Why Do the Rich Think About Being Poor? (With an Original Artwork)

in #philosophy6 years ago

I drink too much whisky, and I write too much about my bad drinking habits. I won’t say I cannot live without my whisky, but it seems impossible to think about a day without that woody taste in my mouth. I must admit that I am very privileged with my upbringing and family life. I have and had a life some people would die for. I always had support when I needed it. I always had family around, I always had enough money and enough money for the best education. I cannot see my life differently, I am also in some sense spoiled. This is not always the best thing, but that is how I was brought up. But this is where the question of this post comes in: Why do the rich sometimes think about being poor?

I find myself cornered in this mental struggle of always trying to imagine myself as a poor drunk slumped over some random bench in a park. I sometimes think of myself as a drunk beating up random people. I sometimes struggle to think of myself as the person I am. I wonder if this is really such a good think to live like this. Is it not better to struggle sometimes to build character, to become something better? When I drink some of the whisky, while I look out over the mountains, listening to the ocean, I think about being poor, fighting for my next meal. I wonder if the poor life is not something better.

Where did I come to this thought? Thinking about being poor, being a drunk, being something less than what I am? Why? I do not know. Maybe it is the romanticized idea of poor that is so enticing? But this leads to question, why do we idealize the poor, the bad and the drunk? Why do we idealize those with sad stories to promote their “art” or life? This question bothers me, because I fall into this category. Maybe it is the depression that needs something to hold onto. My rational mind fights against the depression, in a way telling my brain that there is nothing to be depressed about. But then the irrational part of my brain says that the (idealized) drunk lifestyle is better and more authentic that the fake one I am living now. I am struggling to find a way to get out of this self-created jail.

n.jpg

The artwork I created is about three small figures being looked over by a bigger one, this can be a symbol for all the above that I wrote. It can be the depression looking over my shoulders. Maybe it is my true self that wants to escape. I do not know. What is your opinion? Please comment, I will reply and we can start a conversation.

Sort:  

I don’t think the rich are experiencing being poor enough to realize the links between their actions and the experience suffered by the modern majority.

What city do you live in today?

Thank you so much for your comment. I am sorry for only replying now, we have some internet connection problems (if you read some of my previous posts you would have seen, maybe). Anyways.

I live close to Cape Town in South Africa.

And I agree with you completely. (Maybe see my comment/response on/to @thegiamarcos). I know of people who will live in the township (the poor areas in South Africa, almost like the slums in India) because they want an authentic lifestyle. This is maybe going a bit far and can be in some way seen as disrespectful towards real poor people, I think, but there is this base-instinct or need to "fight" or struggle to get food that we humans disregarded for way too long now. I hope that makes sense.

This problem has been an issue for many people like you for some time now. As a woman born and raised in a third world country, I see many Westerners coming in my country, the Philippines, to go back to the basics as they call it. They like going to farms, remote islands, and sketchy downtown streets. At first I perceived it as a mere nod to the National Geographic-esque vibe of all those things my country could offer until I actually became friends with one of these foreign people.

They told me that somehow, life in their country is easy or at least easier than in mine that they are touched by how us Filipinos have a lot of story to share out of how our lives are, I mean for those in the provinces for that matter. It then struck me that people love the idea of a glorious story--a rags to riches kind of experience. That is why many of these people even let go of their possessions many would die for just to experience a life interacting with those very same people who would kill for that.

I don't have anything against that, but it surely does spark a philosophical inquiry--do we love the idea of struggle?

According to the famous Nietzsche, there is something about humans and pain or misery--that we seek it as much as we are inclined to desiring pleasure. Perhaps, in my opinion, it is a yin yang situation--a balance. However, relating this to your matter, I can say that it's not really about balance but rather your attraction to something you have never really experienced at a great scale.

There are many poor people who have been suffering their entire lives while there are people like you who have had it easy all their lives, thus you both desire the opposite of what you currently have as a nod to what Nietzsche has proposed--we are indeed inclined to both pain and pleasure.

That is why you feel that way which I have sort of discussed in my most recent post though not exactly in this sense.

How can you make an assumption that the original posters had an easy life?
Obviously there is a lot of darkness and pain experienced by this artwork. You never know what you don’t know.

Thank you my friend. Having a hard life can be measured by a lot of things. The poorest man on earth can be happier than the richest one on earth.

Thank you so much for your comment. I am sorry for only replying now, we have some internet connection problems (if you read some of my previous posts you would have seen, maybe). Anyways. I see your point. I have lived in the middle class region my whole life. But now I am studying and have no means of income. I live with family that helps a bit. But I think the main thing about living a poor lifestyle or having a painful life is that need for authenticity. I think if life is easy, you have enough money and you can buy anything, it takes away from your inner-most-base emotions of needing something concrete and real. We want to live poorly and struggle to find food, because it is somehow connected to being human. I think it is instinct to have to work for food, and in the West we are so used to being given everything on a plate. Does that make sense?

Perfectly makes sense to me. Couldn't agree more :)

Thank you again for dropping by, and for starting the conversation!

I have lived at both ends of the spectrum, I grew up poor then made it into the big time through hard work I was in the top 0.1% of earners in the world it bought me everything a man could want apart from what really makes us happy. Love, peace & truth. Money cant buy those things it doesn't matter how high you go. I should have listened to my grandmother she could see my ambition when I was a child & warned me about it, I listened but never heeded her warning, She said, "You have ambition my boy & you will go all the way nothing will stop you because it's what you want but will it make you happy"? She was very right it took me some decades to find it out. I had it all too & then one day it dawned on me I didn't belong there it was what some addicts call an epiphany. I wasn't enjoying it at all I was pretending too it was cognitive dissonance I had bought into an ideal, It was me but it wasn't me truly. I dropped it all like a sack of potatoes I literally closed my bank account & gave all my money away & went to live off grid. My family thought I had gone mad & demanded I see a psychiatrist & I did only to appease them. That was hilarious she thought I was mad too when I walked in I looked so scruffy I was living rough it's how peoples perception works. About 10 minutes into her analysis she had changed her mind as I had started to analyze her. I had actually studied psychology of the human mind myself among many other things she was aghast at first she couldn't believe I was in the situation & that I had actually made a conscious decision to be there. It was the best decision I have ever made as far as happiness peace & the things that matter in life to me go. Money doesn't make anyone a better person it reveals them for who they really are it gives them that freedom & no more. Do things like expensive jewellery and fast cars make anyone happy? Sure for a short time until you get used to it then it becomes run of the mill & ordinary you eat the best food drink the best champagne eat caviar & meet pretentious parasites is what happens. No integrity it's payed for & it gives them a chip on the shoulder about the poor in general. I didn't fit in was an understatement I hated them they were fake. I gave to charity because I wanted too I felt for the cause. The people I knew gave & wore it like a badge of honour they only done it to make themselves look good. They never cared that there are babies starving to death in the world they had no empathy for it. I would hear things like "They shouldn't breed so much" & the like 'judgemental parasites' I thought most of them were born into wealth they have no appreciation of what life is. I couldn't be happier now I live on the street my friends are real friends we have each others backs there is so much more value in my life without money. I could go back tomorrow I was self employed I have no employer to impress I could get my hair cut have a shave & be back in major business by lunchtime some days I'm tempted if Ive had it hard. It's about what do we want out of life & what can we learn from it. For me I'm right where I belong it makes me laugh inside when people look down their noses at me & they do. Little do they realize that they are the ones suffering without wisdom not me. I have done a deal with several different churches & supermarkets & bakers in the area to take all their end of date food & distribute it to the poorest families in the area for free, Even they don't know me they just see a homeless guy call round with a crate of free food for them that can be a challenge in itself nobody wants to open the door to a hobo it takes a while to explain I'm trying to help. I also supply a homeless shelter & cook an evening meal for them at a scout hut. I am like an agony aunt for the homeless in the area I have talked countless people out of addiction Heroin Meth Alcohol Gambling. It's a rewarding life far more rewarding than wearing a Rolex & burning down the street in a Porsche pretending to be happy. No the rich don't envy the poor they have contempt for them which is a crying shame it means that they are self absorbed parasites in my opinion.

Thank you so much for your comment. I am sorry for only replying now, we have some internet connection problems (if you read some of my previous posts you would have seen, maybe). Anyways.

Where do you live?

Thanks again for sharing your story. I understand 100% how you feel. I also want to do what you do, go to the shops and get free food so that I can distribute it to the poor, or run a kitchen for the poor etc. I think it is really brave what you have done. Very little people will be able to walk away from money. I think people are sometimes scared because money also buys security; security of food, security of freedom and security of giving a blind eye to the trouble of others. It is really hard to live without money for most people who have tasted the luxury it can buy.

No worries Phil good to see you back, I'm a good way from S.Africa in England, I have been following the work of Michael Tellinger in S.Africa & his Ubuntu movement (moneyless society) he is an interesting guy I met up with him last year in England you should check him out. I cant say I agree with everything he says but he has some interesting concepts.

Yes I am at the university where they want to implement ubuntu ethics etc. The debate is very good, but sometimes there are contradictory points they make. I will look out for his name and see if I can meet up with him some time. Thanks again for dropping by.

Phil, I'm a fan of your writing style. Your posts are filled with all kinds of moods and ramblings which I really enjoy. I studied Psychology and Philosophy at University and can relate to a lot of your thoughts. Not that i've really 'used' that degree, but I don't really think you need to. It's one that enriches your mind and understanding so much that you need not really 'use' it in a professional sense.
I actually have a lot of friends who also have a similar feeling to the one described here. Not so much wanting to be poor, but rather wanting to be damaged or struggling in some way. A lot of the 'rich kids' I know turn to drink or drugs and form habits much more easily, just because they want to wreck themselves in some way to feel something they aren't used to. To feel out of their comfort zones - perhaps?
I can also personally relate. I wanted to start my own business because I needed to do something for myself and feel what it's like to truly graft and be uncomfortable with not having enough cash. Now I know that actually it's not really that fun, but I would still choose this any day over working a high paid job in an office or having cash given to me from my parents. So little becomes worth so much.
There are many things you can do to address this feeling. Try something that requires your complete dedication, something you can't back out of.
All just ideas. :-) I'll be following you!

Once again thank you so much for the comment. If I could I would send you a freshly baked loaf of South African sourdough bread! Yes what you said makes sense and I can relate. I want to start a small bakery and in a sense "struggle" through it to make it a success. I want to earn it. Maybe that can also be an explanation? Some people, like the "rich kids", feel they don't earn it so they don't want it, so they break themselves down in order to be at the bottom and then work from the bottom up. But drug and drink doesn't just break you down to the bottom, but it hurts your inner self and you may never get back.
There are so much one can talk about this! If you ever come to Cape Town pop a message or something and we can further this awesome discussion over a cup of coffee and some bread! Thanks again.

I really want to make it to Cape Town. I've heard so many amazing things. You know, I really think you should open a bakery! That would be amazing!! You're clearly very talented so you may as well. I'll keep following your posts for now. Please keep them coming!

I saw your #SBO video and I think it is great! With this small bakery that I want to open, it is going to be very helpful to read what others have to say. I should maybe write a small piece and post it there to ask some advice etc. This is why I love steemit!! :D

I really think you should! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.95
ETH 3382.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51