You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who am I? A philosophical question for the scientifically-minded

in #philosophy6 years ago

I couldn't count how many times I've heard people say 'I'm a good judge of character' or similar lines; people inherently believe they 'get' human nature. Yet we all fail to do so, some more than others of course.

I take a pluralistic approach to the question really. I don't think 'I' am a single mind. The phone call me is strikingly different to the alone in the bath me and the sitting next to a hot girl on the bus me, and the hanging out at a house party I don't want to be at me.

They all refer back, in hindsight, to a state of me that is perhaps an accumulation of all these different me's, but like the common man in Nazi Germany - those till workers and construction men, bakers and performers - who were led to casually scalp the hair off dead jews and nonchalantly kick the body into a giant pit, our 'self' is capable of far more than we can possibly imagine until the day we're exposed to ourselves actually doing it.

Sort:  

I couldn't count how many times I've heard people say 'I'm a good judge of character' or similar lines;

The wins outnumber the losses heavily because for the most part, they jusge and move on without ever getting confirmation. That means the judgement failures are buried under unsubstantiated victories.

our 'self' is capable of far more than we can possibly imagine until the day we're exposed to ourselves actually doing it.

Only at the point of judgement can one know what they are capable of or, the defiance possible at the cost of all else.

Thank, for taking the time, it is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72