You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who am I? A philosophical question for the scientifically-minded

in #philosophy6 years ago

I am, and I always be, who you think I am. I can do everything possible to reveal what I think is my inner self, or I can work equally hard to obscure what I think is my true self, but, with all that, I will be who you perceive me to be.

I will be a different person to everyone who knows me, based on their interpretation of what they have learned about me and based on the validity they put on parts of that knowledge.

That is neither bad or good; it just is. People decide who I am. Two people with the same exposure to me may not agree on the real "me". I also may react subtilely differently to people based on my expectations from the encounter and what I perceive the other person to be. That is human nature.

I can never know who I am; that is for others to decide within their framework of reference. In any case. I cannot be the person everyone wants me to be.

Will

Sort:  

So, when you look in the mirror, who/what do you see? Do you put on the same labelling system as others have applied to you or, are you removing the layers and seeing what is left?

The mirror does not reflect labels; only me. I don't see myself representing leftovers from the collective opinions of others, nor do I compare myself with others. The "me" others see exists in their mind's perception and that is why I will be different for everyone. I think that is true for everyone. You perceive me to be the person you have envisioned based on inputs so far. I am certain your version of me will be different, though not necessarily inaccurate, from those who have known me longer. Nothing wrong with any of that. It all depends on your base of reference, so I am the person you think I am, based on your interpretation of the evidence you have. Does it change your version of me if you learn that I love movies about falling in love, or that I don't eat meat, or that I was an Honors student?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77