A question for flat earthers.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

How is the earth flat if there are mountains?

I mean seriously..
How can you say the earth is flat when there are mountains all over the place?

I don't understand. There's all kinds of elevation going on.
I live in Sedona, surrounded by mountains on like almost every side of me.. It's not flat around here like anywhere..

Well.. There are a few flat rock areas.. But.. You gotta usually hike UP a mountain to get to them.
Or.. You can find some in creek-beds, however.. That's a whole other point in itself.. How can the earth be flat if all this erosion is constantly happening?

Have you been to the Grand Canyon? Does that look flat to you? I mean really.. What does flat even mean to flat earthers?
The world is like constantly eroding and sinking into itself and changing elevations and the underground is sliding and shifting and.. It's a lot of different things, but I don't think flat when I think of all that.

Sort:  

The world is round.

The flat earth theory is one of the dumbest theories I've ever heard and usually I am open to crazy theories but this one just doesn't make sense. Like why when we know the universe exists and the Earth is a planet.

Technically, all that you know about the universe is what you have been told.

I'm going to stop here. I don't want to join the "shape of the earth" debate.

Yeah but what extremes do you go to? At some point you have to just take another persons word for it. I haven't observed bacteria, I don't technically know for sure if it's a thing, doesn't mean I'll stop washing my hands.

@shamic

I'm pretty sure bacteria is a thing. Illness and and moldy food is some evidence of bacteria.

You don't have to take someones word for anything. You can choose to say "whatever you say.." and give them a little bit of faith that they know what they are talking about, while never defending their "word" in an argument due to the fact that YOU do not know.

I don't know what happens when a person dies or even if death exists at all. It seems like it does but maybe this is a simulation. Maybe I've only been in it for a few days and my memories are fake. How would I know? No one can prove anything about our reality.. so to "take someones word for it" when on the topic of death, religious people have that topic covered. Choose a religion and and select the answer that was given to from that particular religion.

If you don't know something it's ok that you don't know. You don't need to assume that others do.

If the Earth was flat and everyone was lied to.. the question would be "why". I can come up with an infinite number of possibilities. The most likely one is that they are hiding more land that has dragons and they don't like to share so they hide the dragons.

Take my word for it.

Yeah I am also pretty bacteria sure it's a thing, I'm just saying since I'm not a scientist and haven't studied it, I can't 100% know for sure.

My point is, why would they say the earth is flat, and also think bacteria is real? Where do they draw the line on rejecting science? Cherry picking is what it is

Lol....I don't think they mean flat in that way. Although the Earth is definitely not flat.

I see what you are saying, but obviously you know that people mean flat as in level and not curved.

It amazes me that so many people are talking about the shape of earth. Not so much on Steemit yet.

The shape of earth is so irrelevant, unless you can earn money by talking about it. Considering it's a popular topic, it's a great topic for Steemit.

With that said, Earth is a cube. Obviously. The moon is a cube. The sun is a cube. I have an ice cube in my drink right now. We are definitely on a cube.

Well.. Mountains are curved and they are part of the earth so I don't think we can take the literal "earth is flat" statement when so much of it is not flat. The earth is basically made up of lot's of elevated and curved mountains which.. According to accepted science claims the earth is a lumpy sphere. And that makes a lot of sense to me but I admit I can't prove it one way or the other.

Are you just joking about the cube earth? Lol.. Cause i've joked that the earth is cubed shape before.. But for all I know you might be serious since I don't know you that well.

I was joking. I have no idea what shape earth is.

Seems unlikely that it's "flat". If it was I wouldn't be surprised.

If earth was flat that would mean it was kept a secret for whatever reason. It would mean people were being lied to. Nothing new. People are always being lied to. So the shape is irrelevant.

Flat earth does not mean that we do not have hills or mountains. what it is meaning, is that the roundness that is not there. imagine a basket ball it is how the earth is, round. then imagine you cut the basket ball and flatten it out. that is what flat earther's are talking about.

Whether globe or plane or cube or rhombus these mountains etc are all PART of the earth, not A PART from the earth. According to your definition a tree or bush or house would disqualify any claim of any flatness. Also you seem to be fixated on the totality of the earth being the surface. If the earth is a globe then the majority of the earth is, ready, solid rock: 25k mile circumference, 8k mile diameter. That's a LOT of solid rock. But there's even more: isn't the sky also part of the earth? Why it sure is! Now conveniently there's no coherent definition of exactly where the sky (which remember is as much a PART OF the earth as the freaking core) ends and 'outer space' supposedly begins. But that notwithstanding what the earth is is EVERYTHING that it is. The tree is a part of the earth just as much as the mountain or flower or beetle or you or I. We are not somehow separate from the earth.

I do think the flat earth theory is retarded, but when they say flat they don't mean perfectly flat. They just mean the earth isn't a sphere.

Fair enough. I try to stay open minded, though I admit.. I think it's unlikely what flat earthers claim, sometimes they bring up interesting things.. Though.. Ultimately unless someone has been up in space themselves, it's hard to say.. We are at some level limited to what images are given to us by the few who have been to space. I just.. based on all other logic and everything it makes more sense to me that the earth is probably a lumpy sphere as described by accepted science. Not a perfect sphere, but lumpy, partly because of all the mountains I mentioned in the OP.

Another point I haven't seen is, the moon is actually round and we see that everyday. I mean it's not a strong argument but if the moon isn't flat, why would the earth be?

I've seen that point made before and it's a good point, it's not just the moon, but virtually all planets and stars that we can see with our telescopes. Perhaps the only exception I can think of in terms of objects with mass in space are asteroids/meteors but they still kinda clump together is spherical type objects. Even if they aren't perfect spheres they are kinda clumping together.. I don't think the earth is a perfect sphere either, I think it's a "lumpy" sphere and that's what modern science says as well. But I admit I could be wrong, I don't pretend to know everything or be right about everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45