❤🌈 Supporting an LGBT Friendly Workplace 🌈❤

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

Can you imagine how dull and dreary life would be without colors? I cannot even start to. This is the same way I feel when I start to imagine not having the fabulous people in my team who are proud members of the LGBT community.

Without colors it would be confusing, disorienting and depressing. Just like in watching a black and white film, life would be silent. Colors bring us euphoria. It's the beauty of God's mind. We see it in the browns of the earth, the fresh white and blues of the ocean, the grays of the slope of the mountains, the greens of the rice fields. We see it in every sunrise, sunset, flowers in spring bloom of reds, oranges and purples are all music to the eyes. The list goes on and on.

LGBT.jpg

In my team, we value diversity. We are a band of colors formed from a beam of light that breaks silence, the band encompasses acceptance and respect. Our spectrum signifies understanding that each individual is unique. These can be along the dimensions of race, gender, ethnicity, economic status, sexual orientation, age, religious beliefs, political denominations, physical abilities or other ideologies.

"It is about embracing each other and moving beyond simple tolerance to elevating and celebrating the rich elements of diversity contained within each individual." - Definition of diversity from Queensborough Community College

Senior management needs to be always at the forefront of developing and maintaining an environment where diversity can thrive, and individuals regardless of preference can grow and develop. There are plenty of ways to do this, the easiest and most popular way is writing a memo prohibiting derogatory and discriminatory comments. The extent of its effectiveness however is often left at how many people in the organization will read the memo, out of the ones who did read - how many did understand, and how many variations of interpretation of the memo can there be. These restrictive kind of memos often tell people what not to do, and what not to say. We know that restrictions result to little or no good, either people ignore them outright, or they do exactly the opposite when nobody's watching. So once in a while I go all out, and sponsor events that let my staff see that I accept and embrace our individual differences in a way that not a lot of my peers are willing to do. Yours truly is in the photo on top wearing @dandalion's floral shirt (left), the guy on the (right) wearing a red dress is a respected team manager, the lady in the middle is our make up artist.

In the photo below, I play (Pia Horseback Ridding in Tandem) wearing the blue long gown, my daughter's name written in alibata can be seen in my left arm. In the photo I am with Operation Managers, and Team Managers from my extended team. The photos to each side of that photo are amazingly talented and beautiful associates who are flaunting their gayness.

Diversity 5.jpg

I already demand for great performance, I have absolutely no right to ask for my staff to be someone else they are not. I posed in this photo from a Sta. Cruzan event where members of the LGBT community from my team were featured.

Please know that I am not advocating homosexuality in this post. In fact I firmly believe that we need to exert all effort to keep enough heterosexual relationships for our specie to survive. What I am promoting is acceptance of the humans behind the lesbians, gays, bisexuals, and transgenders who've already made the difficult decision to be themselves.

I want to thank my unbelievable team in supporting me on this subject, in community service, in charitable work, and in business excellence. You might come across some of them here in the coming days.

Diversity 8.jpg

Credits:

Cover Photo Background

steemitph.jpg

Sort:  

Youre amazing Red! Another inspiring post.
Ps. You look great in a dress!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steemitph from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I do not believe in the God of theology who rewards good and punishes evil.

- Albert Einstein

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@steemitph I have gay friends and I really love them. They give color to my life and they're super fun to be with. They deserve to be respected and be treated equally as a human. ❤

eyahhh love it! rock n roll!
Love 'em too:) boring kung wala sila:)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @steemitph to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

What an awesome leader you are @steemitph, to be participating in these activities. And may I say the floral blue shirt suit you well.

I liked the blue gown better. Not afraid to look silly, my staff love it. I think it balances the fact that I can turn to a monster sometimes

Monster! That I'm having a hard time envisioning lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71