marillaanne's most recent post there.

Let the magic begin. 🎊✨🎊

The Sony is a stellar camera for all types of photography and worth every penny :) How many lenses do you have? I was in love with my Fuji primes until recently when I rediscovered the convenience of Zoom-lenses.

I will make sure that the 'What you see vs What I see' post it's properly tagged :)

So far I've just been using the one 35 mm lens. It's been great for both landscape and capturing the (indoor) assemblages and flatlays. 🍂 🌸 🍂

I still have a 90 mm macro lens to experiment with. My main interest is in making a 'work' and then finding interesting juxtapositions within it. Will be interesting to do this with a macro lens. 🌿 🍒 🌿

I'll be watching for it Daniel 🙏 😊 🙏

today is friday and friday blue no thursday green.

🐌 ♥︎🐌 Oops ~ I'm a bit behind 🐌 ♥︎🐌

Lovely my friend!!! :) Thank you!

Pleasure and thank YOU @thereikiforest 💗

I have the feeling you will love 'What you see vs What I see' ~ A great way to explore how our unique experiences and perception, can colour our 'seeing.'

I hope you have a really lovely week-end. I'm going on a bush walk tomorrow ~ Really looking forward to it. 💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41