You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honor the Troops? Maybe We Should Hold Them Accountable Instead.

in #peace7 years ago

I often wished people would more carefully concider what it means to join the army (any army). Because they dont just risk their health and life, they also become a tool for a group of individuals with questionable intentions.
But those thoughts are not taken into consideration by many who volunteer, instead they hope for adventure, seeing the world, making new friends and - up to a point, a secured income.
Btw., I'm not just making this up - I worked in the army for 34 years.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your perspective. You have more of it than I, after 34 years. It does seem to be the same to me, but this story these recruits are told seems too closely connected to previous centuries which glorified war as "honorable." I'm hopeful we can move past this destructive mindset and focus on more productive activities.

I dont really know how it is in the US, I worked in the british army as a civilian. I spoke to many soldiers about this over the years. Things like honor and such was not on top of the list for most. For the non-commissioned soldiers it was often the secure career perspective, plus all the army provides, like accomodation ect. And peace time posting to other countries, like Germany, Hongkong, Cyprus ect. It has all changed a lot in recent years.
A different motivation can be found among officers, there its often the family tradition.
I cannot remeber that someone said he only joined because he wants to serve the country and the queen, or to become a hero. It is perhaps also a motive, but more in the background.

I think that's a sign of how we've changed as a species. It used to be about duty and honor. I think enough people see through that BS and the tribalistic problems an honor culture brings to everyone involved. If it's now just about the perks of the job, maybe then we can frame the discussion more rationally in terms of "Yeah, you get a lot of out of it, but what do you give? What does your life represent if you're handed a gun and told to go kill people you don't know?"

Thanks for brining another perspective from the other side of the world.

you're welcome, sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54