Ramblings and One-Offs: The Reality of a Fictional Creation

photo-1519291884310-9472f14f0ff0.jpg
I have always viewed writing as an act of creation. With fiction, in particular, an author breaths life into his or her characters. He or she crafts a world for those characters to inhabit. With words alone, a universe comes into being and we, as readers, can witness the reality of a fictional creation. This analogy is pretty common and not particularly profound, in and of its self. Many authors allude to this point of view and some are rather explicit about it. Leslie Marmon Silko begins the novel, "Ceremony" thusly: "Ts'its'tsi'nako, Thought-Woman, / is sitting in her room / and whatever she thinks about / appears" (Silko 1). This poem frames the act of literary creation (thinking things into existence) with literal divine creation (the things actually appear). I believe that, as Silko's poem suggests, the realness of fiction should be taken far more literally. I say this because these fake things and real things exist in the same once form once they are within the mind and because these fake things can, indeed, affect our own world.

What is reality as we experience it? Things exist around us and stimulate our senses. Our senses transmit their data to our mind and our mind puts the pieces together. What is fiction as we experience it? We read, or see, or hear something that doesn't exist, our senses are bypassed (mostly), and our mind puts the pieces together. The end result is the same. Our perception of reality is an interpretation of data, just as our perception of fiction is an interpretation of data. When viewed from this perspective, reality and fiction become equally real (in our heads, at least). They both impact the mind and cause a reaction, they both create memories, and they can both shape who we are. The only distinction is that the two realities are made of different things. Specifically, the reality that we all live in composed of matter and the fictional reality is made of words, thoughts, and pictures.

photo-1521480828185-9a4034d0a212.jpg

One may argue that real reality more real than fictional reality because things within it can have agency. I, on the other hand, would say that fictional things have an agency of their own. A fictional character may not be able to grasp an object, you may may not be able to be touched by him, but he may still affect the world. His words can incite feeling in a reader, those feeling may lead to an action, and that action may change things in the real reality. In this sense, our fictional creations are as real as you or I.

photo-1516905041604-7935af78f572 (1).jpg

What does all of this mean for readers and writers? After all, writers will write whether we classify fiction as real or fake and the fiction will keep on being what it is and doing what it does. There are, however, some real benefits for both readers and writers who adopt this point of view. To a reader, this idea changes how he or she responds to things. The pain he or she feels when his or her favorite character is killed is immensely magnified, his or her joy is overwhelming when delightful events transpire, and so on. In short, a reader greatly increases the power and potential enjoyability of all the fiction that he or she consumes. For a writer, approaching a narrative with a belief in reality of fiction can add another layer, thought, planning, and intention to their work. As a result extra layer, the writer's work will be deeper, more polished, and more pleasurable to read.

Peace.

I am considering making this a new (but less frequent) series similar to my Philosophy of Use and Drug War Stupidity posts. Drugs, the drug war, cannabis, and psychedelics will remain the primary focus of my blog (because I truly love those topics) but I hope to create an outlet that allows me to write about the other nonsense that cross my mind but doesn't fit into my other series. If you found this to be uninteresting, fear not I will be back to creating my normal content shortly. However, if you liked this, let me know and I will write more of these Ramblings and One-Offs every so often.

The novel from which I quoted is the Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition of Leslie Marmon Silko's "Ceremony." I would certainly recommend it to anyone who likes a mildly trippy but extremely moving and very intense literary experience.

Unless otherwise credited, all the images in this post are sourced from the free image website unsplash.com.

Sort:  

Since I know that the subconscious mind can not tell if you've really experienced something or seen it in a movie for example, I pay close attention to what I'm looking at. You are right that the fictional world can result in actions in the real world - mostly subconscious. It's so fascinating to think about those things happen in our brain. Love your post...keep writing :)

Why do you want to write fictional about other stuff?
You can combine it perfectly with your themes ;)

Haha that I can but I felt like doing something a little different tonight. I had actually planned to take today off but I was thinking about this while I was running and seemed like it might be fun to write about.

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5900 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • For Smartcash users send 1 SMART + post link as DM to @abasinkanga on discord
  • Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5800 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • For Smartcash users send 1 SMART + post link as DM to @abasinkanga on discord
  • Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Done Free Resteem !! This post received a free Resteem to all my followers (+1500 followers) or Send 0.2 to 5 SBD for upvote from +70 accounts to @asrizal with your post URL as the memo , Get your free Resteem NOW! Just follow @asrizal

Thanks for paying for the resteem of Chapter 7. You're great! That's reality as I experience it (to paraphrase this post).

No problem man. That one isn't too much and I got a nice pay out yesterday so I didn't really feel it. Keep it up. A few people helped me out along the way so it only seems right that I do the same when I am able to.

I agree with you. Actually, I tend to like the term "faction" rather than "fiction" for a lot of literature written. I think one of the main advantages of literature over film is it allows the reader's mind to take the pieces, supplied by the writer, to create the "reality" of the writing. Film has a tendency to show you one person's (or a team of persons') take on the "reality" of the story. Literature allows the reader to do that instead.

Even though it may not be the best film made, I thought Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas was great because both the director and the actor Johnny Depp were able to recreate the "reality" of that book in a very similar way to how my mind created the "reality" of the story when I read it.

Don't worry, feel free to write what you want. I like it. It's your post. "Reality" for most of us is a series of one-offs; at least, rambling is a lot of what I do in my existence. I suspect that's true for the vast majority of us.

Thanks. I always liked that movie despite its flaws, plus it is before Johnny Depp became a walking parody of himself.

This is an issue that I covered often when I was studying literature in college and it can make for some interesting interpretations. I particularly like applying it to Paradise Lost because it does some weird stuff to the way one can view that poem. I can't remember how many times it happens without looking at my old notes but Milton refers to God as an author something like 10 -15 times. When you start viewing Milton as "God" in that poem, a lot of the lies Satan tells (particularly, in Book Five) become these really cleaver deceptive truths and the whole narrative starts to be far more subversive than it already is.

Milton is an interesting guy, if you can get past the Early Modern English he writes in but that is a different topic.

I haven't read Paradise Lost for decades. Maybe I'll download a copy from Gutenberg.org and read it again before I'm too senile.

Haha yeah it isn't the type of thing one goes back to again and again. I actually like Milton's sonnets a little better. His prose works are really great too but they are not an easy read. He had some really progressive ideas for his time on things like censorship and a few other topics, though and that gives his work a lot of value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63