Handling Rejection - A Crucial Aspect of a Writers' Life

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Ok, you don't write for the fun of it. But that doesn't mean you need to suffer for it, either.

One of the biggest challenges to being a writer, at least for me, is to get rejections. Projects you've worked on for a long, long time, polished until they blinded you, and that you have dared send into the big bad world... only to come back to you with an automated rejection letter. "Thank you for your interest in publishing with us... Unfortunately..." Every writer will recognise this. And even outside of writing, rejection is something that everyone will have encountered.

Depressed yet?

It's easy to let those rejections get to you. I know, because I did. I got depressed, started to doubt my skills, my ability, my passion. Started to feel as if I was rejected, not just my work.

If you google 'how to deal with rejection', the list of advice is endless. How you shouldn't do this, shouldn't let them make you go crazy. Fair enough. But I'd rather hear what I should do, instead of things I shouldn't do. Replacing a destructive habit with something constructive is easier than simply having no more habit.

So... I started reading. Reading autobiographies of writers who had struggled through this. Reading blogposts by writers who had somehow dealt with this. Not the type of reading that tells you how to get published, but on how to deal with this desire and the push back from the world.

Making lists and raising your goals

One of the first things I found was that it is good to make lists. Get insight into what is going on. And, most importantly, set higher goals. This might sound counter intuitive, as depression will make you roll up in a corner and cry and sleep. Sure. But the trick is to set a personal goal and stick to it.

What kind of goal? Well, a specific number of rejections. Or unique submissions. The idea behind this is quite simple. If you have only one submission somewhere, the stakes are high - everything depends on the response of that one publisher or journal or this one person who might not even have the greatest day, needs a cup of coffee but might be glancing over your stuff and decide to just reject because he feels like it. Or, as is probably most often the case, you may have sent something wonderful to a place who doesn't publish that kind of writing. Publishing is complicated, and you need a lot of trial and error to find out the right place for your manuscript, your short story, or whatever it is you write.

Isaac Asimov

So, there is some wisdom to increasing the amount of submissions... simple maths will tell you, especially when some luck is also involved, that this will simply spread your chances. But this is also important for another reason, something Asimov has written about. You know, that prolific writer of science fiction, finishing so many short stories and books per year. In fact, writing a full novel every TWO weeks, for 25 years, someone calculated! He also faced a LOT of rejections. But, as he relates, the rejection all of a sudden is much less important when you first have to remember what story it was again, that was rejected this time. Ow, yes, that was three stories and two novels ago, sure it is rejected, it is old stuff...

By the time a particular book is published, the [writer] hasn’t much time to worry about how it will be received or how it will sell. By then he has already sold several others and is working on still others and it is these that concern him. This intensifies the peace and calm of his life. - Isaac Asimov

Asimov also wrote some nice poem called 'rejection slips'... And if you want to read a much better post on advice from Isaac Asimov, I'd recommend this article on Medium

It might sound cheesy, but so far it has worked for me. I have set my goal at 12 unique submissions per year (so, resubmissions of the same stuff that was rejected before doesn't count). I get many more rejections than ever before. But last year I got two publishers interested in my work, and so this year two of my manuscripts will be published. But I don't think that's the reason for me not being depressed any more.

“I love my rejection slips. They show me I try.” – Sylvia Plath

Yesterday I got another rejection, for a short story I worked on for a long time, a very personal story about friendship. I poured my soul into it, and it was rejected. But I hardly felt anything. I ticked a box, filed the letter in the folder called 'rejection'. I don't really know how many submissions I am stil waiting to hear back from. And it is that renewed focus on creative production instead of a focus on hearing back from the people who judge me, what makes it possible to cope with rejection.

Photo Credits: Caro Wallis Flickr via Compfight cc and By Weird Tales, Inc. (Scanned cover of pulp magazine.) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Sort:  

An author friend of mine received over 200 rejections before his story finally got published. That story later evolved into 3 series (4 books in each series) set in the same story world.

He kept all of his rejection letters, and he often tells this story. He learned many years later that a young girl decided not to commit suicide because she identified with the heroine in his books. He looked back at older drafts of the story and at his first rejection letter, and he realized that if the story had been published THEN, that particular character would not have existed.

So, sometimes rejection is good, as it can force you to write the story that was meant to be.

Yes! Thanks for sharing, that is a really nice thing to remember... The only problem I have with those stories is that they work afterwards, but didn't help me too much when I was getting ready to quit writing...
Yes, rejection is good. Not only because it can help you rewrite it. But also because publishing in the wrong place is almost as bad as writing something bad.... There is a delicate balance. Editing one's writing and one's views is key.

One day you start a drawing game, the next day you are following a philosopher/writer/designer. That is a nice combo x) c'mon you also have nice design skills, did you take a course?
I studied design for 4 years (+ experience) and took like 3 philosophy classes, sometimes I which it was inverse, I love both design and philosophy... And writing but I haven't writen anything in a long time; and never thought of publishing even here hehe.
Well, nice to meet you!!
this is related to your post because reasons

Actually I'm taking the online Steemit course by @multi4g. He is relatively new here, like me, but I really like what he has done. I'm glad you think i have nice design skills... as it is completely due to @multi4g who taught them to me. In relatively few posts even. For instance this one on using canva
Glad to have met you through a drawing game, I like that kind of creative different type of posts! Nice to meet you too!

Wow! I am going to check that n.n and I am going to make different kind of games so it is not only drawing n.n it is really more fun that I thought ;D

meh :-( not answering me in your yesterdays post. ..... About which I like to give you my congrats! Because it has deserved an OCD-honor and has risen in value!! Yeah for you!

I will come back later the day and read THIS one. Hope you are still interested in little me ... LOL


I came back and it happened to me that your article gave me a boost of inspiration. So I kind of dedicated an article of mine to you:

https://steemit.com/life/@erh.germany/rejections-best-personal-training-ever

I hope you like it.

o, my my. now you DO make me feel bad (and yes, I know that was totally your intention!)... as I was away to visit family all day, and I read your reply and your intense and beautiful post as a response on my phone, but unfortunately I'm not able to post any reply through my phone as it's very old and slow... the agony!

So. I hope you accept my deepest apologies and please know I'm absolutely interested in you. I am amazed at finding someone like you through a place like this, someone who has different but well-articulated words for something I also consider myself well-articulated about. We always seem to say the same, but it is the opposite of boring, as you truly embody what you say. Something I also strive towards. So thank you, for bearing me not answering my post and being able to make it into something to laugh about!

Thank you! :-)
Yes, I intended you to laugh because I knew you were busy. I do not expect an immediate answer though I pretended, I did.
I myself am having an old bone, too - call it my cellphone. It is only smart in the sense that I can make calls and receive SMS. It doesn't even have a touch screen but must be handled by the good old buttons:)

My recent articles were an experiment to write outside my profession. hmm... makes me thinking. Checking in: I would like them to be more consumed. But that is a matter of followers and how many people read what one has to offer. Always ups and downs here. I would say I am slow going. Compared to the amount of followers starting with me last year I am kind of on the slow lane. Which fits me:) ---- HaHa, I did not intend to self reflect here but did that!!

Yet to receive my first rejection slip, as I have yet to submit a story for publication. But it is a goal of mine for this year (the submission, not the rejection!). So perhaps I will join the club sometime soon.

Re-steemed!

I've never seen myself as a writer. More over you can easily spot that I'm not native English speaker. And I'm still on the level that a rejection from a publisher would de-motivate me to continue trying.

12 unique submissions per year sounds like a reasonable number.

Yes, I can totally relate to that. I'm also not a native English speaker. Submissions can also be in other languages. You can make up your own rules as to what 'counts'. Finding a way to not let a rejection de-motivate you, is however very advisable. If you want to write, that is. And be published. Which is totally not something you must want, or might not be your goal.

Thanks!

Oh, really? I thought you are a native speaker.

Well, I've never seen any writing prompts in my own language here. At the moment writing and publishing in Bulgarian sounds pretty exotic.

You have the right attitude. Keep sending out your stuff until there are so many of your works out there that you can't keep track without a spreadsheet. Pin your rejections to the wall or pile them in a stack somewhere, and the bigger the stack gets the more proud you can be, because you are putting yourself out there. You are trying. That's more than most people can say.

I tried my hand at submitting a story many years ago and I am proud of my 5 rejection slips, especially the one where they ticked a box that said something like 'although we are unable to publish your story at this time, we would be very interested to see other stories written by you.' They even underlined the part about being interested!

Sadly, I allowed life to get in the way after that and haven't much managed to write much until recently. Now I'm at least writing regularly and putting my work out there, so it might be time to start thinking about sending something out to actual publishers soon.

Thanks for a motivating article.

Ha, interesting... good that they ticked the 'right' box... I guess those people who read those stories are seriously overworked... All the best to your future endeavours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44