Life Eternal

in #philosophy5 years ago

Who wants to live forever? I've thought about this on several occasions in my life, as I'm sure we all have, or will do sooner or later. For much of my youth I've had this conviction that life is essentially a cruel joke; being infected with an undying love for everything science fiction and fantasy at a young age, I always cursed who- or whatever is responsible for putting mankind in this universe for the ridiculously short lifespans we were given.


infinity_small.jpg
Image by Peter-Lomas - source: Pixabay

I will never see the first fully immersive virtual reality machine; I'll never know what it is to experience a virtual world so real that there's a real danger of getting lost in there forever. I'll never know if we're not living in such a virtual reality right now. I'll never see humans settle on yet another planet, maybe even in another galaxy. I've never seen a dinosaur and I missed the Dark Ages altogether; it would have been great to meet someone from that time...

See what I'm getting at? Life is so terribly short; measured against any timescale a single human life is meaningless, we each get to experience so very little of the total human experience, and as a young man I thought this must be a cruel joke. I mean, we've done so many wonderful things and we're sure to go on and do even greater things... Young me didn't understand, didn't want to understand maybe. But I'm older now, I understand more now, and I would never want to live forever.

Not because I've suddenly lost interest in seeing mankind grow up to become the interstellar settlers I know we will become, if we don't kill ourselves first. I now see that our mortality is exactly what makes life worth living at all. It's what gives us a sense of urgency, makes us want to feel alive and accomplish things in the time we've been given. I even believe that IF we manage to conquer death, this might very well be the end of our evolution, as we would lose all sense of urgency; why do something today when we literally have all the time in the universe? Neil deGrasse Tyson said it well a few years ago in a Larry King interview:


Neil deGrasse Tyson: I Don't Fear Death | Larry King Now

Having life eternal sounds good on the surface, but when you think about it, it also sounds unnatural; nothing in nature lives forever, dying is essential to life. If something cannot die, is it then alive in the first place? These special creatures are called zombies I believe... Or AI robots. But not alive. That's why we must know for sure that we'll die some day; it's what makes us feel alive in the first place. Without bad there's no good and without death there's no life. But still, I would like so much to know where this grand experiment of our species will go... So I brought you the next best thing. Beneath is a wonderful video from the Pursuit of Wonder YouTube channel; I can wholeheartedly recommend ALL their videos as they're all small pearls of wisdom. This one, "The Beginning & End of Humanity" touches on immortality, eternity and the meaning of life:


The Beginning & End of Humanity


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Bound By Myth
Becoming EvilWisdom In Humor
The Big PictureMan Exploiting Man
SJW CringeFlat Out Wrong

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

What if there is only life and the idea of death is just a construct built by the fear of the unknown by creatures evolving through transformative experiences with a very limited perspective ? "nothing lasts nothing is lost" William Blake

Posted using Partiko Android

I believe that's a very real possibility; what if consciousness is a, or even THE fundamental building block of reality that keeps eluding science? What if there's no sharp line to be drawn between life and non-life? I'm glad that I'm not the only one here to keep an open mind about these possibilities :-) Thanks so much for this my friend!

I am also pleased to be finding engaging and interesting steemians that can entertain such abstractions with an open mind..

Science indeed struggles in these metaphysical disciplines that spirituality has been attempting to describe for millennia..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah eternal life is a drag. I wouldn't mind a few hundred extra years though 😗

Agreed. Thanks for reading and responding my friend :-)

I love the perspective to lose the sense of urgency!

You're right again: there's too much focus on all kinds of "urgencies" nowadays... Thanks so much! :-)

Continue to bring the great value here on the Steem blockchain Kurokasi Ichigo. ;)

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.484 which ranks you at #6200 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 6195).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50