Sort:  

Beautiful, I would love to visit Japan one day, so appreciate being able to experience it via your blog post like this. Mt Fuji will be a high point in anyone's travel journal.

Mt. Fuji is a cool place to visit. It is one of the more famous mountains in the world.

Many thanks, it will be on the bucket list.

beautiful contribution and great pictures :)

What a beautiful spot! Gorgeous photos. I was amazed, in my short stay in Japan - nearly 20 years ago, now, that I could see fujisan (just) from my hotel room in Chiba. A country I'd love to have the opportunity to go back to and explore.

Yeah, I keep going back there. I usually go for my short trips because it's a 90 minute to 120-minute flight for me. I've never been to Chiba, but I've been close. Apparently, you can see Fuji from some parts of Tokyo on the clearest days.

In your shoes, I'd be doing that, too. I don't think that Chiba's anything to write home about: very large convention centre (where I spent most of my time) and a sports stadium as well as being quite a large (seemed to me) industrial area. As I remember that was where some of the major damage in the tsunami happened.

Oh wow, what a... a gem of a place * ___ * I love such places that are a bit hard to get to because I get the feeling as if they belong to only those that really make the effort to get to those places.... :)

Man, that is a LONG snake! Kinda cool, kinda freaky :)

I suppose you didn't actually see/meet a tanuki at Tanuki Lake XD

That forest with the rows and rows of straight trees ......is GORGEOUS <3 aaaah~

It's one of those places I feel almost anyone would be happy to spend a few hours relaxing at. I do like the hustle bustle of big crowded cities especially at night and the amazing looking temples, but I've seen so many now.

This place was such a contrast to the crowded tourist places. I imagine if I went on one of the longer trails I would see more animals. No tanuki this time, but I've seen them loads of times in Korea when cycling along the river in the mornings and evenings.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! It doesn't get any more summer than that with the bike leaning up against the real looking out over the beauty of the reservoir. In my book, it doesn't have to be famous to be beautiful or to be fun. In actuality I seek Out The Road Less Traveled or the place less visited. I think people miss out when they skip over these places.

Just as I scroll through the pictures I feel like a blanket of Tranquility has covered it and there is peace all around. I am with you on the camping being too open for my liking but many people don't mind. I like to be in the shadow of a few trees and have a little bit of woods around me. I'm not a huge fan of going into lakes that have big fish in them. Just thought of it and how it can touch my legs while I'm there freaks me out. And yeah I'll go into the ocean every single day. LOL

The picture with the path going down the middle of the trees is absolutely beautiful and the Sun on the bark of the trees is stunning. There is nothing quite like the right light. You have captured it so exquisitely. I do like the forest of trees all in a row, and obvious planned neighborhood. But again, it looks so very cool.

That would be an incredible feat to get the picture perfect diamond reflection! I will have to remember that winter is the best time to get it. And that would be a no thank you for finding a snake under my tent or around my feet or any place it doesn't belong. Oh wait. I'm the one who doesn't belong in his territory. I want to thank you for taking us cycling around the lake. It was beautiful oh, it was so very photogenic and it totally made my morning. So thank you for that and as always I wish you a most wonderful day.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Thanks so much for your insightful comment.
I agree swimming in lakes is scarier than the ocean. Although it is rather freaky jumping into the middle of the ocean which I've done while diving a few times.
Generally anywhere with a rainy season or hurricane season (Japan has both) is best avoided during that time. I got lucky and didn't get much rain this time, but you can't see the mountains in anycase. I've actually been to Jeju island which is in Korea several times and only seen that mountain once when I went in late spring. It's pretty random, but I think there are better seasons for viewing.
People tend to think of forests as natural, but the majority of them have been replanted. It means the forresters are good and planting large seedlings when you see them all in rows like this. It allows the most trees for the smallestspace I guess. It also looks very neat.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=abitcoinskeptic
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cycling-around-tanuki-lake


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I agree, I like the path less taken by others. Thank you so much for sharing! I also enjoyed the pic of the river path flowing thru.. Absolutely stunning! Its difficult to pick a favorite pic

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, Yeah that river path was neat, I couldn't resist the urge to put my hands in the and splash a little.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow, you got some great shots! That inlet river that first looks like a path or road is wicked cool (and I'm not just talking about the water temp), and those trees are amazing! That snake capture was the cherry on top - looks like an awesome place to visit, and I appreciate that you brought us along. Also...

camera street scenes in lens congrats.gif

Yeah, that river was really neat, I think it was at least 45-degree slope, so more like a log flume or something. It would be extremely dangerous to slide down because it ends in a grated culvert going under the road which would not be a happy ending.
I really enjoyed that ride, I was shocked how much I saw in 3.3km.

Yikes, yeah - that would definitely be an abrupt and not at all fun ending to going down it. And I really enjoyed your ride too - especially since I didn't have to pedal. 😊

Howdy sir abitcoinskeptic! What a wonderful lake and area, I love the fact that it isn't the most popular and packed with people too, really good photos sir and I can't think of a better place to ride a bike!

It was really nice. My favorite part was how everyone just minded their own business and happily moved off the bike path when they noticed us approaching. Everyone was so relaxed and happy.

Howdy today sir abitcoinskeptic! That brings up another question: are the people in Japan more polite and nicer, generally speaking, than in America? I know they are more respectful towards the older generations.

I find the people in Japan to be quite polite. In general, I've found they are the most polite people in the world even when you offend them or disrespect them. They are still polite when they are angry which may make it difficult for non-Japanese people to notice when crossing a line.
However, there are definitely rude people everywhere I've been Japan included.

Howdy sir abitcoinskeptic! Oh, I would be afraid of offending them...it sit easy to do? Do they have alot of social rules? Do you still have to take off your shoes when you go to a private owner's house?

They have many social rules. Foreigners aren't expected to follow most, however the shoe thing is important to follow. I've noticed this in all East Asian countries.

Posted using Partiko Android

How do you know the rules when you first get there, did you have friends that told you how to act?

Usually if you are invited to someone's house theybwill explain. People don't really have house partys in Asia. But yeah, when I first moved out here there were definitely some awkward moments and mistakes. Most people just laugh it off if it is not malicious.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38