Pay it forward: Product hunting and farming

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

dl1iu9zqw4.jpg

Here's to week 18 of #payitforward contest that has been and still is going strong. It is now being hosted by @pifc. Click here for more details and come join the contest!

I learned something from last week's theme "looking back." If you feature a blogger, do not focus on just one of his/her blogs. Check or skim through the bloggers posts at least in the last month or so to get to know the blogger better.

For this week, I am featuring @alexbiojs (40) and @febemarie25 (48).

@alexbiojs or Alexey is a Russian biologist. He is one of what I think are genuine people who greeted me during my very first entry on Steemit. In the last week or so, Alexey has been hunting new products through Steemhunt and featuring them here on Steemit. What's worth noting on his hunts is that he chooses products that are not just for human enjoyment but are also environment friendly. His latest product discovery is Glowee: Bacteria-alternative source of light. It is a lighting system that does not use electricity but micro-organisms that glow naturally like that of fireflies. Electricity footprint will significantly be reduced if this product becomes accessible to consumers.
7478f6_5d5f6cd61371429e9534fbf47514c862_mv2_d_4288_2848_s_4_2.webp
Source

I found @febemarie25 or Febemarie on my feed through a resteem. I can not remember if it was @steemgigger or @surpassinggoogle who resteemed the post but accounts are of the same person anyway.

From her posts, I take that Febemarie is from the Visayas area here in the Philippines. She is an agriculturist and she featured farmers on one of her blogs Magtanim ay di biro which literally means "planting is not a joke" as it speaks about the hard labor of doing so. Philippines is a tropical thus I believe should be a very good agricultural ground. However, our farmers are struggling for some reasons. I am a farmers' daughter and I did not see life more than three decades ago to be as hard as I see with farmers today. I may be able to write another post about what I think the issues are but that will be another story. I just want to shout out for our farmers who produce everyone's food. Kudos to them!
DSC_0231-01.jpeg
Source: @febemarie25's blog

It's TGIF! Let us look forward to a blessed weekend. 🌞

Join #ccc and get guaranteed daily income and payout for newbies by following the honor code - The Creed - with conditions and limitations. Click here for the details.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

wow ). that's very nice contest. thanks )

If you want, you can also join.

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

done my round check and really love the idea of biolumenescent light and I tell you.. farmer with umbrella while planting rice is quite a unique photo,, never seen any women do that in my country.. hahahaha, nice picks @macoolette, I must make another journey of commenting tonight.. and will check on your other posts.. happy flower?

Hahaha! You have keen eyes to notice the umbrella which makes me remember the same thing. I haven't seen something like that during my childhood when we were farming. I guess that should give other farmers the idea to somehow ease the heat or protection from the rain while they are farming.

Thanks fot making the rounds!

I am just now making rounds myself. The umbrella comment caught my eye. My granny use to try and get me to carry a parasol in the summer. When she was young all the girls would use them in summer to escape the sun.
I was just over reading a post ny @thelaundrylady she was showing her plants that were under a shade tarp. They appeared significantly better than the ones outside the tarp.
Maybe the parasol trend is coming back?

I guess our oldies know what harm the sun can cause us thus they try to protect us from it. When I was young what my mother would require me if I go with them to the farm is to wear my hat, always. Otherwise, she would not allow me to be out under the sun. Though, I get my way once in a while as I thought the hat is just a hindrance. I only realized the importance of wearing sun blocks when I got older.

We were no longer farming when the umbrella hat like this one became popular.

Source

Yes, maybe people are learning as they go that umbrella and parasol are becoming popular again.

hahahaha.. even farmers in my country never wore that kind of mbrella hat. I have that umbrella hat when I was in elementary school, but only use it once, because running in the rain was more interesting. our farmers wear the bammbo hat called caping in Java, though many women in my hometown wears jilbab/hijab to prevent their head from the sun heat and also a part og muslim fashion. aahh.. I didn't have any picture of the women when they're working in the rice field in front of my house before.

Yap, we also use bamboo hat because it is the common one. We call it salakot but this blog calls it differently, in a different dialect: https://steemit.com/philippines/@mrnightmare89/welcome-to-the-philippines-pajadpad

Whew.. there must be so many dialects also in Philipines.. and you should learn 2 or three of them, it's fun😉

Good suggestion! I go to different places in our country and I don't understand most of what they are saying especially in the southern area. Maybe I should indeed learn different dialects. 😀

I love those hats they look so funny. My Granny use to always make me wear a sun bonnet. I think I still have one up in the attic.
@cicisaja I always thought the hijab looked very hot maybe good for colder climates.
These days I wear a lot of different hats and headbands. They keep my hair out of my way more than anything.

All umbrella hat I saw are like that with different colors. I tried once using my fellow when I was vending vegetables. It may feel uncomfortable at first but looks really cool.

I supported both your featured posts
thank you for your entry

Thank you for your support @wolfhart.

Have visited both your features voted and commented. Those were really great choices for this week. I keep meaning to learn more about Steemhunt.

Thanks for your support @headchange. I also signed up for Steemhunt though I haven't had the time to have a real good understanding about it. Let's learn as we go... 😊

More likely you will learn and I will lurk around asking questions 😊
There is so much to do on Steemit. I will get around to trying everything eventually. This week I am learning to use the esteem app.

Indeed, there are many apps and tools on Steem. There is so much to learn. Sure, feel free to ask and let's see how far I've gone to. 😊

Thank you for the entry @macoolette! The first one looks so cool, not to mention environmental, and I too am a farmer's daughter and have seen the same problem in Canada.

I'm going to check them both out now too :)

May Glowee indeed materialize in the global market. And I hope our legislators put more emphasis on agriculture because that is one thing that I think is lacking - full support from the government.

Thank you for your support @lynncoyle1. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36