The Gym - A Place For Mental Clarity

in #health7 years ago (edited)

image

I'm currently at the gym and thought I'd write this up between sets : )

Did you know the Classical Greeks believed that physical fittness and mental clarity were two sides of the same coin?

The Mind and the Body are not seperate entities, they are linked, they are one.

The Greeks understood this, and regarded the practice of physical conditioning with the same importance as the pursuit of knowledge and their understanding of medicine. To exercise was not a preference to the Ancient Greeks, but a civil duty.

In our modern era, we've been able to take this understanding a step further, proving what the Greeks knew intuitively all along.

In a study done by the University of British Columbia, researchers found that regular aerobic exercise appears to increase the size of the hippocampus, the part of the brain that deals with verbal memory and learning.

Other studies have suggested that strength training also improves cognitive function, while exercise of any kind has been proven time and time again to drastically decrease the chances of developing a slew of potentially fatal physical ailments and conditions. There is absolutely no doubt that exercise drastically improves your state of well being.

Not only this, but personally, I find that when I exercise, I enter the same space I do when meditating. All other thoughts, concerns, and stresses seem to melt away, and I find myself in a place of mental clarity and stillness. A place that is ripe for reflection, inspiration, and a better understanding of self.

I need to get back to my workout now, but do yourself a favor and go exercise if you don't already. I promise, you wont regret it : )

Sort:  

You've been killin' it with content man! This post is spot on. It's been really cool to see you do so well in your first week. Keep it up!

Thanks so much! Really been liking your stuff too and I'm glad you liked this! : D

Very impressed you managed to do this between sets I'm actually a personal and nutritionist as well Great work keep the mind and the body healthy!

Well.. it was more like between 6 or 7 different sets.. kind of spread it out as to not lose momentum xD

But thats awesome! I've thought about doing some training myself one day, always thought it would be really fulfilling work.

I don't do this often but occassionally after a run I'll sit down and meditate and wait for my monkey mind to start thinking. I achieve this momentary clarity where I have no inner dialogue, I hear my heart beating and feel my chest rising and falling as I breath but I don't notice any thoughts.

I get this sort of serenity from exercise. Exercise is one of the most powerful tools to improve cognition. For me I find most cardio monotonous, I prefer to lift or do Bjj for fitness which requires mental and physical sharpness to be good at

Ugh I wanna do BJJ so bad, that and Krav Maga.

But yes, I absolutely know what you mean. I didn't start really lifting regularly until after a bad breakup a couple years ago but it is probably the single greatest decision I've ever made in my life. The discipline I've cultivated lifting has pure into all other aspects of my life and I would not be the person I am (and continuously becoming) if it was not for lifting.

Thanks for your response : )

But alot on my nw. So I don't exercise much

I'm assuming you mean "a lot on my mind" and if thats the case theres no better time to exercise. I didn't mention this but regular exercise coupled with a healthy diet is one of the number one methods of reducing anxiety and depression.

That being said, if you need to talk about anything do not hesitate to message me on discord or steemit chat. Username is the same : )

"In a study done by the University of British Columbia, researchers found that regular aerobic exercise appears to increase the size of the hippocampus"

Geez, I must have a huuuuuge hippocampus :o)

Nice post and so true!!

Haha call it an elephantcampus.. ; D

While I might not have a scheduled regime pertaining to physical workouts, I definitely agree with this article. About three times a week I bike ten miles to the state park, if I'm not biking I take a long swim down the shore (my parent's own a lakefront house) Also I spend pretty much every day at my parent's and there are three mega flights of stairs to the lake which I'm up and down all day.

I know for a fact that physical exercise helps with mental clarity, because in the winter there is a notable change in my inspiration and creativity, to the point that this year I picked up some cross country skiis to alleviate some of that. (If you've never done it, then let me be the first to tell you that it is grueling until you've been out there a number of times, it works out muscles that no other form of exercise does)

Also a quick question...do you eat meat?

I stopped this year, and I don't even think exercise competes with the jump in mental acuity I've had since then.

I do eat meat actually, but I plan on moving to vegetarianism once I've reached my sustainable fitness goals. Protein via meat is just very easy.

But I'm glad to hear you get plenty of exercise! And I agree, I definitely see a difference between my drive in the summer and in the winter.. but I think it's more due to the weather.

Soy tu tio

<3

I go to my gf appartments one, is tinny, my 24 fitness membership expired :(

I'm sorry to hear that : ( but at least you have her apartment! : D

I think therefore I am, I do therefore I achieve? :o

Hi there, really impressed by your post. Even doing 30-45 min of workout makes you feel better. I personally follow 3 day split. It releases good hormones in your body. :)
upvoted and followed

Glad you enjoyed, and 3 day splits are good too! Thanks for your support : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63