STUNNING EL NIDO PALAWAN, PHILIPPINES + VIDEO BLOG - HOW STEEMIT HELPED ME DURING MY TRAVEL?

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

DSC04901.jpg

Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer - unknown author

Hello itinerants all over the world and steemit community!

Here I am again to my "travel with me" travel blog series. I am very excited to share to all of you this wonderful creation that would really take your breath away. Palawan is an archipelago of almost 1,800 islands situated on the western part of the Philippines. EL NIDO was included in Trip Advisor’s Travellers’ choice awards for Destinations on the Rise. Truly to be the Philippines' last frontier. It is famous for magnificent and unspoiled beaches and rock formations which make it a natural heavenly paradise. It's also famous for being an archipelagic area which comprised by series of islets but the most sparsely populated region in the country and well-maintained natural oceanic resources. It is one of the most visited local and international tourist in the Philippines for having unique and enriching experiences amidst the beautiful natural landscapes. For sure you'll run out of words to describe how blessed this island municipality for being perfect at its best.
I am very excited to share with you guys this wonderful experience of mine only here in this world class tourist destination in the Philippines, El Nido Palawan, Philippines.

HOW TO GET THERE?

There are actually two ways to get to El Nido. You can book a flight going to Puerto Princesa, Palawan or directly to El Nido. In my case, I flew from Cebu City to Puerto because I was processing some documents and so happened that I have a friend who's staying and is currently volunteering in one of the hostels there. Aside from it's cheaper, it would be more exciting if I can travel into different places and meet more people. From Cebu City, it takes 1 hour and 35 minutes to reach Puerto Princesa.

12743778_1587445404912731_8291144034128999733_n.jpg

Palawan never runs out of exciting places and foods to wonder. When you choose Palawan to be your destination it's like you are hitting many birds in one stone. It overflows natural wonders, topped with good food, cleanliness of the place, and friendly, disciplined people. The best part, the tourism industry here is so organized that exploring is never a problem even if it’s your first time to set foot on this unique paradise. It is best to recommend to stay in Puerto Princesa for a couple of days before going to El Nido.

WHERE TO STAY IN PUERTO PRINCESA?

1.) DE LORO INN & RESTAURANT

12963671_1153712254648742_6881591029333757083_n.jpg

I have been here twice but the first time I stayed here was at De Loro hotel. It was not totally planned for we only had limited time to prepare our itineraries so we just had to avail for the agency tour packages near the airport. We arrived there late afternoon so we needed to look for the nearest and most convenient hotel. We're supposed to look for hostels or transients so that we can save money on our trip but because we didn't have enough time aside it would really take time, it would also hassle to look for a place at night. The room is actually nice however it's quite a bit expensive compared to any other hotels in the area. As far as I remember it costs 600 pesos(11.584 US Dollar) per night per head. As much as we wanted to look for an affordable one but we were just hundred percent dead tired that time so we just grabbed it.

2.) BAMBOO HOSTEL

bamboo.jpg

BAMBOO HOSTEL BLOG HERE!

In my second time here in Puerto Princesa, I was just fortunate because my friend who works as a volunteer there referred me this. The vibe that the places gives is very pleasant to my sensations. You can only hear the chirping of the birds, swinging of the trees, cool and gentle gasps of the wind and of course seeing the beautiful view of tall trees and bamboo quarters. This is truly a place that worth your vacation. As for them, Bamboo Hostel offers travelers to take “vacation from their vacation,” with a relaxing escape from the usual noise and bustle of hostel life.

WHAT TO EAT IN PUERTO PRINCESA?

1.) CROCODILE SISIG

DSC05075.JPG
Here in the Philippines, it's very common the usage of crocodile skin in production of luxury leather goods but not as a special cuisine. This is a must try food in Palawan. This mouth-watering and sizzling crocodile sisig would truly give a food to remember for a lifetime. Most of the native restaurants and bars in Palawan have this on the menu so there's no reason for you not to find one. It costs from 150.00 - 200 pesos (3.00 - 4.00 US Dollar) a serving good for 3-4 people already.

2.) TAMILOK

DSC05072.JPG

Tamilok is a shipworm and best when served raw with vinegar. It is super slimy and soft. To finally have ordered this, I told my self that there's no turning back because I traveled almost an hour and a half from Cebu to Puerto Princesa to try this. To be honest, it looks really weird and disgusting so I highly suggest if you wanna try this don't look at it any longer eat it right away and soak it with vinegar. I want to commend their vinegar because it really tastes good it overrides the disgusting and slimy texture of tamilok as it goes to your throat and stomach. WOULD YOU DARE TO EAT TAMILOK? (PALAWAN'S MOST BIZARRE AND EXOTIC FOOD) - Puerto Princesa Palawan, Philippines BLOG HERE

3.) Grilled Chicken with Unlimited Rice.

DSC04793.JPG

This grilled chicken with unlimited rice is Filipino's "all time favorite". Wherever you go in the Philippines you can really find restaurants which offer this on their menu. What's special about this is that without any sauce, it already tastes a mixture of sweet, soury and salty. They really cook it well to make the chicken skin crisps and to tender the meat.

WHERE TO EAT IN PUERTO?

1.) UGONG ROCK

DSC05069.JPG

DSC05078.JPG

DSC05071.JPG

Ugong rock restaurant and grill bar is located at Rizal Avenue, Puerto Princesa, Palawan. It is only 15-20 minutes away from the new airport. They offer reasonably good and authentic exotic food. I can say that I had a food and nice dining experience but definitely not the best by far.

2.) KINABUCH'S

DSC04810.JPG

DSC04812.JPG

DSC04813.JPG

Kinabuchi is also lcoated along the Rizal Avenue road, Puerto Princesa. The same as any other native restaurants and grill bars in the area, they also offer "crocodile sisig" and "tamilok" as one of their best sellers. Personally, I've liked the place better than any others because they actually have something on their kitchen style and ambiance which really they gave effort to make the ambiance looks nice and well-maintained. The staffs were also helpful and accommodating.

3.) BALINSASAYAW

DSC04787.JPG

DSC04795.JPG

DSC04791.JPG

Balinsasayaw is great local restaurant which gives you a provincial feels. Its nipa huts and cottages make an excellent dining experience. I just feel very comfortable at this place because it's so Filipino style like very simple but unique. Unlike other restaurants mentioned, the restaurant does not offer "tamilok" and "crocodile sisig" but leaves you full with their grilled chicken and seafood plus the unlimited rice. One bad thing I can say is that their service is not that effective due to the place is quite huge where the nipa huts are a cottage away from each other so it's kind of hassle to get their attention whenever you want something. But overall, I am satisfied and definitely will go back to try their tasty grilled chicken.

4.) K'na BOYET'S sa Baywok

12795327_1124776624208972_9172404836465347806_n.jpg

If you are looking for a refreshing kind of dining experience, you may wanna try this resto located at Baywalk, Puerto Princesa. It's an open restaurants where there are stalls offering meat and fresh seafood ready to grill. There are many p eople at night for along the baywalk there are also various eateries and live bands. It's definitely nice to visit at night. We ordered their sizzling crocodile sisig and freshly cooked seafood. It's very cozy to spend the night in front of the bay and feel the sea breeze at night.

THINGS TO DO IN PUERTO PRINCESA

555.jpg

I can definitely say that you'll never run out of things to do in Puerto. I best recommend to at least stay in the place for four days so that you can enjoy and visit its most visited tourists destinations to the fullest. In my case I have been here twice and it just so happened that I have stayed only for 3 days maximum because I still had something else and important things to do and I don't feel like staying long because I might run out of funds. Despite of everything, I was able to enjoy and seize my stay in Puerto with the help of tour packages and exploring the city with the locals.

1.) Underground River

12790965_1123796074307027_4377988517020922360_n.jpg

The famous Puerto Princesa Underground River is one major tourist attraction in Palawan. In our case since we only stayed for 2 days and 1 night we just decided to take the hotel & tour package to maximize our time. If you have enough time you can just book cheapest rooms and go directly to the underground river booking office, From Puerto Princesa Airport, ride a tricycle to Underground River Booking Office. Don't forget this step, you can't just show up in Sabang as they limit tourists to about 600 per day. For us, the agency just in coordination with the hotel that we booked just arranged everything going to the river. You may wanna ready my blog about PUERTO PRINCESA PALAWAN, PHILIPPINES! (UNDERGROUND RIVER)

2.) BAKER'S HILL

12524326_1124773884209246_5271540949714001628_n.jpg

Baker's hill is just a tricycle away from the city proper. If your are not grabbing the city tour which costs roughly 500-600 (almost $10.00) pesos whole day you can just commute going there for only 60 pesos..( $1.17 ) The place is truly a wonderland. You may wanna bring your younger brothers, sisters and nephews for they surely will love the place. If you wanna chill and eat pastries or pizzas you can dine in the restaurant. They serve reasonably delicious foods. You may wanna read my blog about this PUERTO PRINCESA PALAWAN (BAKER'S HILL)

3.) Palawan Wildlife Rescue and Conservation Center

12985461_1153699137983387_7591269185575170881_n.jpg

Palawan Wildlife Rescue and Conservation Center is also known as the Crocodile Nature Park. It takes about 30 minutes from the City proper. It's been part of the City tour the tricycle driver has offered. You can see a lot of alive and preserved crocodile structures. They also have a booth where you can actually hold and carry the baby crocodiles and have photos taken.

4.) MITRA'S RANCH

12994434_1153699961316638_3280109535403378894_n.jpg

It's also part of the City tour and just few minutes away from the baker's hill. It is located in Sta. Monica Heights Puerto Princesa City. It's famous for being so calm and can definitely enjoy this picturesque mountain view while having a picnic with your loved ones. You can also see horses around the area. They also have a zipline spot here but unfortunately did not try it because we were running out of time but not sure if they still operate now.

5.) COOL SOUVENIR SHOPS

DSC05039.JPG

It's part of the tradition for Filipinos to buy "pasalubong" or "souvenirs" in every trip that we have to bring back home. I am not fond of collecting souvenirs but I give them to my friends and relatives. Most people termed this as "“bring home something for me.” which is indeed accurate. It is important not just for travelers but also for the tourism of the community. In most provinces it's one of their ways of living. You may wanna read my blog about WHERE TO BUY COOL TRADITIONAL AND CULTURAL PASALUBONG (SOUVENIRS) IN PALAWAN? - Puerto Princesa Palawan, Philippines.

HOW TO GO TO EL NIDO FROM PUERTO PRINCESA PALAWAN?

Just so you know, El Nido is just in the North Part of Palawan. If you like you can actually visit and enjoy El Nido first and have Puerto Princesa explored right after because for sure you'll definitely want to stay longer in El Nido because it's just such a paradise. In my case, as I mentioned I had something else and important things to do so decided just to make use of the time I was staying at Puerto to roam around. It takes 4 h 1 min (230.5 km) via Puerto Princesa North Road. For less hassle, you can just coordinate with your hostel staff for them to arrange your transfer to El Nido.

WHERE I STAYED IN EL NIDO?

DSC04962.JPG

With the help of my friend from Puerto, I initially booked Clifftower Apartelle before I took the transfer. It's very important to book a place to stay in El Nido because aside from most hostels are fully booked due to many tourists, you'll also arrive there late because it took 4-6 hours by van. Along my solo trip, luckily I was able to make friends and met two friendly people from Manila during the Island Hoping tour in El Nido. It was also their first time in the place, luckily we had same humor and interests so they invited me to stay at their hostel. This is one of the perks of traveling solo becase you'll expand your horizons and definitely meet new friends. We stayed at TAPIK BEACH HOUSE. I will make a separate blog about tapik. You may wanna read this article of mine ALLURING REMOTE BEACH RESORTS- El Nido Palawan, Philippines

WHAT TO DO IN EL NIDO PALAWAN?

The main tourist attraction in El Nido Palawan is that their naturally stunning crystal clear lagoons, beaches and a lot of water activities. If you are a beach bum, this place is for you. El Nido offers variety of tour packages such as tours A, B and C. What I chose was tour A for as much as I wanted to try all of the tours I only had limited time to spare in the place. I truly enjoyed the place and activities I had anyways.

1.) KAYAKING AT THE LAGOON

22279559_353561155096972_2946321898393003645_n.jpg

The water just makes me thirsty every time. The place has freed my anxiousness and lightens every shadows the sun makes. You can swim and snorkel in this azure blue water all day long but be sure to protect your skin with sun screen. The kayak costs 250-300 pesos but already good for two. But trust me, you can actually go by three to save money and more fun. Just know your balance.

21751425_1639273912759238_8925757455568416494_n.jpg

DSC04907.JPG

2.) SNORKELING

G0639619.JPG

G0639625.JPG

GOPR9615.JPG

This is the activity that everyone shouldn't miss in El Nido! I am very amazed how El Nido maintains the not just the islands' natural beauty but also the marine wildlife underneath. The government is very strict on implementing rules and regulations protecting its natural resources. This is the best thing I have ever seen in my life, I feel untroubled seeing these wonderful creatures and creations that God has ever created. Look at these school of fish which are very colorful they are just vitamins to the eyes.

3.) Island Hopping

22555312_1670517096301586_3140627564988091497_n.jpg

DSC04930.JPG

DSC04866.JPG

21686350_1639273992759230_1677980294740742799_n.jpg

DSC04868.JPG

Most of El Nido's tours are island hopping. If you find these beaches wonderful enough, they actually still have a lot of most visited paradises which are applicable to the other tour types. I regret to say that wasn't able to try their TOUR C package but for sure I'm gonna try those next time around.By the way this is the 7 COMMANDO BEACH - El Nido Palawan, Philippines. It is named after the commandos who lived in the Island way back then. It is only one of the naturally untouched islands in El Nido. It obviously flaunts its super crystal clear water and powdery white sands plus the mixed cool breeze of the ocean and coconut trees. Certainly, a place that every beach bum is ever dreaming of.

4.) CAVING

21558699_1639274082759221_3129676253286964893_n.jpg

21558655_1639274096092553_1654776527195050639_n.jpg

Aside from El Nido's crystal clear water, also what makes it stunning is that its huge natural rock formations. El Nido will never be El Nido without these awesome picturesque views of gigantic rocks.

HOW STEEMIT HELPED ME DURING MY TRAVEL?

STEEMITELDNIDOCASHOUT.jpg

Prior to visiting El Nido, I went back in our hometown in Surigao City to celebrate fest with my family. Of course, since it's it was a celebration I gave my parents money as a contribution in the preparation of the foods. Just so you know, I just go back in our hometown may twice or thrice a year so when I get back there I see to it I can spare something to my parents, siblings and relatives. Unknowingly, I spent my supposed to be pocket money going to El Nido so I was thinking just to forfeit my trip. When I checked my steemit account, there was enough rewards in my wallet. So I decided to cash that out. Shoutout to @blocktrades for being user-friendly, fast and reliable transactions. I am really blessed to have steemit cause most of the times it's a life saving tool for everyone. I haven't written much articles these past few days for I got busy processing something. I am just so glad, I'm able to spare much time today and thought of sharing my trip to Palawan. I hope that I have imparted something to those who aspire to visit this place someday.

PLEASE WATCH MY VIDEO BLOG IN PALAWAN AND SUBSCRIBE TO MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL!

Since I love to meet people and learn different culture so I am more than glad to entertain your questions and comments on my posts. My principle in life is just do whatever makes you happy. You only live once why not just make things happen then? I hope to see you guys on the comments so that I'll be aware of the people whom I need thank to. Just keep calm and read my blogs. For inquiries please feel free to email: mickey.diezz@gmail. I'll be more than glad to interact with you.

1111.jpg
DQmedR7jgfoC762eESrURXba83ZMp6PbXGL6g2ZeNnzpjBW.png

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 38.0% @coral-reef upgoat, thanks to @itinerantph
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @itinerantph to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Amazing Philippines.

Mabuhay! Your post has been upvoted and resteemed by the @bayanihan curation team.

Hi @itinerantph ! Awesome blog! Tapik Beach House looks really good! I'll definitely take note of that resort. I'm planning to go back to El Nido and that beach house seems like a really good place to stay. Thank you by the way for being really helpful during the Cebu Meetup. I really learned a lot from you. It took me a while to make an account. But I'm finally here! Thanks to you guys. It was fun reading your post. Steem On! :)

At last, I found you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64103.87
ETH 2762.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65