Photochain Photography Contest - LONG EXPOSURE - These are different long exposure photos taken in East Timor! (5 photos)

Hi, there, my dear Steemians,

This is my entry #6 and last to this week edition of Photochain LONG EXPOSURE contest, by @runicar.

Photos: These are different long exposure photos taken in East Timor! (5 photos)

untitled-2.jpg

untitled-11.jpg

untitled.jpg

untitled-4.jpg

untitled-3.jpg

Hope you enjoy the photos! Let me know in the comments which one you like best!

Have a wonderful week ahead, steem on!

Thanks to all!

Isabel

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

watermarklogo-dark-big (1).png

photofriend banner.jpg

DQmSQnxEBigCNXYe3hUB5ujRMmAvq1r851wGFc5LwZTkfRv_1680x8400.png

DQmNNuJLfzwrXp6qizHMWCBwtJLcmuGedgohViE11vi2u12_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

Conguratulations! Good work...

Thanks so much, @chorock!

Excellent shots, Isabel, specially the first one. What a cool effect! :-D

Thanks so much, my friend! I hope everything is fine with you by now!

It seems that the sharks are sleeping now. 😀

Google it, I don't know if they sleep at all.

Maybe that's the problem. Without sleep, the brain goes insane.

Let them be... stay away. They attack only when they are disturbed. Relax and keep doing your great work!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-23T04:49:12
Account Level: 7
Total XP: 7749.57/12800.00
Total Photos: 395
Total comments: 376
Total contest wins: 116
And have also received a 6.72 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you @nolasco for joining Photochain's photography contest. We appreciate your support and will reward you for each entry.

This contribution earned you 10 XP and 20 photons.
Don't forget to comment on other #photochaincommunity contributions to increase your XP multiplier and earn even more!

Daily statsOverall stats
Daily contributions: 1/∞Current level: 2
Daily XP: 10/∞Total XP: 170
Daily Photons: 20Total Photons: 240
Multiplier: 1XP required to level up: 230
Comments: 0/5Total contributions: 17

To receive the reward contact @runicar on Discord with your Ethereum wallet.
More info can be found at the contest announcement post.
Read more about Photochain on this post.
Visit photochain.io.
Try out the demo.

Thanks so much, it's my pleasure!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my dear Pix!

My favourites are the bottom one and the one with the stars @nolasco.

But something I don't quite understand . . . I can tell the photograph at the top is long exposure since it captures the movement of the light.

But I don't get what long exposure does to a landscape photograph. I only use my phone so long exposure isn't possible and I'm curious about this.

Does it deepen the colour or what? 😁

If you remember next time you take one could you take one for me that's just a single

My dear Gillian, thanks for always replying to my question about which ones you like more!
About the long exposure, basically means you can take photos without light with a low ISO. ISO is one of the 3 main parameters you have to deal with to take a shot. The other 2 are shutter speed and aperture. They depend of and interact with each other. And through their combination you can take the photos you want to, with the effects you wish to.
So, without light, like in night photography or in the dark, if you want to take a photo and have a tripod, you can lower the ISO and get a photo with no noise (grain). If you don't have a tripod, you need to higher the ISO to take a photo, and then you get one, but with noise (after you can edit them and reduce it, but the result is never the same - unless you want THAT result!).
With a long exposure photo, meaning the shutter speed as low as you need (most of DSLR cameras have 30 sec. by default, but you can choose BULB setting and then choose the time you want the exposure to be), depending on the aperture (for landscapes a smaller one is desirable, so you can have all the image "focused"), you got this:

  • every still subject, as a rock, or a house, or a tree (if there is no wind), meaning things that don't move, will keep still and "focused";
  • every moving subject, as people, or car lights, or sea waves, will have the "trail" or the "silky" effect, depending of how long the (time) exposure is.
    There are filters that allow you to take long exposure photos during the day also, that's why you can see those beautiful silky waterfalls long exposure photos on the daylight.
    And long exposure allows you to play with endless situations: for instance, in a crowded place at night, like a famous square, if you are lucky with the people moving, the result will be the space to be empty of people.
    And get light trails of light moving, like my first photo, or the star trails.
    If you have a phone with "live" setting for photos (I do have one, the Iphone X), you can simulate a long exposure with a life photo (by pushing the photo up and choosing the setting long exposure).
    I hope I have been clear, I tried to keep the explanation simple, but if you have any more questions just "shoot" them back!

Thanks for the great information @nolasco.

My phone is pretty basic and I don't have a "live" setting on it. I do have some other ones I've not tried though. So I'll try and remember to have a play around with them next time I'm out and about. 😁

You do well. And then I want to see them all ;)!

The biggest challenge is remembering the settings are there @nolasco. 😂

Ahaha, that's true! It's a challenge even to everyone!

If you remember next time you take one could you take one for me that's just a single

I don't know what you mean by "that's just a single" but will take one for you!

Sorry. That wasn't very well put and I meant to say "single click". 😂

What I meant was . . . next time you take a long exposure photograph of something without much movement in it like the second picture above, for example, could you take a photograph without long exposure. So, If I understand correctly from what you say above, instead of using a shutter speed of 30 seconds take one with whatever that standard speed would be.

I'm interested to see the difference. That's all.

hope that makes better sense now. 😍

Ahah maybe the difference is a photo vs a black rectangle ;). But now it made all the sense. Great challenge, I will do it! And then show you both, sure! It's a promise. I just don't know when. But I won't forget, my dear Gillian!

maybe the difference is a photo vs a black rectangle

Ah I was wondering that @nolasco. That makes a lot of sense then as to why you would take the long exposure landscape shots. 😁

I just don't know when.

No hurry. I think I get it now anyway after your excellent explanation.

Thanks so much, Gillian. But I still will do it, I'm curious too! Cheers!

Fantastic!👏👏👏

Thanks so much, Manuel :)))))!

Your post is great and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit!

To further support your work I featured a photo from this post in Photofriend's Favorites #23 (Red or Yellow?)

@photofriend - A a community of photographers supporting original photography on Steeemit and fight against plagiarism. To improve the overall Steemit experience and help fellow photographers is our shared mission.

I've been there! thanks so much for the recognition, @photofriend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44