The Lakes of Northern Minnesota | Kodak Ektar 100

in #photofeed6 years ago

000038510023_stocksy.jpg

As a child I spent countless evenings on the lakes of Northern Minnesota fishing with my dad and brothers, and witnessing beautiful northern sunsets like the one above. We'd stay out until the sun dipped below the horizon and bats would come out from the shore, darting this way and that between our fishing poles catching mosquitoes from the swarm we had attracted. I remember how the air felt damp and cool as we motored back to the landing, and the distinct hum of the outboard motor droned on as the boat skipped across the calm water.


I took this photo with my Pentax KX on Kodak Ektar 100, metered at box speed.

Intro Post | Last Post (Creating Social Media Content with Fellow Products) | Instagram
Sort:  

Nice one! I must admit that I've never used Ektar myself. I'm more of a Velvia kind of guy ;-)

and I've never shot Velvia.

Velvia is a bit of a like/don't like type of film. If you like deep greens and blues, very saturated colors, you'll love Velvia!

I do typically shoot pretty muted colors, so it'd be outside of my comfort zone. I do have a current roll of Ektar in my camera that I am underexposing two stops, and will push it in development. Just experimenting, but I've seen examples where it really adds contrast. Not sure what it will do to the colors yet though.

Right :-) I love the pushing and pulling things :-) One of my favorites in that regard is using an Ilford roll of ISO800, use it at ISO3200 (or even higher), and push it in development. The resulting contrast and grain are wonderful! But indeed, never tried it with Velvia, or any other color roll, so no idea what that brings...

Nothing is better than...velvia. You guys, I just grabbed my last roll out of the fridge. Proceeded to load my back, then promptly forgot I had already loaded it and opened the back :(
I blame my excitement and total lack of coffee.

It looks like youreally treasure your memories!
Nice post!

This post does bring back a lot of memories for me! Thank you.

It seems like photos, like the one you've taken, is a big part in our lives which captures the moments we call memories. I believe that us photographers are always chasing the perfect shot which resonates most deeply with who we are. Love the shot man!

I do like when a photo I've taken brings back good memories! If only I could attach the smell of the fresh air... ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:33:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 186.24/200.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.33 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23