The problem of 'We' - a reflection on the philosophy of Emmanuel Levinas

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Why do we say 'we'? Is that an honest attempt at inclusion, at sympathy? But does it work? Or does it do more harm than provide support to the other I want to reach out to, by saying we instead of I?

Encounters

Sometimes you meet someone who writes and thinks about stuff that connects to your own life and thinking. For me, that someone is @erh.germany, whom I met only a couple of days ago, and we've not yet disagreed about anything, but we do have a lot to say about the same or similar things. (See for instance her reply about the concept of 'rejection' as the best personal training ever she wrote after reading my post about rejection being a crucial part of a writers' life.)

In her latest post, @erh.germany raises the question why people talk in the 'we'-format, instead of saying 'I'. She explains how this makes her feel uncomfortable. She posits that saying 'I' instead of 'we' creates more value and quality. And she explores why the over-using of 'we' makes her feel like something is wrong, and she invites others to respond to this. So here is my response.

From Agency to Authority.

A problem when saying 'we' and not saying 'I' has to do, as @ehr.germany rightly remarks, with the concept of the self and how it behaves toward other people. To think about this, let's start out to think about the concept of agency, instead of authority. Writing things from a personal perspective, saying that 'I' think this or that, can feel authoritative, but is actually a more honest way to take responsibility for one's own views. (Which is not to say those views are unique... uniqueness is overvalued, but that is another problem I wrote about two days ago.)

This doesn't have much to do with authority, but is related to agency. The power to be oneself, to act for oneself, is generally considered 'agency', not authority. Except of course when you want to claim something for someone else, then agency is transformed into authority. A type of authority that Germans (but also many other people around the world) understandably have a problem with. Because the road from authority to dictatorship is short. A slippery slope, I'd say.

Emmanuel Levinas and his idea of the 'Other'

So here enters the necessity of philosophy, as philosophers have thought about this as well, and can perhaps help us out. Have you ever heard of Emmanuel Levinas (1906-1995)? He somehow tackles a problem that I think @ehr.germany is touching upon, when she talks about the problem of saying 'we' instead of daring to say 'I'. I agree with her analysis, that we have an authority problem, and that talking about 'we' makes things look profound, but actually degrades the quality of a reflection. But even though I agree with her analysis to some level, I don't think that is precisely the fundamental problem to this phenomenon.

I'd like to evoke Levinas's ideas to explain what I'm thinking about. Levinas developed his thought not in the least as a response to the horrors of WWII, of what pure authority can do to a person. His basic question boils down to the following: how can we make sure that we can never have that situation again, the situation of denying existence of another human being. He noticed that many problems arise from the fact that there is a gap between myself and any other person. We can never truly take the point of view of the other person. You could take this in a nihilistic way: as it also means that we can never truly understand someone else, so why would we care, let's just put our own view first.

But Levinas saw that this is not the way forward, so he went back to the Scriptures he had studied when growing up as a Jewish boy. And he noticed that it is possible that something happens between two people, between myself and the other person, if only allow it. There can be a moment in which what is truly me, is called on precisely because the Other looks at me. He relates this to the story in the Bible that we know as the parable of the Good Samaritan. Levinas explains that parable as follows. Whereas normally people will not look at someone who is dirty and injured, lying at the side of the road, it is the Samaritan who cannot not look. By looking at the injured person, he is called to be human. The ethical responsibility, Levinas even says, is first with the Other, and then with my self.

“I am responsible for the Other, without waiting for reciprocity, were I to die for it” ~ Emmanuel Levinas

A capitalized Other

Yes, the 'other' in this case is capitalised, because for Levinas the Other is no longer simply someone else, but it is an Other that remains completely different, completely other. The alterity of the Other is acknowledged, the other-ness of the Other is a primary notion. It is from that position of otherness, that ethics starts. That we can start thinking about what is right, for me. About what is the good life, for me. Without this complete Other, someone I don't reduce to something or someone I know and understand, I wouldn't be able to become human myself.

“To approach the Other in conversation is to welcome his expression, in which at each instant he overflows the idea a thought would carry away from it. It is therefore to receive from the Other beyond the capacity of the I, which means exactly: to have the idea of infinity. But this also means: to be taught.” ~ Emmanuel Levinas

Levinas and the problem of 'we'

So how does this all relate to the question we started with? By talking about a 'we', you impose a specific idea of the 'other' on to someone else. The relationship of you with the other is dominated by you, by your own views. This is maybe normal, as you can only look at things the way you do. But this is also a problem, because it assumes there is a common ground, something you see in the other that you recognise in yourself. And you are not simply offering this commonality to the other, you force it on him. Precisely by saying 'we'.

A good example of this is given in the book 'On Hospitality' by Jacques Derrida and Anne Dufourmantelle. Derrida talks about how when we meet a complete stranger, the first thing we ask is his or her name. We think this is a type of respect - because then we can name the other person according to his or her own name. It is a form of acknowledging the other, right? But what we forget, Derrida says, is that in asking somebody for his name, we already force a lot of things on this person. Derrida says that the real stranger, the refugee, is the perfect moment to evaluate how hospitable we are, how accepting of the Otherness of the Other we are. Do we ask his or her nationality, his or her name? What if he or she doesn't have a name, no paperwork, do we still accept him or her as a guest? Do we impose our language, do we only accept the person's name when we understand the language in which the response is offered?

So, in short. By using 'we', you impose something of yourself. This is a violence against the Other-as-Other. Levinas asks us to turn this around, to allow for the other to call forth something in yourself. So, to start with the 'you' in total openness, not having any expectations beforehand. And through the Face of the Other, learn something about yourself. This is what a true conversation looks like (notice the word 'convert' and 'conversation' are very close?).

If one could possess, grasp, and know the other, it would not be other..png

Ok, so far this short reflection on Levinas. I do think this opens up a new perspective on things, at least it did for me.

Friendship with the Other

Last but not least, I'd like to mention that this experience has made me reconsider my definition of friendship. Friendship from now on, is when one person can allow the other the be themselves, more themselves. A friend calls on the other to let their singularity come to the front. A friend is the person who respects the otherness of the other to such a degree, that they will not allow for anything less.

ps. I did think about whether I use 'I' or 'we', as requested per @erh.germany's post, and mostly I use the 'I' format - in one case I started typing 'we', to make a point of including everyone, but actually it was a fallacy, so I took it out. But as @modnar pointed out in the comments, I did use way more 'we' than I thought! So will have to give this some more thought in my next posts... Thank you for including that exercise, very helpful!

@nobyeni.png

Sort:  

The gap between us and other people is indeed of prime importance. I think about it more and more as I grow. To me it's very close to the problem of selfishness.

I wonder whether science will ever be able to resolve it, or ameliorate it, by somehow putting us in the shoes of another person (or being). To use an extreme example, suppose I give you drugs that will cause you to have a short depression so you get to understand what it feels like to be depressed.

I envisage such things happening in future schools! I don't know if this would be a form of education, or a form of torture, but I often think that knowing different feelings, with the aid of some machine strapped to our heads manipulating our brains somehow, will evolve us ethically, and maybe we can get closer to knowing 'what it is like to be a bat'!

I think that's more inclined toward encouraging empathy rather than awareness of the Other. While the two may overlap, they are not always the same entity. One can be empathetic but unconsciously disregard the Other's existence. One of the ways this can happen is with someone dealing with something and the person remarks that they know how the other feels. This is showing empathy, but forcing the Other into what the Self has experienced or knows.

Ha, yes, Nagel's paper is excellent on that, of course. And I won't say I have the answers to those issues.
But I think even with drugs or even Virtual Reality simulation, it is not possible to consider your perspective / experience / understanding the same as that of another person. This has to do with the fact that we are always already in the world, as Heidegger would say. And I would extend that to always-already-being-in-your-life/world. Knowledge and they way you see things add up, are not made in a void. And this is what scientific experimentation might forget.
Even if everybody reports the same things (even physical information etc), this doesn't mean it is the same. Okay, insert Deleuze here. (But I'll stop, before this becomes a lecture on contemporary philosophy ;) )

A good example of this is given in the book 'On Hospitality' by Jacques Derrida and Anne Dufourmantelle. Derrida talks about how when we meet a complete stranger, the first thing we ask is his or her name. We think this is a type of respect - because then we can name the other person according to his or her own name. It is a form of acknowledging the other, right? But what we forget, Derrida says, is that in asking somebody for his name, we already force a lot of things on this person. Derrida says that the real stranger, the refugee, is the perfect moment to evaluate how hospitable we are, how accepting of the Otherness of the Other we are. Do we ask his or her nationality, his or her name? What if he or she doesn't have a name, no paperwork, do we still accept him or her as a guest? Do we impose our language, do we only accept the person's name when we understand the language in which the response is offered? 

I think I'm missing some of the context here. Why is the refugee the real stranger? And if by asking someone his/her name I'm forcing a lot of things on him/her, isn't that the case with everything I may ask?

Also what do you think is the proper use of "I" and "we"? Like an actual sentence with the difference. The example of Derrida you pointed seems to overflow with "we". Is that why you chose this as an example?

I did think about whether I use 'I' or 'we', as requested per @erh.germany's post, and mostly I use the 'I' format - only in one case I started typing 'we', to make a point of including everyone, but actually it was a fallacy, so I took it out. 

Is that the same post I just read?

Btw I really enjoyed @erh.germany's latest post thanks to the links you provided. 

Hmm, you're right. I didn't notice how many 'we' slipped into my review of Derrida's point. Maybe because the we is the Derridian we? Hmm. will have to check my own ideas about my writing, thanks for that!
The refugee for Derrida is a classic limit-figure. One that is not from the world we know, so the refugee is something from the outside that presents itself. It is a figure we don't know anything about, except that it is human. Derrida uses many more examples, but I feel this is an example we can relate to also in this time.
And yes, with everything you ask, you force something. Derrida makes the point of 'the name', as he says it's the first thing people ask. Who are you, where are you from? (I also wrote a post yesterday about this concept of the name as it appears in the work of Benjamin, or at least it's an attempt to raise the problem of 'naming' for Benjamin, which has obviously influenced Derrida here)

Thank you for the explanation.
So if I'm asked a question I'm being forced in some way? Instead of forced it looks more like influenced to me. But even then I am the one allowing to be influenced. I may choose to ignore the question, respond  truthfuly  or maybe lie. The decision remains with myself. I think people are too sensitive.

That being said I do think it's important to be aware of the language I use.

On the same topic, I've also noticed that a lot of people(my self included) tend to use "you" when preaching, nagging or lecturing someone. We can start with an innocent "we" and somehow end with an  accusing  "you", almost seeing the imaginary pointed finger.


So how does this all relate to the question we started with? By talking about a 'we', you impose a specific idea of the 'other' on to someone else. The relationship of you with the other is dominated by you, by your own views. This is maybe normal, as you can only look at things the way you do. But this is also a problem, because it assumes there is a common ground, something you see in the other that you recognise in yourself. And you are not simply offering this commonality to the other, you force it on him. Precisely by saying 'we'. 

I was hoping for someone (you:) making an analyses which mine was not.
I was speculating and gave a totaly subjective view and observation of mine.

So thank you to do the job precisely which actually I also did not do. LOL.

You gave me the present of a new term: "agency"- never have heard of it in this meaning and never would have come up with it. Still, I have some difficulties to translate it in my lazy brain which doesn't like to use a word like this in a total different meaning, except it hit's me like a hammer.

"Agency" I sort of think of spies, lies, advertisement & government.

What I liked about me using "authority" in this case is rather for disturbance not so much accuracy - why? When I heard the first time Alan Watts talking about "authority" and how he back tracked the term I got fascinated by it. Until then I never dared to touch the word. It was censored by me - so I happily gained it back and like to throw it in. To give my readers the pleasure having the same experience.

"Agency" does have though some disturbance quality for me and maybe it now will stick to my pool of using English language.

What else did I notice. I guess I was a little hurt by you throwing out my wonderful "authority" and replacing it with "agency". But I overcame it already and now like to give you the credit your article deserves:

Not only does ist provide historical knowledge and a deep digging into the subject, it also delivers explanation of the possible psychological causes.

You are a true writer and a caliber which I am not. I see the milage of writing hours and practice in you on a professional level. So you are going to be my teacher and inspirational guide (I warned you:-)

What I gain from your reply is how beautiful this experiment can be to know nothing about a stranger and not force questions upon the other which quickly categorize him or her for the sake of giving me security - without having the experience to feel superior or inferior: what is left?

Thank you @nobyeni for another fresh dialogue on this crazy block chain.

Yes, 'agency' is a strange word maybe. But I'm all for reappropriating words to give them a new meaning... Another type of disturbance you seem to be liking ;-)

And thank you for your reading, your sharing of this space of learning. What is left, to continue to strive to create this space where I and the Other can both exist on their own terms. I do think Levinas doesn't go far enough in his philosophy, he doesn't say much about what we can actually do to create this space. But I felt that would be too much to go into in an exploratory post like this...

The "what" can be done, activates my psyche-button.

Did you ever heard of the method of "active listening"? To let the Other and myself be, was one module of my education and it surprised me a lot that methods & teachings were already that far.

We practiced to listen to the flow of words from another one without interrupting - which is nothing special, right? But we also were asked by our teacher to not inwardly start to evaluate or to judge what our "client" was telling us. Just to sit, be still and take in the presence of one another.

I tried that out later on in my professional practice with "real clients" and it often worked to an extend I wouldn't have assumed. What I do, is watching my breathing and whenever a thought of excitement, sadness, anger, prejudice etc. comes up, I name it, acknowledge it and then let it go. That always has an immediate effect on the quality of the meeting. Though it is tough to remember when I am not stable.

With writing and communicating here it is different. No physical presence involved. Makes it sometimes harder, sometimes easier.

Yes, I do that too with my students when I try to let them experience this. I use the Meisner technique, which originates in theatre as an acting-method. Very similar to what you describe, I think.

Cool, you know the name of it!
Maybe this WAS from the Meisner technique, I cannot remember.

This is fabulous and so written. I'd love to see your take on how these ideas work when one uses 'we' in terms of inclusion or in taking a sympathetic tone?

I think Levinas shows the danger of inclusion. Inclusion may be better than exclusion, but exclusion can also be a way to exclude. By including someone, without acknowledging their own agency and their otherness, I impose my own understanding of the situation, of the world.
Sympathy and empathy can be similarly dangerous. It lets one believe that you feel the other, that you feel their pains. While it is important to acknowledge the otherness first, let the Other speak or interact on their own terms, before talking about 'we'. Better sympathy would be to allow for a space, an openness, and a silence, to exist not for the other, but because of the other.

We er no I liked this

That moment when you have a million thoughts buzzing in your head, but you can't seem to fish one out to make a comment.

Thank-you for this. It is something I am working toward better understanding and incorporating. By looking into the Self, one may consider the Other. Something along those lines. Introspection in order to better serve the community.

See? Many thoughts, can't fish them out to elaborate on.

Well I solved this easy shit! We just simply points out to a living being that exists or has existed or is assumed to exists. I is a left arm and other is some other part, right hand for example. All this support my own view of society as a living being, next kind of creature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43