Philosophy: Logical Fallacies II

in #philosophy6 years ago

Logical Fallacies (1).png
There is a similar copy of this also written by me on Minds, I'm just sharing it on both platforms: https://www.minds.com/scottcbusiness/blog/philosophy-logical-fallacies-ii-857889454605017088

Hey hey! I want to talk to again you about logical fallacies! There are oh so many and I'd like to go over them. We are now on to part two of my series on Steemit. Remember for your argument to be logical, THOU MUST NOT COMMIT LOGICAL FALLACIES! Instead of just pointlessly copying and pasting, I will describe these in my own words for you, if that isn't your thing, check out the bottom for references. Otherwise, kindly read on...



Alphabet Soup Fallacy


This is most modernly seen in partisan research, pharmaceutical commercials, lawyers, and really anyone who overuses acronyms, abbreviations, form numbers and inside information that only they and their in group would be aware of to confuse or impress others not in the know. It can also be used to create false identification with a group of patients suffering from certain conditions.

Alternative Truth Fallacy


I'm sure we all know this one. According to the reference I have included at the bottom this began in postmodernism and really what it suggests is presenting alternative facts of events and denying the truth. This is very loosely used however, because it ends up coming down to opinion. If used loosely this can be a false fallacy used to condemn any type of conspiracy theory. That's why this fallacy must be used very strictly and in the right circumstance. I feel like it's hard for me to give a good example without offending someone, so we can just assume it is for strictly ridiculous assertions, like gravity isn't real.




The Appeal To's:
Closure, Heaven, Nature, Emotion, Tradition


These are the main appeal to fallacies that I will cover in sub-sections. The gist is that the argument is appealing to one of these things in false way.

Closure


An idea no matter how questionable that demands it be accepted or it would remain unsettled. "You owe me 5 bucks and even though I said I wouldn't charge interest, you owe me interest or our debt won't be truly settled." "You were sentenced to prison, but because the family demanded they would be unsettled until the criminal dies, they manage get them sentenced to death to provide "closure." There are many variations of this, it can be rarely used in debate.

Heaven a.ka. (Argumentum ad Coelum)


This is seen often in debates used not nearly as maliciously as it previously was, but essentially it's the fallacy of claiming to know the mind of God or a higher power, AND who has ordered or approved of anything you do and everything is justified and no one can challenge you. "God ordered me to kill everyone." That is the most extreme example, but I've seen the various minimalist versions of this.



Nature


This is the fallacy that because something is natural is must be good, pure, or have some positive trait. This also applies to opposite that because something isn't natural is must be evil. These appeals to nature as an authority can contradict what is actually true. For example, "because this herb is freshly picked and dried natural Toxicodendron radicans leaves it is pure and beautiful. Some call it poison ivy, but they do not understand it is a natural ingredient and has no additives in it or GMOs alike."

Emotion


This is the fallacy where the speaker tries to manipulate an emotional response rather than providing a valid or compelling argument. So basically for example someone could tie their argument into a cause and thus force an emotional response from an audience rather than a rebuttal. So we see this often in court in front of a jury. A good example would be "Bill is accused of murder, but he is a firefighter part time and he was one of those who helped saved lives, he also has a puppy who he loves and is a patriot to this country so how could he possible commit a crime against what he worked to protect." They don't actually respond to the accusation or provide a valid response. They attempt to appeal to emotion of the audience typically. It could be used in a general debate and even potentially on the person 1 on 1, but typically it's for the audience appeal.

Pity


This is the fallacy of urging the audience to root for the underdog under the assumption that the underdog is more deserving of your support to even the odds even if they may not be the most deserving. The opposite of this is the appeal to rigor which is more like appealing to machismo. This needs no example, it's obvious that just because someone isn't winning doesn't mean their good and vice versa.

Tradition


This is a classic one we see a lot for religion or older conservatives. It is the argument that something is correct or right because it has always been done or thought that way and instills some sort of ancestral burden to uphold this view. Many of these traditionalist views have been being eradicated in the 21st century for example, women not being able to vote or equal pay, or same-sex marriage, etc.


Check out these 2 resources I like to use and often refer to:

http://utminers.utep.edu/omwilliamson/engl1311/fallacies.htm
https://yourlogicalfallacyis.com/

There is a similar copy of this also written by me on Minds, I'm just sharing it on both platforms:
https://www.minds.com/scottcbusiness/blog/philosophy-logical-fallacies-ii-857889454605017088

If you love philosophy as much as I do, feel free to give me a thumbs up and share your thoughts.

If you want to make sure people aren't committing logical fallacies be sure to REMIND them!

Thumbnail


Every Week I Do A Giveaway

For all my posts, I collect the resteems, comments, and upvotes made on my posts the last week and use a https://snackaholic.github.io/steemfortune/en/ by @snackaholic to determine the 3 winners who receive 0.5 SBD each and announce it on the next post! I also send out 0.001 monthly to my followers with a small bulletin update. By following me you opt-in to receiving it!

Last post here: https://steemit.com/giveaway/@scottcbusiness/weekly-post-engagement-giveaways

Earn Free Coins With Minimal Effort


💰 Also be sure to sign up on https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=9d27bc9475 for free payouts every 5 days of their coin $MANNA as part of their nonprofit universal basic income project!

Social Media And Contact Info


🙌 You can also follow me on:
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Scottcbusiness
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/ScottCBusiness
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/scottcbusiness
LinkedIn - https://ca.linkedin.com/in//scottcbusiness
Steemit - https://steemit.com/@scottcbusiness
Discord - ScottCBusiness#5242
Minds - https://www.minds.com/scottcbusiness

Witnessing On $STEEM

If you believe in me as a witness kindly vote for me by going to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and voting for me at the bottom by typing in my username ‘scottcbusiness’ or click on the link below

Vote for @scottcbusiness


Click the above text to vote for me!


Witness Communications Assembly


An initiative to improve transparency, communications, and overall trust between witnesses and the rest of the community. To start it is a discord server, but we aim to build something much bigger moving forward.
https://discord.gg/3b5jk37
Witness-Communications-Assembly-logo.nowords.png

Sort:  

Amazing contribution and good future on steem blockchain you will have I think. ☺ I've writen this post about adding steem dollar to binance and I think it's important for all the community. I voted for you as a witnessand I hope for your support, thanks.

True SBD would be interesting on exchanges! Thanks so much for your witness vote and support!

I'm coming to you from twitter today. You are on my list of 350 steeiming tweeps and I saw your post in the feed for it.
https://twitter.com/FitinfunSharon/lists/steemit-friends

This is the second time I have heard of this concept in two days and I have never heard of it before. Apparently @lukestokes is also a proponent.

I found out about this without knowing it when I lost "half my size" in 2011 after a lifetime of miserable obesity. When I got educated to the lies of big pharma/agro/media and how they keep us fat, it was a cruel awakening.

Now I use it to my advantage. If the big guy are pushing anything with their mumbo jumbo. I assume the opposite of what they say is really the truth. for example, chemo, with its 5% cure rate is expensive and has long-term harmful effects every if it works for you. But you will not find that informention the mainstream.

Another good place to see this is in the wiki for Alt-health. There they say that just about anything alternative you can try will not work for any health issue. At the same time, I am in 100's of groups for various illnesses. When people are failed by the mainstream, they will try anything. And guess what? A lot of those cheap, non-patented "cures" actually do help people. And not just a few people. I see success in the groups I belong to daily.

If everyone could throw the tv out the window, it might help :)

thanks for adding me to your list and for all the effort into your share! I'll check out alt-health :) Thanks!

Fresh thoughts here. Fallacy and the introduction of emotion, pity shame, even pretense (I'm doing this for your own good) are real manipulative tools used by manipulative people. Their first tack is abuse, insult, judgement, shame. This proves they have no substantial grounds to debate anything, and their argument if produced will be false, based on lies, or fall to one or other fallacious approach.

Such people dont appreciate the full picture because the full picture involves other people. they often grab just a shard of an argument (transform it by recycling into several fallacious blades) then proceed to do exactly the things they are opposing. But they have a license to do it because.... insert victim status here.

I usually show them how I'm their victim and it shuts them up.

lol true. Yeah the abuse and insults is the most common fallacy, ad hominem where they attack your character instead of the argument which I talked about in the first fallacies post part 1. Good monologue there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44