The Piano - A Chance Encounter

in #philosophy8 years ago

I have a shop, and work there everyday. My friend finds this ironic because I have absolutely no patience with people! As a rule.

                                                                                

                                      (original photo)

I am well aware that I can appear unapproachable and stand-offish, which honestly, is something I cultivate, dealing with the public all day long. I just don't have a high nonsense tolerance, or truthfully, any nonsense tolerance whatsoever.


But I do like (some) people and chance encounters that touch my soul with their truthfulness, mean a disproportionate (maybe) amount to me. Yesterday at the shop I was approached by a poor looking older black man with either his two sons, or grandsons. We have a piano for sale in the shop, and I have a sign on it requesting that it not be played. Otherwise every second person will walk past and bash on it, possibly damaging it, or annoying the hell out of me. He started to tell me a story about how you could not buy a pair of shoes without fitting them on. Knowing where this was going I explained that I didn't mind people "testing" the piano if they spoke to me first. He showed me his youngest son/grandson and told me that he was the one who played and that he was interested in buying it for him.


Whether this was true or not, working in a shop means you can NEVER judge by appearances when it comes to a possible sale and the way he approached me immediately allowed me to assure him that I didn't mind at all if he tested it.


I can only describe what ensued as nectar to my ears.


I already knew the piano had a beautiful sound, as a couple of people have played it. I am not knowledgeable about music, but could recognise that the other players were playing classical piano music. I have no idea what this young boy played, I couldn't place it, and truthfully was lost in the short piece. Possibly it was a piece of his own creation? When he was done the old man and two boys came back to see me, to tell me that they would consider a possible purchase. I felt sad, as perhaps, by the look of them, the price would be out of their reach. I told the boy, the most unremarkable, unassuming person you could imagine, that I really enjoyed his playing. The old man agreed and told me that the boy had started playing on keyboards when he was seven, and was self taught. I asked the boy how old he was and he said, fourteen, but was exceptionally shy.  I told him I thought he had an amazing talent, and the old man agreed with me, muttering that he would have to take him to Johannesburg to become noticed by the "right" people. How I wish this for him.


Later I thought I should have asked him to play for a couple of hours and I would have paid him. As soon as that thought entered my mind, I was glad that I didn't think of it. Imagine if his playing "sold" the piano to someone who could afford it, while he was still there?

(image: pixabay)

The encounter left me both happy and sad. I am most certainly in no position to be donating pianos, that made me sad. I was happy that for a few moments, our souls were united in the honest connection of the beauty of music. The saying goes, people are in your life for a moment, a season, or a lifetime. That was one of my moments. If we pay attention, we can recognise our "moments" and our souls can grow.


Thank you for reading, please follow me @onetree

Sort:  

Hello @onetree,

Your post has been chosen by the @robinhoodwhale initiative as one of our top picks today.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

The Steemit community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep on Steeming!

Goodluck!
~RHW~

Thank you @robinhoodwhale much appreciated!!! :)

I'm not a musician, but will certainly take a look at it if I meet someone who would benefit. Thank you!

This post was crafted so skillfully, I admire the way it is written. It reminded me of when I was all alone in Germany and the sun was setting, and the house I was in had a piano there-- then I played and it flowed through me. I felt to romantically swept away, and the music was only shared by the space and I. The sunset made the music, and made it special. Thank you for your writing and keen observation.

Thank you @ndbeledrifts, your words mean more to me than you know. Moments are everything!

Aww that is a lovely and sad story. I feel your pain at not being able to give the piano away. I have a piano sitting right up the back corner of my shop too. My neighbour is trying to sell it. There is something about a piano, people just want to play them. I often hear the sounds of piano music while my shop is open. My neighbour doesn't mind people playing it and I am amazed at how many people just sit down and bust out a tune. Even though it takes up so much space in my shop, I will miss it once it sells.

Thanks, I wouldn't mind if they played it, but unfortunately where we are situated people would abuse it. I hope it finds a home soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62