Pet Peeves #2: People Who Try To Get On The Elevator Without Letting Others Off First

in #peeves6 years ago (edited)

ugh.jpg

In my previous pet peeves post, I shared my dislike for people who get their own names tattooed on their bodies. If you'd like (or feel really offended), you can check it out here.

I'm sure many of you guys have your own list of things that annoy you to the point where it becomes almost impossible to keep your cool. Sometimes it just becomes unbearable to see how stupid someone is being, especially when their stupidity starts to affect your life.

While there will always be serious problems in the world that are to be dealt with, these little ones are no less frustrating and sometimes even more than the big ones as they are a part of our daily lives.

Today on my way back home as I was waiting for the elevator, with a couple of other people standing beside me, I realized how much of elevator etiquette are people lacking. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people try to rush in an elevator without letting others off first.

I mean, just how dumb a person can be to not realise that the only way to make room for them to get in, is to let out the people who are already in the elevator. It's like you're trying to get in a bus whilst people are getting off. See how ridiculous that sounds?

Congratulations On Saving Five Seconds

I mean seriously, no person is ever that busy that they can't spare literally five seconds. The worst part is, it's not just with elevators. I've found these kind of people almost everywhere.

From railway stations to bus stops, they are there. Even though sometimes I just feel like screaming at them for being the nuisance they are, I still somehow manage to keep my cool.

Plus, it's not like the elevator will just leave you standing there if you don't enter as quick as possible. Relax dude, you got plenty time. Just let others out first so there's ample space for you to fit your ass.

Why Is It Rude To Point It Out?

If you're causing an inconvenience for the people around you without realizing it, you'd want to know about it, wouldn't you? Then why is it considered rude to point it out that someone else is doing the same?

Surely, if your way of pointing it out was really loud and aggressive, that which caused an even bigger inconvenience, then it might be justified for it being considered rude.

But the other day, I tried telling a person, and I made sure that I was being really polite and respectful, that he doesn't need to rush into the elevator like the way he did. But this triggered something in the guy and he went full Hulk mode on me and started lecturing me on how it's none of my business. I mean, what even the...?

I guess some people never learn, do they?

av4tt0mlsg.png

Continue reading:


Thanks for reading! If you'd like to see more content soon,

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

I feel you. Every single day.


You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.

Thanks for the upvote :)

Ugh yeah, I hate it too. It seems to me that this should be elevator etiquette.

I know it's public transit etiquette to let people off the bus or train first. But here in Charlotte, NC, a lot of people don't even know it.

I know right! It's so annoying.
The bigger problem is when people are aware of the etiquettes but still choose to not follow them because they simply don't care enough to be well-behaved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71