A Shaggy Monster in Da House: Why We All Need Pets

in #pets8 years ago

“The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog.”
― Mark Twain (from goodreads)

I had two hamsters and two parrots, when I was much younger and yet lived with the parents, lots of cats and dogs while I lived with my grandparents (not to mention they had a horse, cows, pigs, chickens, turkeys, ducks, geese, and even rabbits). For some time in my life I was a shepherd, a cowboy, a veterinary, you name it. I love all these cute animals since my childhood.

No doubt that animals, or rather pets among other benefits make us happier. Many studies that you will be able to find in the internet assert that pets also:

  • alleviate allergies and boost immune function;
  • making you more healthy overall, simply because you’ll need to do more exercises each day;
  • help controlling blood pressure, while reducing cholesterol and triglyceride (!) levels;
  • reduce stress and anxiety;
  • make you live much longer;
  • improve social skills of kids.

In this regard, I also strongly believe that the dogs are the best friends of a man. That’s a rare (or rather unique?) case when money can buy you a friend. I really don’t know of any other animal that would be so loyal to their owner.

It’s so unfortunate that I cannot afford to keep a dog in my apartment, though my girls want a dog so much. The problem that we are out all the time except Sundays, and it would be too cruel to leave a poor puppy alone for the whole day. Yet, when my daughter grew up It was clear to me that she needs a pet. I know for sure that when kids have a pet they grow up being much more “human” and responsible. Since having a pet also improves social skills of children, we’ve been in a constant search of a pet that:

  1. Will suit our lifestyle;
  2. Will not suffer being home alone;
  3. Will be cute as hell.

So, ladies and gentlemen let me introduce you our hamster! It suited all the requirements and cute as hell shaggy monster. Why I keep calling him a monster? While we all love this guy, he is so much noisy in the night! Sometimes I have a feeling that it’s an earthquake happening…
But never mind that, I will just add that it’s a fluffy piece of happiness for my family now and every each day!

Do you have pets?
Would love to read your advices, stories and/or pictures!

Cheers!

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

@richman your hamster's freaking cute!

Do you have pets?

No, but I've been begging for a guinea pig except for I want just one a male one.

and it has to be all white or chess board patterned hahaha

Yep, he is so cute :D
Have you seen this video:

@richman - arrggghhh that's so cute!

@richman, I am so happy to hear about your fondness of animals. That speaks worlds about someone's character. I can't trust people who don't love animals. I don't mean being fanatics, but animals make such wonderful companions and offer so much in return. And I'm right with you regarding dogs. My favorite. I like cats too, but something about the dog and loyalty. They are lower maintenance. I do believe it's important to raise children with pets because it teaches kindness and compassion. What a cute little fluff ball! What's his name? And yeah, hamsters are nocturnal. Ha ha.

Thank you, Johanna!
I really do love animals and consider it pretty much normal.
My best friend in school had two German shepherds, Jacklyn and Sharon. Now good friends have German Shepherd named Kylie. Imo German shepherds are the smartest of all the dogs!
The hamster's name sounds similar to Krum.
Yep, nocturnal and formidable :D

Aw, your hammy is so cute. I have dogs, see my blog for a cuddly story about them! Pets are wonderful.

Your dogs are both cute too :D
Lily looks like a teddy bear actually.
I guess it's much fun to have dogs like that.
One day I will finally buy a big house and a dog, or two :D

We love dogs! There have only been a few years we didn't have one. Right now it's a gentle giant = Great Dane. She's about 8, but still doing well and clings to me whenever I'm home.

Great for you :D Although I'm unable to find any posts about Great Dane in your blog, sorry!
Cheers!

No, I haven't made one yet. There's just one picture of her in one of my gardening posts, but I can't even remember which one. :) I was just sharing.

Oh I see! Thank you for sharing and hope to read more about Dane ;-)
Cheers!

Thank you @richman for posting. So cute...stimulatiing is the word for this bundle of activity.
You have assisted in the thought process regarding a picture for bleujay posts.....a photo of cogs...something conceptual.....now to find them and learn how to post photos. Its thought....motive....decision....action.

Lovely post.....and soooo cute. All the best to you and yours. Cheers.

Thank you!
I would advise a different beautiful and conceptual picture each time ;-)
Posting pictures is extremely easy here. Upload your collection to steemimg.com, copy DIRECT links, and paste them. Voila!

You are too kind. Thank you for your assistance and the details.
Lets see what happens.

You welcome :D
Cheers!

I love this so much! And so lucky to have all those animals around, also have to agree that is one little cute fluffy piece of happiness. upvoted!

Thank you so much!
'Oh, my lovely mouse!!!' told me my wife when checked this post :D

Pets add so much to my quality of life. Agreed <3 Currently we have 1 dog, 2 cats and a bird. I did learn my lesson years ago though...you can have too much of a good thing. I found my limit at 3 dogs, 2 cats, 4 birds, 1 snake, feeder mice for the snake, 2 lizards, feeder crickets for the lizards, and a fish. It was too much for us to maintain well! Things started to die... :/
Great post. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57