An Introduction from Idaho! | Photography | and First 30 Days!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Allow me to introduce myself!

Now that I've got a bit of a feel for posting here on Steemit and have started to make a few connections, I decided it's time to tell you a little about me. My name is Justin, and I live in a rural Idaho community. I am an elementary education teacher, husband, father, and photographer.

IMG_9121.jpg

Statistics say that more than 80% of you live in urban areas, and might not get to experience the daily joys and trials of rural life. I count myself lucky enough to have some land in the country, where I am greeted by deer, elk, moose, bear, and just last week, a bald eagle just a few dozen yards off the back porch. I'm surrounded by trees, lakes, and dirt roads. I'm posting this with data from a grandfathered Verizon unlimited data plan, since the only available internet options are landline dial-up, or limited satellite. Regardless, if you'd give me the choice between a modern city, or a secluded town of a few hundred people set in a rugged landscape, I would take the small town almost every time.

fun.jpg

Some of my interests, and especially the ones you'll see me write about on this blog include the outdoors, photography (both film and digital), technology, the internet, and any new product or gear that blurs the lines between these categories. As I begin contributing to this platform, you can expect to see mostly photography. As I have time and inspiration however, I plan on sharing some of my sketches and drawings. Perhaps I can even start a weekly what's in my Field Notes feature. As you get to know me through my posts, please give suggestions on what you'd like to see, or not see.

IMG_1113.jpg

As a photographer I've worked on collaborations and projects for Google, Fossil, Barebones Living, Yuneec, Anker, and a handful of other small brands. I'm not as talented on the business end of photography as I'd like to be. However, it's something I'd like to get better at and would love to learn more about as I have the opportunity. My portfolio is hosted with Cargo Collective and can be found at this link. I also license photography commercially on Stocksy United. If you're not familiar with Stocksy, I'd highly recommend you check them out. I'm blown away by the talent every day, and still consider myself lucky to be a part of such a force in the commercial photography industry.

camping.jpg

I've updated my Instagram bio as a way to help verify that this truly is me, and to let my followers know my First 30 Days plan here on Steemit. To give this new platform an honest shot, and to keep me from losing interest or becoming distracted, I've committed to making 30 consecutive posts in my first 30 days here. This is post number 4, and I'll need you all to help keep me accountable. I've enjoyed making a few connections here already, and was totally shocked to see my first post get upvoted beyond my expectations.

Thank you, and I look forward to meeting you!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing these great pictures. I look forward to seeing your next 30 posts! Followed

Thanks so much! I see alot of promise here, and am truly looking forward to making new connections.

welcome! Glad to see a like minded person joining the platform. Live long and prosper!


Welcome to Steemit @justinmullet!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Welcome Justin. Your work is absolutely stunning. I just love that dial up is an internet option where you are. I have bought a block of land where I have the same options. It will be a lesson in patience. I am very much looking forward to future posts. Your insta is gorgeous too.

Thank you! I live close to the border of Washington, so just a mile down the road a fiber internet line stops, leaving me with very limited options. Thankfully I have Verizon unlimited data plan, which leaves me with fairly usable internet, although with some disadvantages and convenience since it's tied to my phone.

Welcome to Steemit! I'll be sure to check out your posts over the next 30 days. I'm personally a big fan of nature photography, and as someone who basically grew up in a forest in BC Canada, your trees and scenery remind me of home.

Oh thank you! I love having my photos remind you of home. British Columbia is a beautiful place!

Welcome man! I haven't made it to Idaho yet, so looking forward to seeing your pictures. I help run a page called @photofeed where we manually curate photos tagged with #photofeed and try to reward photographers for posting quality work, and you seem like you'd fit right in! :)

If you need any help or have any questions about this strange and wonderful place feel free to ask! :)

Awesome, thanks for the welcome! I discovered the #photofeed as I was browsing Steemit, waiting for about verification. Looking forward to adding to it!

Absolutely lovely shots on your profile @justinmullet and an impressive client list to boot. Can't wait to see more from you 👍

Thanks a bunch! It probably sounds more impressive than it was, but I am thankful for the ad agencies that I'm apart of, where I've been able to snag some paid work as I'm building my portfolio. I look forward to posting more, and appreciate the engagement.

Hey, don't play it down. You've got to be proud of the gigs you get. Your work looks fantastic so I'm sure it's deserved.

Thanks! :) Advice taken.

Nice to meet you, Justin! I will be following your blog with interest :)

By the way, it's better not to 100% power up your posts right now because you lose on rewards. As long as the price of Steem Dollar (SBD) is above $1, it's better to choose 50/50 before posting. :) You can check the current price of SBD here: http://steemdollar.com/

If want to accumulate more Steem Power (SP), it's better to choose 50/50 and then trade your SBD rewards for Steem on the internal market. Let me know if you'd like me to explain in more detail ;)

Interesting! I'm very glad you said something. My goal, especially during the first few months here is to do everything to accumulate Steem Power. I'm not sure I understand how taking 50/50 would give more. I'd love if you could give more details, or if you have a link to another great explanation.

Thanks so much! I'll give this a read.

I read through that, and found a few other articles linked to that one. Now I get it, and it makes sense! Thanks again. My new post is 50/50. 😊

Great! You are welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38