To Be Like Jesus, Put Truth and Morality First

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Jesus is often referenced as a symbol to other things like the way, the path, the light, life, truth, love, righteousness, etc. The character represents the embodiment of principled living in truth and morality.

The light of truth, and specifically moral truth, shines the way to truer, realer and higher life, to a resurrection into a new, renewed, reborn, revived and reawakened "afterlife" from the former self we were before the light of truth ignited the flame of life within us. Caring for truth ignites a new life within us, and sends us on a new journey, path and way of living.

But that path and way brings interference, turmoil tension, pressure, fiction and conflict with others. Truth doesn't unite with falsity. Truth divides from falsity. Truth is like a sword that wages war on falsity. When we speak to others who are living in falser ways, it creates a point of contention, a point of conflict. Truth isn't first about being peaceful with others and not talking about controversial things. Peace comes from truth afterwards.

Here is how Jesus is described in one famous Biblical passage:

"Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn 'a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law-- a man's enemies will be the members of his own household.' Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. He who receives you receives me, and he who receives me receives the one who sent me."
- Matthew 10:34-40

"Jesus" is the symbol for truth and how truth operates. "Jesus"/truth didn't come to bring peace. Truth stirred things up. If you want to maintain peace, getting along, going along, not rocking the boat, then you aren't on the side of truth/"Jesus". Truth is uncomfortable in many cases. It's not about tranquility, but is often more about stirring the pot and rocking the boat. We can be comfortable in our illusions, and being shaken up to wake up from that spell is uncomfortable. It's a tumultuous process.

Speaking and standing for truth will often turn father against son, mother against daughter, and so on. Those who speak truth are often disliked by those who are still attached to falsity, and this creates animosity and turn people into enemies for the moment as the battle of truth vs. falsity wages on.

If you love your family or other personal attachments more than truth, you will not be worthy of truth. You have to love truth more in order to stand by it and fight for it. If you ignore, deny, reject or refuse to accept truth, or are unwilling to follow the truth wherever it leads, then you are not taking up the cross to bear the burden of truth and all the interference, turmoil tension, pressure, fiction and conflict that comes with that process, both within ourselves and with others.

Bearing the cross and burden of following the way and path of truth/"Jesus" can be uncomfortable. But if you do, you will find higher, truer, realer life. If you let go of the personal life and attachments that prevent you from following the truth, you will actually find life, the "afterlife" of a truer, higher and realer life of being awakened to the truth within. If you lose that former life for the sake of truth/"Jesus", then you will find your realer, higher and truer life. You will find a life imbued with meaning and purpose from the power of truth igniting your "deadened" care within. From being "dead", to renewed, reborn, reawakened and resurrected to be alive in an "afterlife".

If we don't "fight" for truth because we are afraid of getting our hands dirty, then the truth will die out. The flame within us will burn out. If we want to keep alive what truth, right, good and morality we have in the world and to make things better, we have to "fight" for it. Staying in the safe-space of not rocking the boat, not causing trouble, keeping the peace, going along to get along, etc., to keep ourselves in so-called safety and security, is to keep ourselves in shackles. we risk losing everything right, good, moral and true that makes life worth living if we don't stand up for it to keep it alive.

I hope this helps clear up how the Bible authors use symbolism, metaphor, analogy and parables to talk about things that really matter. I'm not religious or "spiritual" by most people's definitions, but I can recognize valuable knowledge and the encoded understanding and wisdom that is reflected through symbolism in religious text. To follow and walk in the path and way of "Jesus" is to follow and walk in the path and way of truth and morality.


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

Lots of great knowledge in all the religious texts and philosophy's, its always good to keep an open mind and not dismiss things even if you are not religious.

Indeed. Peruse and accept what makes sense, because not all of it is valid ;)

I used to feel this way you describe. While I am still open to discussing things with those open to an exchange, I no longer waste my time on those who do not desire it. Unless they directly oppose me or someone I love, I use this saying from the bible.

And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear your words, when ye depart out of that house or city, shake off the dust of your feet.

I now leave most to their own devices, allowing them to wail and gnash their teeth in the hell they create. They insist they prefer it this way, and my time/energy is limited and better spent on more honorable and worthy pursuits.

You can't save someone who doesn't wish to be saved, nor in the end is it my place to make those decisions for another unless they threaten myself or those I would protect.

That is indeed a practical thought. After my anger phase finished, I too took up this wisdom. I've learned that some of the seeds that I planted, during my anger phase, has begun to reap and now I can calmly and comprehensively explain myself and my views. This is by far the best approach and you are right, forcing your views/opinions can be a waste of energy until those whom seek guidance come to you!

Yes, don't waste time on those who aren't going to receive the word of truth ;) You can use your energy if you want, but likely a waste of precious time and energy ;)

People judge, offend and insult themselves, creating their own suffering in large part and we as a species. That's why some things do need to be forcibly talked about at times, because we're all suffering as the result of the ignorance of others...

I resteemed this because this teaching is a key "meme of empowerment". This is because one of the main objections to controversial speech is that it disturbs people. Many of the complaints to police about my speech operation were motivated by unwillingness to tolerate speech that disturbs. This is also a large part of why many people (wrongly) think that "hate speech" should be illegal.

Thanks for the support. Yes, truth can hurt, therefore it's now "hate" LOL...

Great article krnel. I remember the first time I read the Gnostic Gosples and the sayings of Jesus. It was an ah ha moment when pieces started coming together and making sense like no time previous for me. Thanks again for sharing. I always find your writing informative and interesting.

You're welcome, glad you gain value form my posts ;)

Truth is not popular but truth is real and Christ is truth. Thanks for sharing your faith. More folks need to. I know of one from another faith who does here. Again thanks for standing for what is right @krnel.

I couldn't agree more. Resteemed!

hello @krnel , apa yang telah anda sampaikan, dalam konten anda mungkin membuat manusia teropsesi, mereka akan sangat berterima kasih kepada anda

All the answers come from Jesus, from his earthly life we can find the truth, the only truth that came to teach love unconditionally, Jesus was not a Christian, Buddhist Buddha, or Muslim Muslim, all three showed how to love unconditionally, that it is the truth, a difficult truth to assimilate, to understand even to understand, but in his life he showed his message was beyond religiosity and came to the essence of being, what keeps us alive and united love without conditions to yourself first of all and to the neighbor, greetings that this very wel

sir @krnel, I am agree with you sir. Truth is more powerful than the sword. To make our socity better we must fight for the truth. Go on sir. Your post gives us a charm sir. I am your great fan sir. Best of luck sir.

Great article and fantastic blog. Have upvoted and now follow. God bless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23