I'm in a Florida state of mind 🎶

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

the ocean stirs the heart,
inspires the imagination and brings eternal joy to the soul
Robert Wyland


It's been too long a time since I've visited my favorite beaches on the Gulf of Mexico side of Florida. This is my area.

The sun, sand and Gulf breezes always help me change my perspective and improve my outlook on life. Vitamin D and Vitamin Sea are free. It would be wonderful if my family doctor could write a prescription for this tonic.

Siesta KeyDSCN1171.jpg

I think of sand dunes and salty air. 🎶 I hear the sand pipers and sea gulls calling out to one another as the warm clear water washes over my feet.

Holmes Beach
DSCF9699.jpg

when anxious, uneasy and bad thoughts come,
I go to the sea,
and the sea drowns them out with its great wide sounds,
cleanses me with its noise,
and imposes a rhythm upon everything in me
that is bewildered and confused
Rainer Maria Rilke

Siesta KeyDSCN1174.jpg

Golden sunsets and the lull of the tide are the call for another end to the day.

Holmes BeachDSCN0847.jpg

for whatever we lose (like a you or a me),
it’s always our self we find in the sea
E. E. Cummings

Lido BeachDSCN1172.jpg

I am currently pretending I am there and singing Billy Joel's song — Florida New York State of Mind. I think it's time for another visit .




photos by
signature.png
Nikon Coolpix
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved



photos taken at Siesta Key, Holmes Beach and Lido Beach, Florida


Sort:  

Beach. YES!

😄😇😄

@creatr

I knew you'd visit.....if I built it, they'll come....that's the way of the waves....nothing beats that sound of waves crashing the shoreline....it silences all the other noise. There is only one sound that would be better - a trumpet.

Yes! I keep on straining my ears for that sound! ;)

Love the Rilke quote because it describes what the sea does for me - that sunset photo makes me want to have a wine glass in hand and stand there in the sand until the sun goes down. Beautiful

You're making me homesick! I grew up in Daytona Beach.

haha....I aim to please :)

I love the beach. That is why I moved 3000km south so I could be on the beach every day and not shovelling the white stuff! I used to get cabin fever so bad because I was shut in with bad weather too long...

How long did it take you to acclimatize and get used to living in a foreign country?

Thank you. I see you are new and I am sure eager to succeed.
Connect with your peers. Vote on posts, comment on posts. More importantly... Read the posts! Make your comments count.
Don't blurb the likes of

  • Nice post
  • Following you now brah
  • Etc, etc!
    And remember, nothing happens overnight in life.

Don’t ask for upvotes. It’s against Steemit etiquette.

Asking for someone to see your post and upvote you is pretty bad when you haven't even upvoted this post!

Before you make another comment, please read some of the many excellent steemit guides.

Here are some examples which are particularly relevant to you
https://steemit.com/steemit-abuse/@spaminator/updated-your-reputation-could-be-a-tasty-snack-with-the-wrong-comment
https://steemit.com/steemit/@miti/a-complete-guide-for-newcomers-and-minnows-to-avoid-a-possible-spam-and-to-write-good-comments

If you liked a blog but have nothing interesting to add, then an upvote is generally sufficient.

Thank you very much!

Can you help me to understand more

I've never been much of a beach person, but you sure make it look good! Granted pretty much any warm photo with sunshine and blue skies looks nice at the moment! The sunset is particularly nice, with the color variation and the reeds in the foreground.

The kite surfer reminds me of Tarifa, Spain, wher the Strait of Gibraltar is at its skinniest. The strange currents and insane winds make it a kite-surfer hot spot.

Nice photos :-)

I really miss this place.....it would be so nice to visit again soon. But....$$$ You know how it is.

I love watching the kite surfers. It's pretty relaxing plus a good photo op :)

You got a 1.84% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

envious...but today there was the sun in Vancouver

Oh I'm glad to hear that!! It's been so rainy there.

Lovely pictures, but that sunset... wow!

Oh ya.....Holmes Beach. The best sunsets and different every night. I could have posted a dozen of amazing ones but I think I like this one the best. I remember it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63