What of god

in #payitforward5 years ago

Hello Folks!

After the stressful week that I had, I can finally write at my leisure. I am going to share my story on my ongoing journey on my faith.

I just wanted you guys to know that in my country, one of the worst things that a person can do aside from murder is not having any god to believe in. A person is often shunned, even labeled as crazy or delusional and, basically, its not a very pleasant experience.

Being me, of course, I got curious on why I believe that there is a god. In fact, I had been going through this journey since the very moment that I started to comprehend and understand basic catholic teachings. I am not going to make it a secret that over the years, I have a lot of teachers giving up on me and most would even claim that, I do not have a direction in life. A few would even say that, I just wanted to frustrate and irritate them. While some are convinced that I have not yet found my "true" faith.

Anyway, prejudices aside, I do not want to believe because, everyone else does. I do not also want to believe out of fear. I do not want to believe without understanding why. And, I certainly do not want to believe if the believers explaining me would often get very defensive, angry and out rightly judgmental when they maneuvered me into their "discussion."

To begin with, a god as defined by our friends in en.wikipedia

In monotheistic thought, God is conceived of as the supreme being, creator deity, and principal object of faith.[3] The conceptions of God, as described by theologians, commonly include the attributes of omniscience (all-knowing), omnipotence (all-powerful), omnipresence (all-present), and as having an eternal and necessary existence. Depending on one's kind of theism, these attributes are used either in way of analogy, or in a literal sense as distinct properties. God is most often held to be incorporeal (immaterial).[3][4][5] Incorporeality and corporeality of God are related to conceptions of transcendence (being outside nature) and immanence (being in nature) of God, with positions of synthesis such as the "immanent transcendence". Psychoanalyst Carl Jung equated religious ideas of God with transcendental aspects of consciousness in his interpretation.[6]

A lot of good that definition did me. But, I was just trying to figure out what this god thing is all about. I wanted to know why a lot of people keep changing their religion because they were either frustrated, disappointed or perhaps, its just time to move on. In an attempt to do so, I would like to discuss how some, a few or perhaps, most of us views our gods regardless of race, creeds or culture.

The god or gods of all my wishes

When I was young, my mother would often encourage me to pray to god in order for my wishes to be granted. Inside my catholic faith, it was often promoted to make novenas (a set of prayers offered and dedicated to the saints or to Jesus Christ). For awhile, I did jumped into this wagon.

But in the end, I realized that perhaps, doing this expressly for getting your wishes, wants or whatever intention is not quite right. I mean, my god is certainly not this

because if he is, then, I would definitely be embarking on a journey to collect as many old lamps as possible.

Or believe in someone who does this:

What they taught me really was that my god is prone to coersion and bribery- the more prayers you pray, the better chances of getting your wishes. I am not saying that its wrong to pray to your gods. What is not right is praying and expecting to get what you have asked for.

For awhile it made me believe also that perhaps, my god must have a major in trades and economics to put me on this situation. I AM GOING TO GRANT YOUR WISH- IN EXCHANGE YOU HAVE TO PRAY AND WORSHIP ME! Maybe he's running his own version of stock market and trades?

The god of fear and punishment.

I have to admit that this concept is indeed my most hated one since I grew up with people telling me not to ask so many questions because, god will punish me- make me sick, impair, invalidate me, make my life miserable and, condemn my soul to eternal damnation where I would forever be suffering and crying until the end of time! Well, a part of me even then kept asking this: if god is all powerful, why does he needed to threaten anyone to worship and serve him? Wouldn't it be easier to create a being that is hardwired like a machine that doesn't do anything but worship and obey him until its end? Why go into the whole concept of creating free will if in the end, god will end up threatening everyone in order for them to do what he wanted them to do? It's beginning so sound more and more like something the members of drug cartels and syndicates would do.

The god of my ancestors

Another thing that still annoys me is a person's justification that they believe in their gods because their predecessors did so. What I wanted to know is why did they believe in it and not how long they were in it. It got me into pretty tight places folks!

In the end.......

It took me quite awhile to figure that one out. I have to confess that there were those moments in my youth wherein I did wanted to try out other religions or just go on raw, naked no god concept.

I believe in god because I think that man is hardwired to know that there is someone or something that is greater than them. Thus, even in the ancient times or, even before history started to be written, religion had been around.

I believe in god because after so much soul searching and research, I have finally stumbled on Thomas Aquinas' writings which had finally enlightened me:

  • That god cannot be completely and absolutely be measured, fathomed or describe because he is infinite and omnicient.

  • That god does exist for everything seems to have a definite origin and destiny. All of us, creatures started in life when we were born and all would end up dying in one point or another.

  • That some of his essence can be discerned through us when he decided to create beings out of his own image.

In a way folks, this knowledge comforted me very much mainly because I discovered that my god is not a genie, a stock trader, a magician or even a gangster. My god is not also a torturer or an executioner who would basically punish me for all my sins of omission and commission.

In the end, though I have just started reading Thomas Aquinas' Summa Theologica, I just realized that I believe not out of fear or need but out of love and loyalty. I still remain inside my religion not because I have grown into it or I believe that mine is the righteous path.

Yes. Not all my prayers to my god are answered nor do I have the confidence to boast that I am very religious and righteous. I simply believe because when I do, my heart is at peace.I feel whole.I feel justified.I feel happy. I feel my god in my heart. A concept that everyone labels as their gut feeling, sixth sense or premonition. I just want to call it this: In the silence and deepest recesses of my heart.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

We need more belief, or believing but I think its hard so I Made My own believe and stick to that cause I believe the believing Will be an extention to what I already believed before

Good for you! That I think is the basic concept of religion. Not on the whole- I have a lot of followers/worshippers or, we can do extreme things.

Well i dont know extreme but good things for sure

I admire you for that @brittandjosie. I think we all need to find what works for us and make our own journey.

Very good article, @nurseanne84!

I just wanted you guys to know that in my country, one of the worst things that a person can do aside from murder is not having any god to believe in.

What...? So, you're telling me I should go there, not even as a tourist?

Maybe he's running his own version of stock market and trades?

Who knows? Could be, could be...

If god is all powerful, why does he needed to threaten anyone to worship and serve him?

Most likely, that God was created by Man to control other Men...

Yes. That's the worst a person can do here is not having a god- most probably because of the forced conversion during the Spanish era wherein they will systematically torture and kill any unbelievers.

If the concept of creating god by others to control a part of humanity is there, then its just another form of scam then. Not that religious cult as a business is dead because I encountered a lot of profitable cults here.

What would happen to me if I was there as a tourist and people found out I have no religion?

The wisest thing to do is shut up.If they ask you what your religion is just tell them I do not want to talk about it.less talk.less mistake.😃😃😃😃

I see! Thanks for the information!

I have no religion, yet I have a belief in God.

I guess religion is like this: its not for everyone and, its an acquired taste. LOLZ! For me, religion or lack of it is not really an issue as long as you're a good person.

These days, I am a bit more wary of people who profess their religion and piety because, most of them have a dark side. So, telling me you do not have one but still believes in god is a huge relief on my part!

Thanks for sharing this at pifc.

Religion.
a particular system of faith and worship
These are mostly all man made rules. I may agree with some and disagree with other rules.
The religion may have a darker time but not so much the people of the religion.
We do need to be carful not to persecute the people of a religion just because of their religious beleives. Innocent people tend to blindly follow trends.

Thomas Aquinas' Summa Is some very deep reading.
I never use a single source. Many different opinions. To form my own opinion and beleive.
Good reading and a great place to start. Be carful and be prepared, because if you continue you will find out everything you were taught and believed is wrong.

I am actually finding out that 99.9% of the things that they taught me was rubbish and the other 0.01% are either highly modified or completely non existent. Yes. I think that I really needed to start somewhere. I am simply tired of people making this and that claims. It's time for me to discover and find out exactly who my god is.

I agree and don’t rush it
You should have it down pat in about 10 years. : o

I have to admit, I was apprehensive about reading your posting. I believe we all need to find our path/journey on our own no matter which way it takes you. I do believe in a higher power if that is what you like to call it, but a single male god, nope I cannot fathom it.

I do not believe in organized religion and I cannot accept that a man standing on a stage is a voice. I do not need to go to a building to have faith or belief. Most of all I do not like people telling me I am wrong for exercising my free will.

When one believe in a monotheistic entity then they need to accept all aspects of that entity. There is always balance. With good there is always bad. With dark there is always light.

As @wakeupkitty put it. Men don't give birth. (very short summary) It leaves a lot to think about.

I am glad you were able to share your feelings and your experience with us. It's a big step to open up like that.

I admire @cicisaja for her beliefs she is one of my favorite people on Steemit. She a genuine person with a big heart. Most of all admire anyone who has a faith or believe structure that helps them. It's hard this is a very passionate subject for me for many many reasons. So I am having to curb my enthusiasm LOL.

You were featured in week 47 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @wolfhart. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure or meet new people.

Thank you for reading my post @tryskele. Wow! I am simply speechless!

Why are you speechless? And you're very welcome.

I believe in Allah because I was born in a muslim family and community, but I questioned my belief when I was 20 and started my mission in search of God I want😊 it took 3 months to realize that I'm nothing to Allah's power in me 😊 the free will to choose the right direction, the free will to think about Allah and respect other's Gods, my simple question that made me found all the answer was "why Allah gaves us brain and water?"...

Nice and thoughful post @nurseanne84 😉

Thank you @cicisaja. These are the things people around here shy away to talk about. Either they are afraid, ashamed or,they simply don't care.

I guess, that's where people disagrees when everyone think that their religion is right.

I just want to share with you one of my favorite songs- the Fatihah- (copyright by hudhudtv)

Well.. thanks for the video 😊 I've been having a long discussion with a friend about all religions and all Gods on this platform for sometimes and we still share our respect to each other even with those who considered humanity is a religion too.

God is not a private matter to discuss😊 that's what I believe too, but we need to have a respect on humanity first☺ because without it, it will be so easy to hurt each other in the name of God.

Which is why its important to discuss these things. I haven't encountered any religion yet that promotes "death" as a part of their canon.

Respect is a big part but I think it comes hand in hand with communication.

We were made to worship. Everyone will worship something. God is a good choice.

Great article.

thanks.I hope to write more thought provoking articles soon.hehehehe

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 1.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I came to your post because it was featured in an entry to @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 47
Posts that have been selected by the entrant will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community and given support.
You are welcome to submit other author’s post in future contests. The PIFC community has a support Discord Channel that you are invited to join. For more information about the PIFC family along with a great way to meet new people. We are a group of like minded people that focuses on assisting one another.

I think you shoul do this contest next week:)

I wonder how come you never wondered about the fact God is male. Men do not give life or birth ...

It is very hard to believe that someone who does not believe (to me this is a sign of a person with a strong personality and self esteem, someone who takes responsibility of its own life and deeds) is equal to a murder (weird wars, most killing is in the name of a religion).

In my country pedophiles, child- and woman molesters are the worst kind, after that murderers (on purpose)...

Posted using Partiko Android

Why have I not think about that before? Thank you for your suggestion!

Why have I not think
About that before? Thank you
For your suggestion!

                 - nurseanne84


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

@trincowski, I made a haiku!hehehehe

I found this blog cause @wolfhart believed it should be highlighted in the pifc entry so here I an

Thanks for your support Britt!

You know i Will support whenever i can

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36