You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do the Rich Think About Being Poor? (With an Original Artwork)

in #philosophy7 years ago

This problem has been an issue for many people like you for some time now. As a woman born and raised in a third world country, I see many Westerners coming in my country, the Philippines, to go back to the basics as they call it. They like going to farms, remote islands, and sketchy downtown streets. At first I perceived it as a mere nod to the National Geographic-esque vibe of all those things my country could offer until I actually became friends with one of these foreign people.

They told me that somehow, life in their country is easy or at least easier than in mine that they are touched by how us Filipinos have a lot of story to share out of how our lives are, I mean for those in the provinces for that matter. It then struck me that people love the idea of a glorious story--a rags to riches kind of experience. That is why many of these people even let go of their possessions many would die for just to experience a life interacting with those very same people who would kill for that.

I don't have anything against that, but it surely does spark a philosophical inquiry--do we love the idea of struggle?

According to the famous Nietzsche, there is something about humans and pain or misery--that we seek it as much as we are inclined to desiring pleasure. Perhaps, in my opinion, it is a yin yang situation--a balance. However, relating this to your matter, I can say that it's not really about balance but rather your attraction to something you have never really experienced at a great scale.

There are many poor people who have been suffering their entire lives while there are people like you who have had it easy all their lives, thus you both desire the opposite of what you currently have as a nod to what Nietzsche has proposed--we are indeed inclined to both pain and pleasure.

That is why you feel that way which I have sort of discussed in my most recent post though not exactly in this sense.

Sort:  

How can you make an assumption that the original posters had an easy life?
Obviously there is a lot of darkness and pain experienced by this artwork. You never know what you don’t know.

Thank you my friend. Having a hard life can be measured by a lot of things. The poorest man on earth can be happier than the richest one on earth.

Thank you so much for your comment. I am sorry for only replying now, we have some internet connection problems (if you read some of my previous posts you would have seen, maybe). Anyways. I see your point. I have lived in the middle class region my whole life. But now I am studying and have no means of income. I live with family that helps a bit. But I think the main thing about living a poor lifestyle or having a painful life is that need for authenticity. I think if life is easy, you have enough money and you can buy anything, it takes away from your inner-most-base emotions of needing something concrete and real. We want to live poorly and struggle to find food, because it is somehow connected to being human. I think it is instinct to have to work for food, and in the West we are so used to being given everything on a plate. Does that make sense?

Perfectly makes sense to me. Couldn't agree more :)

Thank you again for dropping by, and for starting the conversation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49