The Skyrim Comparison.


A post by my friend @sammosk reminded me of a concept I've had for quite some time. You can find that post Here!

Consider, if you will, the game of Skyrim.

It was released in 2011, nearly 6 years ago, yet people still play it as if it had been released last week. The reason for this, I'd argue, is its huge world and endless possibilities.

Today, I'm going to talk to you about how both free-will and pre-destination can exist simultaneously... using Skyrim as our catalyst for understanding.

Bear with me, I promise I'm only a little bit crazy.


Skyrim is a video game condensed onto a playable disk (I realize it can also be downloaded, but for the sake of the argument, we're going to talk about the disc.)

All possibilities within the game, every choice you're able to make, every route you're able to take, is accounted for and a part of the disk.

This is your pre-destination.

Once you're in the game, however, you as the player have quite a bit of freedom. You can choose to do quests in different orders and in different ways (or not at all). You can choose where you explore, what you do while you're there, and what your intentions are in doing so. You give precedance to honing certain skills over others, determining how your character plays and what their strengths and weaknesses are and how you use those strengths and weaknesses as you progress.

This is your free will.

Reality, I argue, could be set up very similarly.


All information already exists. All possibilities and possible choices are accounted for, as well as their outcomes. All ways in which you can do and be are pre-determined.

A simplistic way of looking at it is this:

You are presented with a choice for soup, a choice for salad, a choice for neither, and a choice for both.

The point at which you make this choice are where all possible outcomes are super-imposed onto each other. Once you make the choice, that is the reality in which you allow yourself to become aware, as well as all results that follow from that choice and every choice from that point onward.

What I mean by this is that any choice you could possibly make, and every result you could experience from those choices, already exists within the realm of what is possible.

This is your disk, your pre-destination.

That being said, the choice you choose to make, the one you decide to bring into your awareness, is entirely up to you.

This is you playing the game, your free-will.


Does your head hurt yet?

Believe me, I don't blame you.

Try not to think about it to hard, I'll even try to simplify it a bit further.

It's like this -

All information and possible outcomes are contained within the disk (reality).

You, as the player, choose the way in which you execute those possibilities and experience their results.

We're all playing the same game, bound by the same rules.

But how you play is, ultimately, up to you.

So choose wisely


If you enjoyed this, you might enjoy some of my other work here:

Sort:  

Starts cleaning brain off floor This is such a cool post :'D

Glad you like it : )

Hahah your comment made me happy, had to upvote you dude!

What about free wifi? <3

Thanks so much for the mention, this is a topic that I have deliberated on for some time, they both seem mutually exclusive at first glance but when you dig a little deeper they can co-exist quite well.

Thanks for sharing. <3

But what about free wifi?!

Haha of course friend, glad you enjoyed : )

Hi there ✌🏻 I'm mohsen and I'm a new steemer! Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested in them! Thanks a lot❤

Welcome to Steemit! I recommend building connections before suggesting people follow back and vote. Will help you in the long run but I'll check you out regardless : )

Thx friend

Follow me back

Nothing like some head-exploding awesomeness to make a Sunday complete.

Glad I could make your head explode in a positive way xD

Congratulations @iamjustincscott! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Never played Skyrim before but i am a fan of the elderscroll games and bethesda in general. I completely agree with your article but i think its a bit premature to compare life to a compact disk. :P Nonetheless awesome post man!! i will follow YOU for sure!!

Thanks for the follow! And you think so? There are some who believe this is nothing but a computer simulation you know ; )

Please follow me back

I'd love to talk with you first.

Are you on steemit chat or discord?

Sorry I'm new here and I don't know how to use it properly 😯

No problem, welcome to the community : )

Thanks 😊

For me, a discussion about free will should always include the Libet Experiment. For it's implications, yes. But mostly to remind us of how little we actually know about this subject. Nice comparison though.

I've never heard of it so I'll certainly need to look into it

Reading this high on Amnesia Haze while playing Skyrim, kind of made me question reality (mind officially has been blown), lol.

Awesome post, you sir got a follower!

Thank you friend, so very glad you enjoyed it : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48