Who am I? A philosophical question for the scientifically-minded

in #philosophy6 years ago

Who am I?

Quite a simple question but, how simple is the answer? Can you answer it about yourself?

We are often under the impression that no one else could know us as well as we know ourselves yet, most cannot come close to truly answering this question. Although we all think we can. If it is in thought alone, that can't be the answer for there is much of us that is hidden from our thoughts, no matter how deep we look.

Some will take a feeling perspective and assume that what they are is how they feel about what they are but, just like thoughts, feelings come and go like the clouds in the sky yet, we are still us, aren't we?

Have you sat and tested who you are? How can you know?

Maybe this question is truly an unanswerable so what we do is limit its scope and answer other questions instead such as, what we do, how we behave, what we think we are. Again, to answer even from this limited view means to omit massive amounts of information including what happens when circumstances change. Even the battle-tested haven't seen every fight.

Perhaps it is similar to a quote from the movie The Bourne Identity,

Jason Bourne: I can tell you the license plate numbers of all six cars outside. I can tell you that our waitress is left-handed and the guy sitting up at the counter weighs two hundred fifteen pounds and knows how to handle himself. I know the best place to look for a gun is the cab or the gray truck outside, and at this altitude, I can run flat out for a half mile before my hands start shaking. Now why would I know that? How can I know that and not know who I am?

We can know what we have done, know what we are doing and perhaps even predict what we will do in the future yet, what makes you you, and why are you any different from me if I do exactly the same things? If we are just the sum total of our behaviours up until this point, is there a point?

Part of the human condition is our self-awareness and our ability to Assume that we are part of a system much larger than we ourselves can ever know. We can understand the struggles we face and have the ability to consider that it all might be futile, that no matter what we do, it is meaningless. Our ability to think larger, predict the future and imagine changing it is tempered by our questions of why bother.

We don't want to consider these elements of life, the grey realities that may never provide a clear view of what we should do or, where we should go so, we cover them over, turn a blind eye. We create illusions and delusions that what we do is meaningful, that their is a higher purpose and a larger reason to our very existence without ever being sure that it is true.

Some see the lack of certainty as crushing, I see it as freeing. this doesn't free me from responsibility though, quite the opposite. It ties me to doing the best I can in any given moment and motivates to push a little harder in the next instance. Instead of maximizing myself, I look to embed into a community instead.

This is all assumption based but I figure that we are designed to be socially connected and evolving to communicate for cooperation. Self-maximization is not in the best interest of that evolutionary drive that has been pushing for two million odd years or more and to assume that I am more aware than nature's unaware perfection would be to deny that I am a product of that very system.

This evolutionary drive has taken us a long way together and even though some will argue against its wisdom, to break community from evolution would be to spiral into eventual non-existence, extinction. We might never know the real answer as to who we truly are and are unlikely to ever find out why we are here but, the further we move together, the closer the answers come.

The endpoint is always in the distance but along that road, the greatest discoveries are yet to be made and the greatest of which can only be made with a building upon of what we collectively know and collaboration with those who are trying to find their own path within the crowd.

People try to separate philosophy and science but, they are inextricably linked as the question one raises, forces the other to look for answers, the breakthrough of one will raise more questions for the other to consider.

So, for the scientists out there,

Who are you?

 
Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

The picture is of my daughters feet when she was in the intensive care department just after she was born. I care so little for my own life but, at that point I really realized how much community matters and that regardless of what I think of life, mine is a part of the evolutionary journey too.

Sort:  

I am a learner and observer. that's the only way to answer that question since we really don't know who we are, that's why philosophy and science was invented not only for the sake of matters but also for the sake of understanding ourselves and the quest to discover ourselves, i might already dead before i got the answer, but one of the most important thing is we never give up learning, because learning is a way of life, learning is what makes the ideology that the world what we call it "Earth".

We are designed to learn, not just to follow what others teach.

Thanks for taking the time to answer but I'd appreciate it if you didn't self-vote (at least so heavily) as it hijacks the top position and I don't like flagging for it. I read nearly all comments I get and vote most.

I couldn't count how many times I've heard people say 'I'm a good judge of character' or similar lines; people inherently believe they 'get' human nature. Yet we all fail to do so, some more than others of course.

I take a pluralistic approach to the question really. I don't think 'I' am a single mind. The phone call me is strikingly different to the alone in the bath me and the sitting next to a hot girl on the bus me, and the hanging out at a house party I don't want to be at me.

They all refer back, in hindsight, to a state of me that is perhaps an accumulation of all these different me's, but like the common man in Nazi Germany - those till workers and construction men, bakers and performers - who were led to casually scalp the hair off dead jews and nonchalantly kick the body into a giant pit, our 'self' is capable of far more than we can possibly imagine until the day we're exposed to ourselves actually doing it.

I couldn't count how many times I've heard people say 'I'm a good judge of character' or similar lines;

The wins outnumber the losses heavily because for the most part, they jusge and move on without ever getting confirmation. That means the judgement failures are buried under unsubstantiated victories.

our 'self' is capable of far more than we can possibly imagine until the day we're exposed to ourselves actually doing it.

Only at the point of judgement can one know what they are capable of or, the defiance possible at the cost of all else.

Thank, for taking the time, it is appreciated.

We can find all the answers if we believe in God...I am a wonderful creation of God, whose basic purpose is to worship God and enjoy this beautiful life - but that joy cannot be realized independently. Real joy requires relationship - love. So, spread the word of Love everywhere.

You only learn about yourself when you are tested. When something big happens that could be life changing you find things out rather quickly. Things have happened to me during the course of my life and had to make split second decisions from avoiding a serious car accident to chasing robbers (more than once). You don't know what type of person you are until these things happen. We have all watched films where there are 3 hijackers and 400 passengers. You will find out whether you sit or do something. Most people will sit.

We have all watched films where there are 3 hijackers and 400 passengers. You will find out whether you sit or do something. Most people will sit.

Most people sit through much less dramatic than that. Perhaps it is even worse as people sit when there is no danger, but lots to gain.

Guaranteed. They know it's wrong but will benefit so will act dumb so can justify innocence. Greed is a terrible thing.

Oh man... what a great article Tarazkp... I think about this constantly, but I'm inclined to conclude that living life is the search for that answer, and none of the things people use to identify themselves are valid, because none are permanent. It's not that I'm a cynic or anything of the sort, its just an observation...

This permanence is the key isn't it? We live our lives as one person yey, we cannot seem to tie ourselves to anything that is consistent throughout.

People are simple creatures that often think themselves complex. There are only a couple things humans want and or strive for .

Reminds me of a quote from Baltasar Gracian I saw again while working on yesterdays post.

xxvi Find out each Man's Thumbscrew.

’Tis the art of setting their wills in action. It needs more skill than resolution. You must know where to get at any one. Every volition has a special motive which varies according to taste. All men are idolaters, some of fame, others of self-interest, most of pleasure. Skill consists in knowing these idols in order to bring them into play. Knowing any man's mainspring of motive you have as it were the key to his will. Have resort to primary motors, which are not always the highest but more often the lowest part of his nature: there are more dispositions badly organised than well. First guess a man's ruling passion, appeal to it by a word, set it in motion by temptation, and you will infallibly give checkmate to his freedom of will.

Sounds like a passage from Machiavelli writing about how to conquer the earth.

I am, and I always be, who you think I am. I can do everything possible to reveal what I think is my inner self, or I can work equally hard to obscure what I think is my true self, but, with all that, I will be who you perceive me to be.

I will be a different person to everyone who knows me, based on their interpretation of what they have learned about me and based on the validity they put on parts of that knowledge.

That is neither bad or good; it just is. People decide who I am. Two people with the same exposure to me may not agree on the real "me". I also may react subtilely differently to people based on my expectations from the encounter and what I perceive the other person to be. That is human nature.

I can never know who I am; that is for others to decide within their framework of reference. In any case. I cannot be the person everyone wants me to be.

Will

So, when you look in the mirror, who/what do you see? Do you put on the same labelling system as others have applied to you or, are you removing the layers and seeing what is left?

The mirror does not reflect labels; only me. I don't see myself representing leftovers from the collective opinions of others, nor do I compare myself with others. The "me" others see exists in their mind's perception and that is why I will be different for everyone. I think that is true for everyone. You perceive me to be the person you have envisioned based on inputs so far. I am certain your version of me will be different, though not necessarily inaccurate, from those who have known me longer. Nothing wrong with any of that. It all depends on your base of reference, so I am the person you think I am, based on your interpretation of the evidence you have. Does it change your version of me if you learn that I love movies about falling in love, or that I don't eat meat, or that I was an Honors student?

People try to separate philosophy and science but, they are inextricably linked as the question one raises, forces the other to look for answers, the breakthrough of one will raise more questions for the other to consider

This is very interesting,so simple yet so difficult. Very recently i came across a discussion of this same reasoning and it went thus

From your very childhood, people kept calling you 'John' and you have come to believe, "I am John." You believe this name to be you. In reality you are not that, but you insist that you are 'John' because everyone tells you so. Since you do not know who you really are, you believe yourself to be the name that you have been given. This has had a very powerful psychological effect on you. This effect is so deeply ingrained within you, that you believe that you are 'John'. This belief is wrong, and because of this wrong belief, you have spent countless lives 'sleeping with your eyes open' (oblivious to your real identity).

I will love to see where this post leads us to

Beautiful written and explained.

These lines,

We can know what we have done, know what we are doing and perhaps even predict what we will do in the future yet, what makes you you, and why are you any different from me if I do exactly the same things? If we are just the sum total of our behaviours up until this point, is there a point?

Well this is something only few people think of, we are what we think we are. But actually if we go deep analysing ourself, we will see some interesting things. One can be kind, so can be others. But there is always an emotion or feeling which is different.
You enlightened us on a very important topic today, I appreciate your time and efforts. Thank a lot for sharing this post sir.

Who are you? Such question. Sometime we get it all twisted while trying to answer this question.
Sometimes back, a friend was walking into a Air-force base, he was alerted to halt. He was terrified already, then he was asked, ‘who are you’. My guy said ‘I’m nobody.’

When he relayed his experience to me I wondered why he could not say anything, why will you say you’re nobody? Then I thought to ask myself........ I’m still asking though.

This sometimes is because they don’t know what to describe themselves as. Or the fear of not marching up to what people think you are. That’s paying attention to people rather than oneself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63