Morning Stillness in the Mountains

in #photofeed6 years ago

Mornings

Starting with the first day of summer last year, I challenged myself to wake up at 5:00 am every day. I teach school, so the day school got out for the year I committed to waking up an hour earlier than I was used to. I didn't have any outside motivation to do this and simply wanted to give myself a challenge and help me make the best use of the day. The easiest aspect of this choice was the beautiful sunrises I was waking up for. Additionally I was waking up for the coolest part of the day. Despite the hot dry afternoons, a light sweater felt good in the mornings.

IMG_9709.jpg

On one of these particular mornings, after a cup of coffee, I hopped in the truck, navigated a couple dirt roads and arrived at No Name Lake in an a little corner of rural Washington. When I arrived the fog was rushing up the hill through the trees. It was like there was a giant fan, clearing the lake, and making way for the hot midday sun. Sunbeams shone brilliantly through the forest, appearing and reappearing as the fog rushed up the mountainside.

IMG_9701.jpg

For now however, the air was cool, and the stillness at the lake was awe inspiring. A pair of ducks noticed me and moved slowly down the shoreline. The fog was moving quickly and reminded me of short time lapse sequences I've seen frequently from landscape photographers and filmmakers.

IMG_9703.jpg

In just minutes, with the fog quickly dissipating, the sun began to shine no longer filtered by the morning fog. Golden hour faded, and even though it was only 6:15 am you could tell it was going to be a hot day.

IMG_9721.jpg

IMG_9731.jpg

I hope you can feel the peace and stillness of this place. Experiencing it alone, and first hand is a truly rejuvenating experience.


Intro Post | Last Post (Morning Light | Point Reyes National Seashore) | Instagram
Thanks for all the comments and upvotes! I really do appreciate it. The first few months here, I am investing all rewards I earn back into Steem Power. As this account grows, I'm dedicated to rewarding quality content, and helping others discover content that will keep them coming back to this platform. I would love your continued support as I grow.
Sort:  

"When I arrived the fog was rushing up the hill through the trees. It was like there was a giant fan, clearing the lake, and making way for the hot midday sun. "

I saw that when I visited the Shenandoah mountains. It is almost like magic!

I would love to visit the Shenandoah Mountains!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 01:04:20
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 35.85/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great picture man.

Dang man digging those light rays peeping through

Thanks! I'll have a film shot of this as well that I had actually forgot I had taken. I'll have to dig that one up and share it in a future post.

Beautiful dude, loving the rays on light on the first image!

Thanks! It was so fun. I don't get to see these beams of light very often.

Congratulations! This post was picked by @raoul.poenar and will be resteemed on @photomatic and also will be featured in our daily post!

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.png

Beautiful shots! That place seems incredible. I've been trying to wake up more early this last weeks, 5.30am is just the right hour for me. Mornings have this amazing creative energy so I try to get the most of it. Go out and take photos seems like a really cool idea, I'm gonna try it out. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! Even though I don't enjoy waking up, I do love being awake for the morning!

I can definitely feel the peace and stillness! Great work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30