Exploring Lago La Paloma | Patagonia Chile

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

19747394975_862ddb290c_o.jpg

19813068036_702336f647_o.jpg

19752020271_6a383c0db9_o.jpg

19740196952_26fb765911_o.jpg

Good evening fellow Steemians!

Let me introduce you to the Aysen region of Patagonia. In my opinion this region is one of Patagonia's best kept secrets. If you google top Patagonian locations you will likely see Aysen's Marble Caves, and likely Cerro Castillo. However beyond these two hot spots many of the other breathtaking locations remain hidden. This post will give you just a glimpse of the relatively unheard of Lago La Paloma. Located approximately 40 kilometers south of Coyhaique, Chile, this lakes sits in the middle of a succession of three lakes connected by short drains. Steep mountain cliffs rise straight out of the water, and a brisk wind and choppy water conditions will frequently greet you at the shoreline. On this trip I distinctly remember the sense of peace and solitude that came from standing on the shore and witnessing this wild landscape.

The roads to the lake are equally as rugged and surrounded by breathtaking scenery. Along the way I stopped frequently to take photos of snow covered hill sides or fields full of sheep and cattle. At one point I pulled the truck over to watch as a giant Condor soared effortlessly with the wind currents. This trip to Lago La Paloma reminds me of my first visit to Chile, when I was in constant awe of the ruggedness and power of the landscape. It's almost like it is too much to take in, and you need time to acclimate, to understand that it's not going anywhere and you'll be able to experience it again.

Have you ever been to Patagonia, or do you live there? I'd love to hear your experiences!

These photos were originally shared on my Flickr

Intro Post | Last Post (Milky Way | Banff National Park | 13th day on Steemit!) | Instagram
Thanks for all the comments and upvotes! I really do appreciate it. The first few months here, I am investing all rewards I earn back into Steem Power. As this account grows, I'm dedicated to rewarding quality content, and helping others discover content that will keep them coming back to this platform. I would love your continued support as I grow.
Sort:  

Great post and awesome shot, I think "ruggedness" is the perfect word to describe this place :)

For sure! When I first visited I was coming from the mountains in Idaho. In comparison these peaks made Idaho seemed like lovely little hills. Such a neat place!

Wow, so beautiful man! I haven't been to patagonia yet, but I have traveled through the lower Andes in Peru a few years ago. I liked it so much that I have already made a plan to spend 4-5 months backpacking and hiking through Patagonia. My basic plan is to buy a plane ticket to Argentina, then bus as far south as I can, then start to make my way up until I get to Bolivia...

Did you do something similar to this? If so, it would be amazing to talk about it and get some ideas of where I should visit :)

Thanks man! I actually have family in southern Chile so when I visit I've got a place to stay in Coyhaique. There are quite a few people who do take a journey like you're describing, although I can't give you any real solid advice.

Thats lovely to know, and no worries, I very much think it will be one of those journeys where I dont have much planned in advance! I've found those are the best haha :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 07:10:23
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.40/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I was first introduced to Patagonia from snowboarding movies, the place is so insane

agreed! It is so rugged.

I was there a few years ago with some friends (including @juanersatzman), and that region is so amazing. We actually stayed with the father of a waiter that one of our friends met here at a restaurant, who hooked us up with a sweet little cabin right outside of Coyhaique, and that was one of my favorite memories. Did you cruise down the carretara Austral?

Thanks!! I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59988.10
ETH 2415.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45