Foods that fascinate me

in #pejivalles7 years ago (edited)

Cooking is an indulgence in those little but great details that living in the fast lane seldom allows us. I am a native of Mesoamerica, the land of the people of corn. It was here, amidst dark skins and lush rainforests, that a bunch of seeds, neatly lined up on a cob, in an otherwise sad grassy sampling, and that we call Maíz, was first found. In my mind, there is little out there that can challenge my love for the sweet taste of Maíz, specially when combined with some of the many other native flavors Mesoamerica has to offer. Yet, it is the nutty taste of the "Pejivalle" that takes me back to my childhood and into the arms of comfort food. I cannot say that I know why we call it that, but the word itself and the peculiar way it rolls on my tongue... brings me great pleasure. Someone with a much better command of the english language, proposed that I should properly call it Peach Palm as people in the english world refer to it. However, I refuse to apply such a boring name to such an intricate and versatile fruit that is the Pejivalle.

As far as I know, based on my own research and talking to people who know about these thing...like my grandfather... the Pejivalle was originally found in the areas surrounding the majestic river Amazon. It was there in what most refer to as the largest extension of rainforest in the world, where this palm thrived and where it was first cultivated. I guess that for many of us , trade amongst pre-columbian cultures is a well documented fact, and many a produce traveled in different forms from and to South and North America. All of this of course before peoples with greater intentions came to the land and somehow rearranged the whole thing.

When young, Pejivalle palms also offer the tender tissue found in the center of the stem. As far as I understand, it corresponds to the growing tissue, hence its soft disposition and great texture. It makes for a great addition to salads or in picadillos, even Ceviche in some homes where people are really creative. We call this inner stem Palmito, and again I have been told to call it Heart of Palm, yet somehow Palmito sounds better to me. Be aware that hunting for this tender growing tissue, can lead to an encounter with very unfriendly thorns. Yet, whatever pain that you may need to endure is belittled by the extraordinary flavor found in the flesh of this wonderful neotropical delicatessen.
IMG_3420.jpg
But then again, Pejivalles are individual semi-round and pointy fruits that hang in clusters from a mid size palm. Preparing Pejivalles is not a complicated endeavor. Steam them with some soup bones or, my favorite, add a bit of molasses to the water. That's right, sugar cane molasses. Most of us eat Pejivalles as a side dish, or in salads. In the ages of internet information someone has come up with, what I believe to be, yet the greatest form of its presentation. If once cooked you mix the Pejivalles in a blender in combination with potatoes or yuca, you may be creating a formidable cream that should also have a pinch of Guineo vinegar.

So, my fellow cooks and travelers, if you were to find yourselves around these lands South of Angloamerica, by all means be sure to try not only Pejivalles but all the many different fruits and flavors presented to you.

Ooops sorry... you need to peel the Pejivalles before you proceed to eat them

Buen provecho

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Congratulations @cabetolh! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cabetolh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67