streams of significance

in #photofeed7 years ago



Have you also learned that secret from the river;
that there is no such thing as time?
That the river is everywhere at the same time,
at the source and at the mouth,
at the waterfall, at the ferry,
at the current,
in the ocean and in the mountains, everywhere
and that the present only exists for it,
not the shadow of the past nor the shadow of the future.
Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha


IMG_0030-2.jpgclick on image to view full screen


Man does not simply exist
but always decides what his existence will be,
what he will become the next moment.
By the same token,
every human being has the freedom to change at any instant.
Viktor E. Frankl, Man's Search for Meaning


IMG_0180.jpgclick on image to view full screen


It's not that your most important work is meaningless;
it's that your most trivial movements are also significant.
David Jeremiah, How to Find What Really Matters in Life




photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved



photo location - Shannon Creek, Stawamus Chief, Squamish, BC


Sort:  

Gorgeous photos, and great quotes to go with them!

Thank you @melinda010100.....is it okay if I call you Melinda? Instead of all those numbers? Pretty please????

Mel works, too!! (The numbers are the date of the new millennium)

Ok, thanks! You can call me Deborah if you like...or Deb.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Beautiful lyrics and song @creatr. I enjoyed it. The one thing about the scripture John 4:14

but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life

I've never quite understood it, one day I will I'm sure and as Chris Rice sings in his song Thirsty

Seems I've heard about a River from someone who's been
And they tell me once you reach it, oh, you'll never thirst again

But he's thirsty still. As am I.

Your photos, of course, made me think of the song. Glad you liked it!

"For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies."
- Romans 8:22-23

Our thirst for righteousness and deliverance has been quenched, but (so far) only in part. We're guaranteed that "it's a done deal," but that hasn't as yet relieved all the pain and suffering.

But that day is coming, as sure as day follows night. :D

I'm one of those who's straining to hear the Shout, the Voice, the Trumpet blast (three ways of describing the same thing).

I have my rapture shoes polished!! Top that :)

Oh and thanks for explaining....makes sense.

My rapture sandals are all ready... :D

Thank you again for inspiring words and photos. My favorite part of todays quote is "the river is everywhere at the same time." I know everyone's idea of old is relative, but lately I've been thinking a lot about where I want to be and where I am. I don't know why that part of the quote comforts me, but it does. And on a photo note, the clarity of the water with it's white with tint of teal just makes me feel good. Thank you.

Yes the "river is everywhere at the same time" as right here because it's always moving. Just by stepping into the water you physically alter its flow. Same with life. Where you go, what you do, or say affects everything and everyone. Everything has a purpose.

Heraclitus said

No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man.
There is nothing permanent except change.
Nothing endures but change.

Pausing and being introspective is important. I think that photography allows for that to naturally happen because you see things through a different lens sometimes.

Thank you for your input the photo and for sharing your thots. I greatly appreciate that. :)

My focal point tonight "Man does not simply exist but always decides what his existence will be"
A lesson to live responsibly.
Thanks for sharing @countrygirl

That's a beautiful one to think about. Your welcome :) Thanks for stopping by @updanny.

Beautiful stream photos. It looks like a lively brook! It would be amazing to be there today, instead of -20ºC! Do you have a lot of rock like that up there? i love those big, smooth river stones like that.

This is in BC....I'm in Ontario. The rock in the photo is granite and it is slippery.....my son actually fell into the creek...it's was cold at the time but we laughed and laughed.....ha....

In Ontario we have a lot of rock as well, but it's a different kind. Once I get my fancy lens I plan on taking a lot of photos from around here - I live in an area that has over 100 water falls....ya....crazy eh? So no excuse for some great photos.

Right now it's 10F outside and we are on the verge of another snow storm....hurray. We are expecting about 6" of snow. That's not too too bad.

Ha! Well, it's about the same here. We got a dusting of about 2" over the last day and it's "flurrying" now.

Where I live, there is a lot of sandstone and sedimentary rock. There's also limestone and granite, but not as much as other areas. It's what creates the waterfalls here: the soft stone washes away over time, but the slabs of granite stay put.

Glad your son was okay! Hehe :-)

When I was at the Pinar del Rey (a park in Spain) with some friends, I saw this guy trying to cross a stream on a log. He slipped and totally fell in! I only regret not being ready with the camera! lol

No kidding!!lol....would have gone viral on youtube!!!!! I did capture my son falling but I promised I wouldn't post the photos.

those photos are stunning - the quotes help bring out the significance of rivers and streams and the role they have played in our lives. The ancients believed there were river gods, local deities that inhabited streams - Stay around one long enough and you begin to feel what they felt - they are so dynamic and fascinating. Good work

Thank you. I just remember someone telling me that you can never step into the same river twice. It made sense to me then and more so when I look at this flowing creek. We need to always be moving forward....nothing good happens in a stagnant pool of water or life.

This post has received a 2.25 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

great shots and successful exposures.
I also loved the quote from Siddhartha!
because I love that book!
thank you.

You read Siddhartha. It's funny when I post quotes, I always wonder if people know the authors. Glad you love it too.

no, I already read! and I know you know a great book. I like the hermann hesse nogue book. ' der steppenwolf favored!

The stream whispered softly. She wished someone or something would hear. Unfortunately her only companion was a small deer, that lifted and tilted its head at her whisper. And then she heard the laughter, and small group stopped by her banks. She bubbled. They laughed. She was lonely no more, if only for a moment.


Post Stories by @jfolkmann

That's a beautiful piece of prose mr jfolkmann. :) Thanks for sharing.

Excellent composition of the pebbles and the waterfall. Beautiful picture and composition, congrats.

Thank you so much @mnallica.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46