Photo: When the Head is DivinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photofeed5 years ago

181028_When-the-Head-is-Divine_PostLUT.jpg

I Wonder What They Were Talking About:

It was probably something meaningless. Perhaps how they were looking forward to summer break. Maybe they were complaining about their town being overrun with tourists. How about who their latest crush was? It could have been complaining about school or how happy they were to finally be done. I start to think about all the dumb conversations I've had with friends, most of those topics were indeed meaningless.

Then I think if they only knew I was taking a photo. How would they have reacted? Should I feel guilty for snapping it? I was 20 feet above them and just happened to hear talking as I walked by. I could hear them chatting away and laughing with each other. I didn't know what they were saying as I don't speak the language (I was also too far away to really make any of it out). Would they have been embarrassed? Or maybe they would have yelled at me to stop as has happened to me in other cities. I never mean any harm, I just like taking pictures.

Honestly this is a rare case. I usually don't like humans in my photos. It may seem a bit odd to some but I am more interested in landscapes or architecture. I like observing spaces and buildings uninfected by people. Maybe that word is a bit harsh but it's often how I feel about it. The rarity of this photo though is that it's one of my favorites. I'm not sure if it's the perspective, the contrast of light and dark or simply the beauty in three young girls enjoying an afternoon alone and away from the rest of the world.

When I think about it more I realize it reminds me of my childhood. One of my favorite activities was riding my bike to the store with a friend. We would buy candy and then find a spot to sit and talk about meaningless things. Usually girls or the girls we had crushes on. But then it would be about music or different ways we could make money or how long we had to wait before fireworks were on sale to celebrate the 4th of July. Meaningless stuff. But to us, or to me, it was the world. It was one of my favorite things to do.

I'd like to think that if any one of these girls saw this photo they would love it. I know I'd be happy to come across a photo of me and my friends sitting around on grassy knolls or hanging out on rooftops. The memories it brings back for me are always positive ones. At the very least I wish they knew how proud I am of this photo. It's not because I think it's a masterpiece of beauty or that I took tons of time considering the picture I was taking. I literally held my hands out, pointed my camera down and snapped a few shots.

The sense of pride comes more from the idea that I captured a moment that will never come again and has long since passed, both for them and myself. Their moment together reminds me of my own moments, in my own past, and I hope they will one day be lucky enough to have something that reminds them of the time they sat around with friends talking about meaningless things for no reason at all.

Later on it was my brother who pointed out that you can see the shadow of my camera. I could have easily taken it out with Photoshop and that's usually something I would have tried to do. But after some consideration on it I decided not to. As I stated before, I'm proud of this picture. I want whoever sees it to know that it was taken with a camera for the reason of capturing a moment we all sometimes tend to forget.

181028_When-the-Head-is-Divine_PostLUT_Arrow.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting, resteeming and giving my account a follow. If you have any questions or comments please post them below, I'd love to respond to them.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You got a 7.77% upvote from @booster courtesy of @jocqua!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

Congratulations @jocqua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

good job

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85