The Concept of Equal Trade: Read My Blog, I Will Read Yours

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I am a person who strongly believes that everything in this world is perfectly balanced. In spite of the constant changes that the world undergoes everyday, balance is maintained through the Principle of Equivalent Trade.

The principle states that when an entity loses/gains something, it must also gain/lose something of equivalent value to achieve equilibrium. For example, in order for you to get a Whooper at Burger King you must give 150 pesos to the cashier which is the exact equivalent of a Burger King Whooper.

Shifting out of balance

Everyday, I wake up to see lots of messages on my comment inbox and tagboard waiting for me to be read and replied to. There are those comments who express their thanks and delight, there are also those who disagree and share their own thoughts.

But every once in a while, among those piles of messages, we receive messages that are similar to these:

  • This is a nice post.
  • Wow! Very informative post.
  • Niceblog! Visit mine!

I have been on the blogging business long enough for me to know that these kinds of messages are just baits for you to visit their blogs (Let’s call them blog-baits for the sake of discussion).

Such a method is already a common practice nowadays. Bloggers hop from one blog to another leaving a message which points to their own blogs. Then they just sit back and wait to see if anybody would drop by to read the stuff they have prepared.

Such a method is an easy way to get a few visitors on your blog, but it is also the cheapest way to do so.

Hanging on a state of disequilibrium


If someone leaves a comment on your blog, isn't the first thing you do after reading the comment is to find out who left the comment? Eventually, you will find yourself clicking the link to that commenter's blog to find out more about your visitor.

Bloggers would kill to know the people who are reading their blogs. This is why blog-baiting is so effective. You could just leave a short simple message and people would automatically visit your blog to find out who you are.

But if ever I was the one whom you have baited to your blog, I would think twice before dropping a visit. I mean, why should I visit and read your blog when you didn't even bother to take time to read mine?

Blog baits are indeed effective, however, people don't like being blog-baited. You may have gained visitors on your blog, but you have lost the opportunity to convert those visitors to regular readers.

Achieving Stability


Blogging is not just about creating posts, it is also about reading someone else's. What's the point of creating an entry if nobody is going to read it? This is where the Principle of Equivalent Trade comes into play: if you read my blog, I'll read yours.

Look around and you will see that most of the successful ones are the bloggers who take their time reading and leaving a comment on other people's blogs. Not only do they gain readers but they also gain their trust and eventually become loyal friends.

If you want others to know about your blog, read their works and try to comment if you can. Remember, if it only took you a couple of seconds to drop by on a blog, expect that they will also do the same on yours. Try to pitch in the extra effort and those bloggers would see that you are a person worth visiting.

So before asking others to read your blog, take some time to read theirs. Who knows, if you pull the right strings, those people might eventually turn into one of your most loyal readers.

Steem on!



Image Credits Pixabay

lionSFPFina.png

Sort:  

Idol! Grabe gyud ni xa ka hawd ba! Seriously, you are one of the best writers I have come across with. From the title, to the content, to the structure, everything is well thought out and well constructed.

As to this article, I couldn't agree with you more. Taking the time to read the post, and leaving meaningful comments will more likely give you loyal followers, than just temporary visitors. Engagement alone is not enough, you must also show sincerity towards the people you engage with.

More power brotha!

Kahilak mn sad ta ani hahaha..

True, it should be more than engagement but lets just hope we have all the time in the world no? hehehe

Thanks @chinitacharmer

Blog baiting uses the principle of human reciprocity. People are more inclined to return favors to people that gave them benefits. It's well etched into our heads that not returning the favor even when not asked can sometimes cause anxiety.

There are people who doesnt give a sh*t @adamada hahaha

          Congratulations you have been upvoted because you, or a friend left a post in the NewbieResteem Post promotion Box. Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.


Blog Baiting, that is an interesting term I think I kind of like it. All that does is let me see if they are a serial baiter, if I see several replies to them about spamming their post/blogs, well I just mute them. I mean really are they going to change? Not that I have seen. Do they remove the comment when called out for it? A few have so I don't mute them, they learned, the others are just trying to make a buck and not here to socialize or earn an honest steem buck.


         

Clicking on the images will take you to "Newbie Resteem Initiative info" - Our Discord Channel - abh12345's - IFC page

We invite you to use our tag (#newbieresteemday) to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

I bashadow invite you to also click on the IFC Castle and learn about @apolymask and his game, be sure to tell them I sent you. As abh12345 has made lots of votes possible, apolymask thru his IFC game has made lots of fun possible.

Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

This post has been featured on Daily
Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts #69
Congratulations !

I think this is the part that most of the users don't really understand.... They are just waiting for someone to read their post. Pero sabagay guilty din ako minsan lalo na pag di ko talaga maintindihan yung post.. yung sa sobrang lalim mag cocomment na lang ako ng gif >__< hahaha..
Resteemed...

Hello wdoutjah,

I would I just like to say thank you for this post. This is a very simple concept that someone like me who is new to blogging would easily pick up on and apply to what I am doing. I also feel the same about those empty or throw away comments, I feel that it adds nothing to the conversation and I think it should be a conversation between people.

I look forward to more of your post.

Thank you,

Johann Randall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85