Mt Ida Sunrise

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

MtIdaSunrise.jpg

The landscapes in Tasmania challenge people who have the standard international perception that all of Australia consists of hot dry flat land. This captures the first light of the day as it breaks through the clouds over a snow dusted Mt Ida and the Travellers Range. The prominent cliffs and columns of the central highlands are made of Jurassic dolerite. This shot was taken from the southern end of Lake St Clair which is Australia's deepest lake owing its depth of 160m (or 525 ft) to its glacial origin.

Unlike mainland Australia it is believed that Tasmania experienced four phases of major glaciation with a single ice cap covering about 4,000 sq km of the northwestern part of the central plateau along with other smaller isolated ice caps and valley glaciers. During these glacial periods sea levels were low enough to open the Bassian landbridge connecting Tasmania to Australia with grasslands and scrub heath found across the area where the Bass Strait now lies.

Mt Ida was featured in this old tourism poster used in the 1940's and 50's by the Tasmanian Government to promote tourism in England. The artwork on the poster was created by Harry Kelly who passed away in 1967. The Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park lies in the Central Highlands of Tasmania, Australia. Capture.PNG

If you would like to learn a little bit more about who I am, and my background in photography, you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

The photo in this post was taken by and remains the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Beautiful pic! Very much like a scene from Middle Earth and the Lord of the Rings. Your posture shot adds much to the flavor of this adventure. I was thinking this was 1950's style - it reminds me of the poster style of the rides at Disneyland which were issued in the 1950's upon opening, especially the Jungle Cruise & Matterhorn. Nice work!

Hello @interpidphotos!

To begin, the scenery showing Mt Ida as the subject is truly breathtaking. The vastness of this nature park is depicted through the gradiation of the mountain ranges from the near view until to the farthest of what our eyes can see. A picture that speaks for itself.

Finally, we are pleased to inform you that we featured you on the latest edition of Photocircle authors of the day that was posted through @funtraveller's feed. Please check it out to learn our curation initiative for the photography community.

We invite you to support the other featured authors as well.

Thank you!
@photocircle

Moderator: @funtraveller


PC comment footer 02.png

Learn about this new photo curation project by clicking >here<


Alternatively, you may also check the latest featured work of outstanding authors by clicking >here <

I'd really LOVE to get to Tassie...

Are you up in FNQ?

No I'm in Brisbane... : )
But we'd like to move down to Northern NSW.

wow really great shot ! This cloud reminds me of milkyway :P

That’s an interesting comparison! Thanks

Peace and look Love to Australia, Keep it up

All these mountains in Tasmania just look the same :) (I must have googled them too much!) I have put Tasmania on my bucket list when I was around 16 years old. Still haven't been even the slightest bit near it. I hope to see it one day!

Ha. Well I did force you do so all that research for the photogames. The dolerite is quite dinstinctive. You should get down there for sure !

I'll get my revenge as soon as I am one of the photostars :P
Re Tasmania: I'm planning on taking the train in Australia and might just hop over :) Just not looking forward to the eternal flight to get to Australia.

Amazing! Thanks for educating on Mt. Ida as well as sharing the beauty of your photography. Love it.

Wow mate! This stunning! I don't think I managed to see this peak when I was down there, all the more reason to go back

Do you get to Australia often ?

Beautiful! I did not know Tasmania was the Switzerland of the south 🙂

Well I think that’s more of a market slogan from the 1940’s than anything related to reality. It’s a beautiful place but it’s very different to Switzerland !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41