Welcome to my home town!!

in #photo7 years ago

Living in South-Africa is quite an interesting thing. We have one of the best comedy channels in the world, called Parliamentary TV. Yes, our politics is a joke! But today, I would like to speak about my hometown.

Witbank sky.PNG

eMalahleni - City of Coal

I won't blame you if you cannot pronounce that name. I am still trying to get used to it as our town used to be called Witbank. eMalahleni is one of the most rapidly growing cities in South-Africa because of our location along a very important intersection of highways, but our Town is corrupt to the core and falling apart. Finding a road without a pothole is difficult and we often have water and electricity outages.

Page seperator2.PNG

Take your pick.

There is a joke going around town. If we do have power, we won't have water. If we have water, we won't have power...

Sadly this is not a joke anymore.

Attempted theft at Driehoek Substation at 05h00 this morning:

Today we have electricity, but the water is off. There was almost a major catastrophe at hand as an attempted robbery at the sub-station would have left the town powerless for 48 hours...

Here are a few photos:

rob 2.jpg

This was the entry point.

Page seperator2.PNG

rob 1.jpgrob 3.jpg

Some of the attempt at cable theft.

Page seperator2.PNG

rob 4.jpg

Illegal power connections.

Page seperator2.PNG

Here is to hoping I can still post tomorrow and enjoy my time on Steemit.

Please follow me @dracosalieri and start a conversation with me. I am always ready for interaction.

Signature.png

Sort:  

Hi dude happy friday and thanks for your sharing! Sure you can post more:) great to get to know your hometown, as I havent been there yet, looking forward to more of your sharing ! :)

meep

Well, a meepity meep to you too. I wonder what noise you would make while being electrocuted. Ever try steal cables before?

meep

In my final year at school, I had to write an essay entitled "My land, hard land, beautiful land". (Well, that is freely translated from Afrikaans - a more accurate translation would probably be "My country, harsh country, beautiful country". Very recently yet another beautiful historical building was set alight in Bloemfontein. If I have one wish for this beautiful country of ours, it would be that we ALL respect ALL of our cultural heritage.

I am posting a video. I have tried my very best to put the correct credit with the video. However, I am very new at all this, so my apologies if it doesn't show.

Followed. So cool!!! :)

Hey @dracosalieri, interesting post. I knew south africa had issues with crime but I never thought electricity theft is such a real anger to people in SA. I watch the South African ex-pat serpentza on youtube sometimes. he primarily talks about his new home china, but often about how bad it is South Africa. Violent crime seems to be rampant in some districts.

I hope your country will see change for the better soon and that you and Steemit will be a part of it.

Can I feature your article in my Politics Today series ?

Yes, I would like that...

Our country is challenged, but not without hope.

Awesome post friend. Upvote and followed. You want to remember a beautiful phrase. Read this post. You will not regret https://steemit.com/life/@jenniferb/do-you-want-to-know-what-phrase-i-have-liked-the-most-in-my-life

Thank you for sharing. It's interesting to know more about South Africa

"We have one of the best comedy channels in the world, called Parliamentary TV."
Lol
I really enjoy reading about your experiences in SA. There have been a lot of issues there that receive zero coverage by the media in the states.

I hope you get your water back!

It will be back when the power goes off...

Thank you for the support. As time goes on, I plan on doing some travelling around the country to showcase the good, the bad and the ugly...

I look forward to it. One of the things I have been interested in was the after effects of the World Cup, I have read that a lot of the stadiums and infrastructure is going unused and maintained, I would love to hear your perspective on that if you have one.

Well, most of the stadiums are falling apart... That is actually a great idea! I will get on it! (At least write it in my notebook for now)

Awesome! :)

Keep going! Upvoted and following you

I concur with you @dracosalieri. Our country needs honest leaders who neither greedy for money nor power. Anyway gave a tip. By the way, I like your signature. How did you design it?

Thank you, I agree we have a leadership crisis. But I still love my country!

I used a website to design it. Sadly I cannot recall the link... I believe it was from a site that @sykochica recommended. She actually has a lot of very useful tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59