Your body is a wonderland

in #philippines6 years ago

Pun intended on the title everyone. lols

A lot of women had been and is still a victim of body shaming. I am not a stranger to this. I have been obsessed with different weight loss products and diet schemes and such since I was in high school because I thought being beautiful means I have to have flat stomach, be able to wear a size 0 and have thigh gaps.

The media and its other forms always tells us that in order to be beautiful and sexy and admirable you have to look like this and that and no wonder why business is always blooming at weight loss products or healthy shiz. It's not bad to desire to be healthier but to be obsessed by different products that "says" they will help you achieve your body goals is a different story.

In lieu to our advocacy as Onelife women, we did a pilates class yesterday that celebrates women of all body shapes and sizes and I think this is essential to a harmonious society. Ever tell yourself you'll only wear a sports bra while working out when you already have that abs you dreamed of? I've always been thinking about that too. I'll wear a nice swim suit when I'm this size, etc. But our coach Katz (wearing white nike sports bra) told us that it's better to wear sports bra while working out so you are aware of how your body responds during every workout. That we all have equal rights in wearing one and not only those who have abs or flat tummy. I was greatly inspired by this.

Even if you have a flat tummy or a bloated one (like me! hihihi) I hope you do accept your body as it is and love it and not let society dictates how you feel about yourself. Remember that being sexy now is not just your body shape and size but is also a matter of an attitude. What matters most is not the size of your waistline or your bust size but more on the character that you exhibit on a daily basis. I greatly believe that a positive aura is much more desirable than any other physique :)

Share me your stories too! :)

viber image.jpg
left to right - Trish, Adele, Me, Katz, Anj and Charmz. All part of Onelife Women.

Sort:  

Yes, body shaming is common nowadays. Glad to know you have that kind of advocacy. One of my advocacies, too, is similar to that. It’s SheTalksAsia’s The Body Love Revolution. Also, I’m involved in another advocacy on Fitness called Fitness Shifu wherein Ms. @janicehung shares the workout routines she designed for people who want to love themselves through having a healthier and fit body.

Hi Claire! Followed you and Ms. Janice :) We women should really join forces in creating a better world for us to live in <3 Let's do pilates some time ^_^

That's right, beauty is inside and that is how it is transmitted. Beautiful all of you.
@teardrops SMT imaginary of @surpassinggoogle has sent you a tear of joy.
We mention you here

A Tear Now Has Value #10

Thanks so much! Appreciate it! ❤️💙xoxo

Wow!

I'm speechless

Thanks Desmond! :)

The media has no idea what beauty is, because it's in the eyes of the beholder. They want you to be miserable so you keep buying their silly products; magazines, diet supplements, fashion, cosmetics... It's all false. Beauty comes from truly happy and healthy people, that is all. If you want make yourself as beautiful as possible, learn to love yourself as much as you can and try to be as healthy as you can through diet, sleep and community. I loved this post, and commend with your journey, don't give up!

Thank you so much! Fills my heart with joy! That’s exactly my point too. We are always mislead by commercials and comparing our lives with others but yes we really just have to love ourselves for what it is and we can strive to be better without the pressure of fitting in to society’s false expectations.

hello beautiful ladies you all look really gorgeous.

Hello there dear thank you so much! Appreciate it. :)

Beauty has so many forms, and I think the most beautiful thing is confidence and loving yourself.
-Kiesza

I think you are all beautiful, wonderful and gorgeous ladies. Keep it up!

Thank you so much Jerome! :) Wonderful quote you included in there :) More power <3

Stay beautiful, ladies.

You too dearie!!!

I want to go to this class 😂

You are very much welcome ;) hahahaha. Join us

That class would probably be worth the flight. Beautiful girls & exercise puts a big smile on my face 😃

P.S. the girl in the middle with the toe socks is the cutest 😍

Oh wow. Hahahaha. Thank you dearie! It is worth the flight. Hahahaha. We’ll show you around

I could really use an exercise vacation & have always wanted to go to the phillipines. Would definitely be worth it, & I would do it!

Always remember u have a friend here in the Philippines. It’s summer here tho btw :)

Definitely have to wait till it cools off! I actually watched a bunch of expat videos filmed in makati recently & looks like a really nice, clean, & fun city. That combined with your posts makes me think it would be a great place to visit or live 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87