Corporate holiday spirit

in #philippines6 years ago

11-30-08.10.07.png

They say Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year, even in a corporate life. For more than a decade, I have been having fun with my former colleagues this time of the year, from exchange gifts within our small team, departmental program and grand balls for the whole company.

This year however is my third year in a row that I will be missing corporate Christmas party. The other year, I was out of corporate world for the second half of 2016. Last year, I was bed ridden when our corporate Christmas party was held. I even thought I needed to bring myself to the hospital back then. This year, I am here enjoying the comfort of home in the province.

November 30, Friday, is a holiday in our country so that gives us a long weekend and an opportunity for me to go home to the province. With that, I have booked my round-trip tickets for going home on weekends of November 30 and right before Christmas. A week after my booking, the announcement came out from our admin: tentative options for Christmas party is either December 1 or 23. Boom! I won't be available on both dates because I will be home in the province.

I gave my feedback that I can not make it on either date. They tried to adjust but with the very short time left, they can no longer find a good venue. They finally picked the evening of December 2. My booked trip back to Manila on that day is in the afternoon. I tried to rebook for earlier trip so I can catch up for the party at night but all trips on that day are fully booked. I can't really make it to the party.

We have exchange gifts and I already picked a name so I had this prepared a week earlier. I entrusted my gift to our admin that they hand it on my behalf during the party.

PicsArt_11-30-09.22.10.jpg

The party is of bohemian theme and each team will have their own presentation. I heard I was supposed to be listed as one of the judges. I am also excited and curious of which of the spot prizes I should be picking and taking home from the spot prizes. I can only imagine the fun and wish I am with them.

I just joined the company last November 6. The Christmas party should be a great venue for me to mingle, blend and bond with them. A few of my colleagues were teasing me that I should join even at least through Skype. What a brilliant idea! I will be in a party while in a running bus!

But then, there is no place like home. The last time I went home was a month ago and it will be too long to wait until the Christmas break. It is worth all the party miss and long hours of trip coming home to this refreshing view.

PicsArt_120203.35.24.jpg

And this spot...

PicsArt_120102.45.31.jpg

When this scheduled post goes out, my colleagues may be wrapping up the party while I just got back home in Manila at close to midnight.

And since I will not have photos of the party, let me post one from the last party I had back in 2015. The grand ball was themed "Sparkle: A holiday soiree." It feels good having this reminder from Facebook after how many years. While we stay in touch on social media from time to time, I can not help but wonder how busy we have been in our own ventures.
FB_IMG_1543583083201.jpg

20181201_145744.png


Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.


Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

¡Hola @macoolette! No hay nada mas agradable que reunirse con la familia, despues de unos largos dias de separacion, no importan la fiestas, ya vendran otras, cariños y besos para toda la familia.

Indeed, family comes first and there will be other opportunities for parties. Thank you Celina! 😊

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Howdy today macoolette! I hope you are enjoying your holiday break at home! Were you able to catch any of the party on skype? you must be one of the few who don't live in the area of your company's location, where are they located?

It is always good to ne home. And as one of my former managers said, "vacation is always good and never enough." 😊

Party on Skype! You really think I'll join while still on the running bus? Unfortunately no, I was dozing off during that time. 😃 I asked my colleagues how the party went and they were saying they went home lacking. They wanted more. That tells me it was really fun!

I am living here in Manila for my work while my family is in the province (a state to your term) about 6-8 hours travel by land from Manila.

Howdy again macoolette! So you had to miss the party again but getting home is worth it! By home you mean your parent's house? And you rent a place in Manila?

Home is my house where my mother and other relatives are. Yes, I am renting a place in Manila. 😊

This post received an upvote with x2.5bid.
Follow @haccolong to get randomly free upvote every day.
Thanks for using the service and your waiting @team-ccc !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44