Honor the Troops? Maybe We Should Hold Them Accountable Instead.

in #peace7 years ago

Many are socially okay with condemning war but balk at laying blame at the feet of those who sign up to participate in it. Many of us have been programmed to "honor the troops" by a government which continually needs new inductees to brainwash for what I consider a global mafia.

I'm not a pacifist. I understand how many in the military have good intentions and bad people exist in the world so we have to have mechanism of defensive force (non-government solutions do exist, btw). The U.S. military today goes way beyond that, in my opinion. It is the monopoly of force which defines government, props up the world reserve currency, and destroys things in the name of "U.S. Interests." Stepping back to see the big picture, how can we support those who use violence and indoctrination while justifying it with statistically irrelevant fear mongering such as "the war on terror"?

A common response to this line of thinking is "But what about the Nazis and World War II?"

We live in a different world today. War is no longer honored as a virtuous activity as it was leading up to WWI and even into WWII. Violent competition does not increase wellbeing compared to cooperation. We're now globally connected. We are evolving as a species, and it's time our words and actions reflect our values. War, and those who enthusiastically participate in it, should not be honored. Those stuck in that meat grinder machine (or who are considering entering it) should be rehabilitated with love and compassion. Some might even argue they should be shamed.

In sharing my opinion, I don't intend to label, shame, or attack any specific individual based on their group/tribal membership. I view tribalism as our shared enemy. Many wonderful, honorable, moral people work professionally in the armed forces. Their daily actions define their character, but they also can't be completely excused (from my perspective) for supporting and participating in such an organization.

They call it "serving" in the military, but I see that as a story told to recruits as they are indoctrinated via bootcamp brainwashing. Reformatting human minds is part of what they do to turn a human being into property of the United States government.

I'm not okay with this.

I'm also not an isolationist. I don't think non-intervention is automatically the same thing. I don't believe the narrative that "we" (please, let's all stop using that word in this context) are a "global force for good." From my perspective, the reality is closer to this military being involved in other countries for U.S. Interests which include power, money, and influence. If a country is experiencing a bloody civil war or genocide, this government isn't all that motivated to get involved unless there's an upside for themselves. From what I see, it's not about compassion. The recent $100B arms deal with Saudi Arabianot exactly a free country nor does it respect human rights — is just one of many examples showing the true nature of the military industrial complex.

Often people (rightly) point out how the U.S. government and military is better than many others. They don't purposefully target civilians (for the most part) and at least pay lip service to the democratic process within this constitutional republic. Fair point indeed, but when will we recognize how similar this is to comparing and contrasting various mafia families to evaluate which one runs the most beneficial protection racket?

At what point do we move beyond violence and try more effective tools like non-violent communication? Often, those who think violence is the only answer haven't heard Marshall Rosenberg describe it as a tragic expression of an unmet need. Watch some of his videos on YouTube before you disregard it. His techniques have stopped violent conflicts which have been raging for generations.

For a broader perspective, give War is a Racket a read. Major General Smedley Butler was, during his time, the most highly decorated Marine ever. His perspective is important for us all to understand. Or maybe spend some time with this visualization of the estimated 3,341 people killed in Pakistan via Drone Strikes since 2004, only 2% considered "high-profile" with the rest being civilians, children, and alleged combatants. That's just one country among many. Sure, the total numbers are disputed, but drone attacks are just one angle. There are also economic sanctions, strategic blockades, and projects like the F-35 wasting over $1.5 trillion.

I know this is a complicated, emotional topic and some will say I'm painting with too broad a brush while oversimplifying global and national dynamics. That may be so. I've never personally been in the military. I've had a number of discussions, but I can't possibly know just what it's like. Does that mean I have no basis for arguing we should not honor those who think it's virtuous to be part of an organization which massively wastes resources while killing other human beings?

I don't think so.

I think talking about this openly might be one of the most important things we can do to help change the world for the better. Can you imagine if people around the world started encouraging their loved ones to quit the military and start a business or get a job which directly benefits others and doesn't pay them with money extorted from citizens?

I'm open to constructive criticism and dialogue here. These are my current opinions, and they are flexible if countered with good evidence-based arguments. That said, if your emotional response is too strong to reasonably consider my views, the programming may go deeper than you realize.

All images under CC0 Public Domain via Pixabay


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

The army is a government program for accommodating psychopaths.

I don't think so.

I'd love to think so, because I abhor both government, and the concept of a military.

But I think there's too much brainwashing at play to just assume that every person who joins up is a psychopath.

Here's the one piece of proof that will change your mind:

The USA military goes to schools, and tells children who are below 21 about how great it is to serve in the military.

I do not see chefs, engineers, scientists, waiters, waste-disposal people, or janitors coming to school to speak in front of a class on why you should consider being a waiter or scientist, or whatever else.

The only group of people that had a special time in front of an unrelated class was the military.

They do this to American children. Military officials go into government run schools and directly brainwash the young children there into joining up, using sly language like "duty" and "honor" and "sacrifice". They trick children into learning to kill, and only then do they become psychopaths.

The children are too young to be evil or psychopathic. They are just children who, if taught proper kindness, love, respect, hard work, civil duty, and how to think deeply, would happily do so. They only turn into monsters when they're taught that murder is justice, and that oppression is righteous.

Mental disorder is build up from the environment. I write about this in my posts extensively. It is not something inherently brought by DNA (only rare cases) bur rather something socially constructed.

If you mean the sorts of mental issues that are very very common in modern society, like depression, anxiety, shyness, faith, obedience, or ignorance, I'm with you completely.

Well ofcource. Even psychopathy stems from basic depression and anxiety. Existential dread and disassociation with one's environment can lead to schizophrenia. I would recommend you read Becker's - The Denial of Death.

Seems that way to me at times.

This is an excellent post... about a topic I believe we should be paying far more attention to... under the greater story arc of "How DO we create a better world for us all to live in?

So going to resteem this for visibility. I agree with @tarazkp, this IS what should be on the Trending page.

In some sense, I may always have been a pacifist of sorts... it feels like an inherent part of my core sense of self that I just can't wrap myself around the need to "problem solve" through violence rather than through dialogue. And that means anything from people who'd rather punch someone in the nose than talk to them... to outright war.

To wrap a little frame of reference around my early leanings... already at age 14 I was already 6'3" and near 200lbs and an athlete, so I wasn't some "skinny little nerd" who got picked on.

I have always thought war to be a stupid waste of life. Even as an idealistic 16-year old I felt that those "stooopid politicians" who wanted wars and sent innocent young men into harm's way should be forced to fight their own battles in hand-to-hand combat in cage matches. YOU wanted this dispute... YOU be front and center, seeing the whites of your adversary's eyes. Of course, it's a naive perspective as we had just as many wars when kings rode into battle at the HEAD of their armies.

Perhaps the most moving and profoundly sad experience I have ever had was visiting the American Cemetery in Normandy, France... and looking out across a field of white crosses so vast the mind boggles; we "honor" their sacrifice and yet, I was never able to detach myself from the thought of what might have happened had none of these individuals agreed to fight, in service of someone else's political ideas and agendas? Who would Hitler have been, had nobody been willing to fight?

Anyway, I have also long been intrigued by NVC and how it might be used to address many of the issues in the world. Of course, many voices rise and say "Oh, that would never work!" going back to the same old pattern of "I'd rather whack someone in the head with a piece of 2x4 than talk to them." When I read the NVC book (2003-ish?) it opened new doors of possibilty.

The challenge/difficulty in implementing what you're suggesting is that those who end up in (or choose) the are also more likely to be those who like structure, rigidity, knownness... and are more likely to accept "just taking orders" as an acceptable thing. The armed forces are hardly likely to be the hotbed of freethinking activists. I don't say that to let anyone "off the hook," just adding it as an observation.

And so, we return to this mysterious part of the human condition, this "need(?)" to unite behind some cause that seemingly requires us to silence, squash or even terminate anyone who does not stand WITH our ideal. It is-- to me-- the greatest mystery of humanity: Not why we want to "have things our way" but why so many seem compelled by the idea that "having things my way" is only legitimate if it simultaneously involves denying others the right to have things THEIR way. People want a bigger sandbox not because they NEED one, but because they can't stand the idea that someone else's is larger. Human greed; human foibles.

"At what point do we move beyond violence?" you ask... and I often ponder that. and I find myself pondering if part of our problem is the exponential way in which our emotional/psychological evolution has moved... and perhaps has gotten ahead the evolution of our biological imperatives ("Threat... pick up club, smash on head"). We're stuggling to adapt to the situations we are creating, faster than our DNA can respond...

Excellent response. Thank you. Check the we are evolving link in the OP for some possible encouragement about where we might be heading.

I think you touched on a lot of the things I mentioned in my post Tribalism: Our Shared Enemy. This tribalistic nature we have causes so many problems. Can our neural plasticity allow us to move beyond our defaults? Can we improve faster than our "natural selection" evolution allows for? I'm hopeful.

we had just as many wars when kings rode into battle at the HEAD of their armies.

According to Steven Pinker's work, we had far more wars, actually. The world is becoming significantly more peaceful.

Awesome post @lukestokes! I really enjoyed that one. We need more people who can see and put things as clearly as you did. Thank you for sharing. And @denmarkguy I'll check out your comment later.

This is what should be on the Trending pages.

My statement is not about disagreement or agreement or the content of the article at all really. It is that we hear talk about quality writing yet rarely does it make the trending page. Trending is the lobby beyond the door, the welcome home place to hang a hat. It should have substance and thought behind it.

Probably my opinion only.

Good post.

I agree with you. DO what I did and resteem it. Maybe we can get it trending.

Are you sure? I may have only resteemed you before. I feel a bit unfaithful, but okay.

@lukestokes I got permission.
Upped AND Resteemed!

LOL. I don't have any interest in being a monopoly. :)

Thank you! :)

Resteemed, as well. This DOES belong on the Trending page. I'd throw some promotional dollars at it, too... but "Promoted" doesn't seem to get the attention it used to...

Thank you. I really appreciate knowing my efforts here are worthwhile from your perspective.

Glad to support a bit.

I felt alright after @por500bolos mentioned me as a possible read to someone in the midst of you @dwinblood @denmarkguy also.

There are some quality authors here creating a tonne of quality content but I am not if it is getting seen. At least in comparison to the slough of other content.

Personally, I keep chipping away day by day doing what I do with a long term view. I may be naive. I visit the trending page when feeling masochistic.

In all honesty I'm lucky if I check the trending page even once a week. It doesn't generally offer me a feed that I find particularly interesting.

War is a mental disorder of the collective human consciousness. As individuals, most recognize the simple evil of the phenomenon, but the thought processes of the human race as a whole interfere with and deactivate a rational treatment of warfare. There are a few among us who see through the popular psychosis, comprehend the evil and deny war; Quakers, pacifists etc. Nonetheless, the vast majority blindly accept and support warfare as a fact of life.

I will lose many people to the following logic, but it is true nevertheless. War is like religion. They are both deep seated human delusions. They both inspire humans to commit untold 100s of millions of horrific acts against other humans. In religion it is done in the name of God, in warfare it is done in the name of being on the right side.

Warfare and religion, unfortunately, are such deep-seated elements of what makes a human that nothing short of complete genetic reconstitution of Homo sapiens will solve these gross iniquities.

So brave and thought provoking. This is a topic I often debate. Although I have compassion for decisions that are made for a variety of reasons ( joining the armed forces ), decisions have consequences and therefore accountability. Thanks so much for this post

Not sure if you're replying to me or the comment above. Either way, thanks for sharing your views!

hahah I actually meant to respond to the post in general, but all in all it is an interesting thread.

Very well said. You might enjoy the Futurism link I had in my original post under the "we're evolving" text. The future version of homo sapiens may look much different.

Thanks for this post Luke; it's very well though out and clearly narrated. I've always been of the same mind since a child learning about the atrocities of war and genocide; influencing me to like the music I do.

There is so much good music that touches on the atrocities of the industrial military complex; and it makes me sad to see the individuals in my life that have been thrown into it.

Thanks Hutch. Glad to see you on Steemit. :)

I often wished people would more carefully concider what it means to join the army (any army). Because they dont just risk their health and life, they also become a tool for a group of individuals with questionable intentions.
But those thoughts are not taken into consideration by many who volunteer, instead they hope for adventure, seeing the world, making new friends and - up to a point, a secured income.
Btw., I'm not just making this up - I worked in the army for 34 years.

Thank you for sharing your perspective. You have more of it than I, after 34 years. It does seem to be the same to me, but this story these recruits are told seems too closely connected to previous centuries which glorified war as "honorable." I'm hopeful we can move past this destructive mindset and focus on more productive activities.

I dont really know how it is in the US, I worked in the british army as a civilian. I spoke to many soldiers about this over the years. Things like honor and such was not on top of the list for most. For the non-commissioned soldiers it was often the secure career perspective, plus all the army provides, like accomodation ect. And peace time posting to other countries, like Germany, Hongkong, Cyprus ect. It has all changed a lot in recent years.
A different motivation can be found among officers, there its often the family tradition.
I cannot remeber that someone said he only joined because he wants to serve the country and the queen, or to become a hero. It is perhaps also a motive, but more in the background.

I think that's a sign of how we've changed as a species. It used to be about duty and honor. I think enough people see through that BS and the tribalistic problems an honor culture brings to everyone involved. If it's now just about the perks of the job, maybe then we can frame the discussion more rationally in terms of "Yeah, you get a lot of out of it, but what do you give? What does your life represent if you're handed a gun and told to go kill people you don't know?"

Thanks for brining another perspective from the other side of the world.

you're welcome, sir

I can understand your problem with the United States Government. The United States, however, is an extension of its people and are ultimately in power because of its citizens. My question for you: Did you vote? Not just for your president, but your Governor, your Congressman, State Senator, or any of the other elected positions? Have you done anything to educate the youth of the Importance of this? The truth is the new generations do not care enough about politics to be accurately represented by our elected government officials.

Besides, blaming members of the military for supporting the decisions our elder generations makes no sense for many reasons. For starters, the United States Armed Forces do an enormous amount humanitarian relief all around the planet when people were in life or death situations. The military has been there to aid millions, and the service members are the ones who worked through the night to aid in the relief.

Most men and women in the military start at a young age enlisting at 18-years old and sometimes before they even graduate high school with parental permission. Some barely understand how the world works, and are the product of American Culture which has been more concerned about which Kardashian had the most recent cosmetic surgery than whether their country is doing the right thing. Public education in America is behind many countries today in education, and not all of them are completely aware of what they are signing up to do. Education, being the reason so many join the military because college is too expensive for many Americans today. So at 18, they're sent to another country to fix a situation they barely understand.

I am not claiming the U.S. has made no mistakes and clearly there has been. An article from The Atlantic title, [Is a Better World Possible Without U.S. Military Force](https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theatlantic.com/amp/article/504512/)," the author, Shadi Hamid, talks about the civil war that broke out after the Iraq invasion, and how it broke it in Syria without the U.S. intervention. The article explains how although the United States has not been the "force for good" Americans would think it's been, the United States is one of the few forces that stands against "mass slaughter and genocide." For instance, in Rwanda when the international community chose not to interfere, more than 800,000 civilians were murdered. We did not intervene and so many people lost their lives because everyone saw it as not their problem.

Our problem is our culture and our ignorance. We the people need to stop burning down our local businesses because we're mad about how we're treated, and become the change ourselves. We need to change the stereotype of politicians by becoming better politicians, change our school systems by becoming better teachers, change the greedy business stereotype by starting companies that improve lives instead of polluting rivers, and we can change it because the 1% are nothing without us. The world can change but bashing on soldiers, sailors, airmen, and marines is not solving anything.

I cannot help but be biased in my opinions, and I hope I remained emotionally stable. But I served in the United States Navy for the standard four-year commitment, but I know the impact I've made through my service. The people you're talking about are more than service members; there our brothers, sisters, mothers, and fathers, and you're talking about the people who are willing to risk their lives to save yours and your family's.

Loading...

I wish I could upvote this 1000% Luke!! #VeteransforPeace

Thanks Randy. :)

First. I will be resteeming this. Good post.

Second I know there are people who signed up in their youth believing one set of information, as that is generally when we sign up for such things. They are often swayed by emotionally convincing events that catalyze the signing up.

Then there are some cases like Vietnam where our government was drafting people and forcing them to fight against their will.

The system they enter into is very GEARED towards following orders. Questioning those orders tends to make them not survive very long in the system. So if they do question them they generally have to put a lot of thought into it and determine how to frame their question in such a way as not to be charged with insubordination.

I am not saying this is right. I do not think it is. I see why you would want your military to follow orders without question and quickly. If they are being lead by a gifted strategist or tactician then quick response is often critical for such plans to succeed. This is actually the ONLY justification I can see for it. It unfortunately can be used suppress free thought, and to justify incarcerating people for insubordination simply if they question an order.

This also opens the door to corruption, and criminal possibilities wide open. The people that are in it for a long time will soon become conditioned to doing what they are told without question when it comes to military actions. This can create an army of psychopaths, or at the very least sociopaths. They can learn not to question a superior regardless of how unethical or morally questionable the action may be.

Now I do want to qualify this is not what happens to everyone. I am not trying to pass my generalization off as an accurate representation of all military people. They are all still individuals. This means they are all still different, and some of them may not adjust to this lifestyle well, and for them surviving through the experience is likely a pretty dangerous juggling act.

Thanks for sharing. Much appreciated.

I see why you would want your military to follow orders without question and quickly.

Sure, if we were still in the 19th or 20th century. But what if we can actually move beyond war? Many will dismiss this out of hand and say, "Humans will always make war" but I'm not convinced. I'm not sure if you'd agree with that argument, but to me, the invention of the novel, the Internet, and the like has connected us emotionally as a species to have compassion and empathy, and we're changing for the better because of it.

They are often swayed by emotionally convincing events that catalyze the signing up.

Which, right away, should bring the entire thing under criticism. These are the same tactics cults use to recruit people. Let's move beyond this irrational thinking.

Thanks, as always, for your detailed response.

I don't disagree with you by the way. I agree with you. I was more playing Devil's Advocate as I was predicting some arguments people might come up with.

The sad thing about WAR is it usually isn't really the PEOPLE wanting to fight and kill each other. It is the GOVERNMENTS which are controlled by a few people in each one, and are dragging the rest of the population into the wars.

They are unnecessary and have been for quite some time.

The propaganda engines are used to incite the people and garner support for such actions. In the U.S. that is our Mainstream Media.

isn't really the PEOPLE wanting to fight and kill each other. It is the GOVERNMENTS

Exactly. This, and learning about the concept of democide, is why I'm aligned with anarchist "no rulers" thinking.

I am aligned that way myself. I do not think the world is ready for us to flip a switch and become "anarchist" in the classical sense overnight. I believe we need to fix some things (Especially education) before it would really work. I believe people like you and I who do not believe others should carry the burden of responsibility for us could do okay. Yet, this does not describe most of society at the moment. I would like to see critical thinking taught continuously beginning at an early age just like math, reading, history, science, etc.

If most of the population was skilled at critical thinking I believe we together could overcome most problems, would be less susceptible to emotional manipulation by common fallacies such as appeal to authority, appeal to tradition, red herrings, false dichotomies, etc. I believe then we would be in a position to actually make anarchism work.

It is definitely a challenging task, and those in power are very much against such a movement.

If you're interested in education, I highly recommend Free to Learn by Peter Gray. The solution to education problems may be to remove educational systems all together and let kids be free to learn through play. That, of course, would require a different economic model as we couldn't have both mom and dad working full time jobs if kids were home all day instead of being sent off to the government re-education prison camps we call schools. This may require a UBI of some kind to provide for financial needs to make this possible. Or more people should take jobs/create businesses which allow them to homeschool/unschool like we're doing. :)

I've also looked into how Finland does it and right now they seem to be giving some of the best educations in the world.

In my opinion war is always about earning money, and my military is a business machine. Politics is a theater, which plans some business ahead and plays a play for civilians to do as they like. They force us to believe that we as a nation should hate or fear some other people or nations and make up reasons for this to go to war or implement sanctions. All for profit and nothing else. With new technology it is getting harder to fool people and implement economic sanctions.

Well said. You've probably seen the documentary "All Wars are Bankers Wars" huh?

Thank you, no I have not, but I will watch it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56